Ride the sky with digidrums

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Grimmy
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:25 am
Location: Toulouse - France

Ride the sky with digidrums

Postby Grimmy » Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:41 am

Hi there!

I'm looking for an YM5 or 6 of "Ride the sky" with digidrums by TAO (the song is in the UMD8730). I've found the normal & sid version but not the one with digidrums :(

There's a SC68 available (at Ben/OVR web page) including the 3 versions of this great tune but i can't do anything with it, i need it in YM :/

can someone help me ?

thx

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2195
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:12 am

You can ask Tao on the website http://www.creamhq.de/ of Cream.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
Grazey / PHF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Postby Grazey / PHF » Wed Jan 07, 2004 2:15 pm

Tunes with digi drums are very hard to convert into YM.

I can send you a SNDH of the file if you like ?

Plus I can show you how to play it from your own program.

Grz
http://phf.atari.org - demo coders since 1983
http://sndh.atari.org - Maintainer of the Atari ST chip music archive
http://www.scenemusic.net - Nectarine Administrator

Grimmy
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:25 am
Location: Toulouse - France

Postby Grimmy » Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:12 pm

SNDH won't help me too :(
I need it as a YM file in order to convert & compact it with my own software so that i will be able to replay it on an old Z80 based computer.

I know how to replay the SNDH and read YM registers with some lines of GFA but how to detect Digidrums ? at least, just a reliable method to detect a digidrum-start on one of the voice, no matter witch sample it is (snare,drums,etc... i could find this later).

I'm used to switch off the tone with Reg7 (mixer) on the voice where i play a sample. I could use it for the detection but i don't know if it work the same with chip player on the Atari and if it will be reliable enought...

Maybe i could do some PEEK somewhere in the replay rout' to find a byte that change if a sample is running or some stuffs like this, but i really don't know much in 68K Asm (i'm lost, too much & too big registers for me ;) )


btw, simple curiosity, does the digidrums support is managed from the tracker used to compose the music or is it a trick added to the replay rout' (for exemple when period register of a voice is 0x000 then the sample number to play is stored in the volume register) ?

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby dma » Thu Jan 08, 2004 10:32 am

Grimmy wrote:btw, simple curiosity, does the digidrums support is managed from the tracker used to compose the music or is it a trick added to the replay rout' (for exemple when period register of a voice is 0x000 then the sample number to play is stored in the volume register) ?

It depends, a few trackers got this features (and many had it planed but unfinished... :?) but most coder-musicians add(ed) the digi stuff after composing the music.


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest