Data writing

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Data writing

Postby rockyone » Sun May 13, 2018 6:12 pm

Is it possible that the writing of data (on diskette, hard disk or Ram disk) is disturbed by a system interruption or another reason ?

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Data writing

Postby Arne » Mon May 14, 2018 5:32 am

Think about it: what happens when you move the mouse?
Image

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Data writing

Postby rockyone » Mon May 14, 2018 5:58 am

Apparently, the problem does not occur during writing
By the way, I noticed that the mouse also disrupted a routine acting on the palette ($ FFF8240) but only after compilation. But this is solved
It's all the more complicated for me because I have more Atari to do the tests.

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Data writing

Postby Arne » Mon May 14, 2018 6:58 am

rockyone wrote:Apparently, the problem does not occur during writing


What is "the problem"?
Image

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Data writing

Postby rockyone » Mon May 14, 2018 7:56 am

Before having the image, I thought the bug was producing by writing the file, and I was expecting to see an image with corrupted data.
(I never had this bug with Steem and Hatari)

Image convertie en BMP 4 bits avec un STE:
0000.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2324
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Data writing

Postby lp » Mon May 14, 2018 1:31 pm

If the palette split is interrupt driven, you can try disabling it before disk i/o, then re-enabling it after disk i/o. Just and idea. ;)

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Data writing

Postby rockyone » Mon May 14, 2018 4:15 pm

This is fixed, with a $ 25 xbios and a compilation order before calling the routine.

This bug was in MI-3, and I do not use a palette change in this program
.
It's quite similar to the pallet change bug in MI-9

When I had the picture by MM41 I understood the problem. He confirmed that now it works well for STE.

(I had the same bug with the fading routine and the color cycle display Art Director)


Social Media

     

Return to “Coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: simonsunnyboy and 3 guests