why use ASM anymore

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: why use ASM anymore

Postby Foxie » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:13 am

charles wrote:and me too!

..is this is way off topic about using Atari asm?

even tho there is a 8051 assembler for Atari st


I also heard there was a GAL assembler for the ST, but I've never seen it. The sad situation is that engineers have a real fetish for IBM compatibles. I think it's even likely the ST hardware was designed with the aid of an IBM - unless it was all done by hand (it's just on the borderline of being old enough for that).

Commodore did say they used Amigas to design Amigas, but I don't know if that means everything. I'd be surprised if they didn't need an IBM from time to time.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5020
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: why use ASM anymore

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:22 am

Foxie wrote:Have you managed to find a development environment for ARM which shows you a cycle count for snippets of C code? As far as I remember, the Microchip development tools offer that facility.


No but I normally don't dig that deep either. We use IAR compilers at my company.

And yeah we went a bit offtopic and it has been thoroughly discussed so the thread is closed at this point.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee


Social Media

     

Return to “Coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests