STE power supply question

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Joelolsen
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:26 am
Location: Socal

STE power supply question

Postby Joelolsen » Tue May 28, 2019 6:45 pm

Hey,

What is needed, to have uk STE work on the us power grid?

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: STE power supply question

Postby mpattonm » Wed May 29, 2019 5:05 am

You have answered your own question: you need a power supply capable of running off 110V AC.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2635
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STE power supply question

Postby spiny » Wed May 29, 2019 11:41 am

mpattonm wrote:You have answered your own question: you need a power supply capable of running off 110V AC.

or a step-up transformer

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: STE power supply question

Postby mpattonm » Wed May 29, 2019 4:12 pm

But of course. I keep forgetting about these.

robdaemon
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:01 am

Re: STE power supply question

Postby robdaemon » Wed May 29, 2019 7:05 pm

The Exxos PSU for an STE (520STE / 1040STE, not Mega STE) is a great PSU. I would go with that.

Joelolsen
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:26 am
Location: Socal

Re: STE power supply question

Postby Joelolsen » Wed May 29, 2019 8:58 pm

Thank you guys. As I assumed then.

Lol, was kinda hoping the 220v psu´s also could handle 120v.

Moved to the us, have a tt, falcon and 1040st sitting in storage in europe. Guess they all gonna need new psu´s :lol:
Last edited by Joelolsen on Thu May 30, 2019 5:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE power supply question

Postby Greenious » Wed May 29, 2019 9:38 pm

You may want to doublecheck this, but I believe Mega STE and TT uses universal switching power supplies. Ie, should work on both 110/230V.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: STE power supply question

Postby dhedberg » Wed May 29, 2019 10:11 pm

Greenious wrote:You may want to doublecheck this, but I believe Mega STE and TT uses universal switching power supplies. Ie, should work on both 110/230V.

Yes, they do (at least I've never seen one that don't), but a regular STe will have a power supply with a fixed input voltage, at least if the PSU is original.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

Joelolsen
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:26 am
Location: Socal

Re: STE power supply question

Postby Joelolsen » Thu May 30, 2019 5:31 am

dhedberg wrote:
Greenious wrote:You may want to doublecheck this, but I believe Mega STE and TT uses universal switching power supplies. Ie, should work on both 110/230V.

Yes, they do (at least I've never seen one that don't), but a regular STe will have a power supply with a fixed input voltage, at least if the PSU is original.


Takk for det Daniel

I couldn’t remember this stuff, but then I wasn’t too far off at least , I just mixed up the mega/tt ones with the stfm/e :oops:

Tnx again guys


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests