STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Mon May 27, 2019 5:19 am

I'm working to restore a STacy for a friend. I have a few detail questions.
It was in pretty bad shape so I am going to tear it down completely and check things out before I power it up. It was stored on a desk in a E-recycle warehouse enterance, open, as a display for many, many years. It was very dirty, hundreds of people probably touched it. There was some kind of grease oozzing out under the HD. Much better to clean it up before adding some power.
What is the best way to clean the handle? 409, brush, magic eraser sponge, a lot of scrubbing barely got some crud off it.
In the notch where the handle hing is. was there some felt or something. There was a sticky film there the same size on each side. I think that would help slow the fast swing it now has. Was there any felt in the case base so the handle would not slap loudly when it is left go of?
I can almost guaranty the HD is bad. It had that graase stuff all over the bottom left corner. I think an UltraSatan would be best replacement.
When I put one in my personal STacy I got one of these cables.
http://atariage.com/forums/topic/158443 ... ?p=2353904
I think I would need another. Are they still available? If not, what alternatives are there? What about a new face-plate for the side of the Stacy that would fir it. Or should I Dremal the one I have? Also how to mount it securely in the case. The HD cage It has is just two vertical plates, no cross members. The HD was the cross member, and the FD sat on a couple notches on the vertical plates.
Thoughts, suggestions, ideas??
Thanks!
Oh, PS
See pic. This was in the left side port. Any idea what this is. It is a GAL, it reads GAL16V8-25HB1, ST99009. The back just says 1990 and 'Solder Side'
Any ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

acsi
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:20 am

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby acsi » Mon May 27, 2019 6:50 am

I used one of these to put a CosmoSex in my Stacey

https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=49

Also changed the internal floppy to be drive B and the CosmoSex is drive A.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby spiny » Mon May 27, 2019 9:15 am

stacy_handle.jpg


mine (a Stacy4) doesn't have any pads on the handle, or anywhere that looks like there should be some, so I don't think there were any fitted from new.
sorry about the 1200 in the background :) I'm sorting out some stuff to sell and that happens to be next on my list to test.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4420
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby joska » Mon May 27, 2019 9:46 am

KLund1 wrote:This was in the left side port. Any idea what this is.


Probably a copy protection dongle.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Mon May 27, 2019 6:20 pm

Thanks everyone! Helpful.
Suggestions on mounting and powering the USD?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby spiny » Mon May 27, 2019 7:31 pm

KLund1 wrote:Thanks everyone! Helpful.
Suggestions on mounting and powering the USD?



well, AlanH made some excellent adapted that replaced the Stacy ASCI board and allowed the US to connect directly, but the old order page is no longer working, but might be worth emailing him.

this is the developemnt thread:

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18687&p=179590#p179590

and pics I took when I fitted the one I bought:

viewtopic.php?t=22615

and alans current site:

http://www.fairlite.co.uk/AtariKit/

and email: alanh AT freemint.org

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby spiny » Mon May 27, 2019 7:33 pm

KLund1 wrote:Thanks everyone! Helpful.
Suggestions on mounting and powering the USD?



heh, just seen you already have one :D but you'd need to speak to Alan to see if he still has any in stock I guess.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4369
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby DarkLord » Tue May 28, 2019 12:37 pm

I also used Alan H.'s Mega STe/STacy adapter to put an Ultrasatan into my
STacy. Great piece of kit. I'm assuming the one from Lotharek should work
just as good.

You can work with the plastic, but be careful - it's usually old and brittle
now...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:48 pm

No reply from Alan
No reply from the Tumlr guy about the very good USD holder/mount/faceplate
https://www.tumblr.com/search/atari+stacy
I'm stuck with a STacy in pieces over my workbench....
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby 1st1 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:40 pm

joska wrote:
KLund1 wrote:This was in the left side port. Any idea what this is.


Probably a copy protection dongle.


I think this could be a Cubase dongle, but no idea if it is the black 2.0 or the red 3.0 dongle. You need to test that. STac was often used by musicians, specially on stage, that makes sense to have a Cubase dongle with it.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4369
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby DarkLord » Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:17 pm

KLund1 wrote:No reply from Alan
No reply from the Tumlr guy about the very good USD holder/mount/faceplate
https://www.tumblr.com/search/atari+stacy
I'm stuck with a STacy in pieces over my workbench....


I know it's not as elegant, but I put my US in my STacy without anything like that.

IIRC, I just bolted it in. :wink:

I'd rather have a STacy in pieces than no STacy at all. :lol:

PS Did you explore Lothareks' Lair to see what he has to offer?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby Bama » Sun Jun 09, 2019 12:14 pm

KLund1 wrote:No reply from Alan
No reply from the Tumlr guy about the very good USD holder/mount/faceplate
https://www.tumblr.com/search/atari+stacy
I'm stuck with a STacy in pieces over my workbench....


Hi KLund1,

I installed SCSI2SD in two STacy’s. I chose these because
(1) they were worked with the Stacy’s internal HDD adapter
(2) preserved the external function of the ACSI port
(3) easy accessible — external change of microsd cards and firmware updates

When I return home from travel, I will post a couple of pictures of the finished appearance of my Stacy’s.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:-)
BAMA

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:11 pm

Wow!
this might be the way to do it. I like being about to preserve the external HD port.
Would this work?
Ebay item #
192912906471
Thanks
KL
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

susher
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby susher » Mon Jun 10, 2019 4:59 pm

The SCSI2SD version 5.1 and version 6 should both work. They're easier to mount than the old V5 one shown.

You can buy them from AmigaKit.

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby Bama » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:50 pm

I agree with susher, version 5.1 might make installation easier depending on its 3D printed bracket. I don't have experience with v5.1.

I have included pictures of both my installations. The first is before printed brackets were available and I made the mounting bracket from spare parts and modified the Stacy’s original HDD cover with clear plastic port covers. This allows me see the activity light and access both USB and microSD.
IMG_6750.jpg

IMG_6751.jpg

The second install is using a purchased printed mounting bracket. I added a strip of foam to fill the gap beneath the bracket.
IMG_6748.jpg


The STacy's Atari ACSI to SCSI HDD adapter maxes out at 1GB total capacity when it comes to internal SCSI storage. I had to format my microSD cards to be 900 megabytes. Instructions and further description is on the SCSI2SD website.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:-)
BAMA

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:29 pm

That looks good.
I used a drill and file for make slots for the scsi2sd.
But before I mount it, I should test. But do I have the cable polarity correct?
I think I have pin 1 to pin 1, but would like an outside conformation.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4369
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby DarkLord » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:33 pm

Just to be clear, if you did go with the other adapters (like Alan's or Lotharek's),
you remove the old internal SCSI adapter board and are no longer limited to just
1 gig total...

Just sayin... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STacy restoration & upgrade Q's

Postby KLund1 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:44 pm

I got this ebay item
192912906471
Connected to the original STacy HD card. No changes.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests