Falcon 030 HD mounting problems

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

J4n1X
Atarian
Atarian

Falcon 030 HD mounting problems

Postby J4n1X » Tue May 14, 2019 12:03 pm

Hello,
I am quite new to the Atari Scene, having received my Falcon just a week ago. It has a IDE hard disk, and I really want to use it to install some Programs like Papyrus and other productivity programs(because why not?). Sadly, the computer came without ANY floppy disks, I had to use some of my own.

Now, whenever I start it up, it just boots into regular TOS and doesn't show anything except the floppy drives. I have managed to access and read/write to the disk with ICD Pro loaded from a floppy disk, but when I tried to install it to the hard disk itself, it never managed to load itself successfully.

I have already tried a ton of things:

-I repartitioned the disk and tried to install ICD Pro to it --> Repartitioning went fine, but after copying the driver to the disk, it didn't work

-I tried to install AHDI from the Falcons Language Disk --> Shows SCSI ID 0,0 not responding, but hard disk seems to be ID 16,0, no disks show up

-I tried Cecile --> Freezes when I try to interact with the disk, but shows them when I load the driver from floppy(haven't attempted to read/write to the disks)

-Finally, I tried to install the HDDriver demo, repartitioned again and tried to install it --> Same as ICD Pro

It really is important to note that the disk already had some files on it, and that it worked like a charm, but just never mounted itself.
I opened up the Falcon a few times already and I did check if the hard drive was set to slave, which it wasn't, but just below the hard disk(on the board) there were a few pins with a jumper. I searched what these would do, but didn't find anything.