Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:24 am

I got an MSTE for parts off ebay some time ago. I came in a box, loose, no padding!!!
The case was in pieces. The HD, and FD had broken loose, and were rattling around for who knows how long. Many IC's had popped loose.
The top case and HD top are a total lose. The bottom has no plastic standoffs left to hold the motherboard.
The motherboard looks ok, but I don't know.
It is a high end board. It has sockets for U82 (front lover left), U205 (front right center) that my working MSTE dose not have.
Many questions:
- Are there any high res pics (IC labels readable) of a fully populated motherboard? I could not find any I could read the IC numbers.
- What square IC's go into U82, U205? U82 is front center left, U205 is front center right, left TOS IC's
- There were four (4) loose square IC's!! More than the board was missing?!?!?!?
- one was marked 6800fn12f. I think that goes into socket U7, left center behind U82. Main CPU?
- one marked S9106AF MM9092Y, where might this one go?
- one marked CO25912, where might this one go?
- one marked CO25915, where might this one go?
- U903 (upper left of U903 is empty. What 20 pin IC goes there?
- U81 front left center is empty. What 20 pin IC goes there? This socket is empty on my working MSTE
- Under the PSU, over the copyright sicker, USA is hand written in blue ink. But it is TOS 2.05. These 2 IC's were loose, but think the C302019 goes on the left, and C302018 on the right. Correct? Any issues with USA and TOS 2.05?
- 3 of the 4 RAM Simms were loose. I was able to re-seat them properly. The white simm sockets look good.
- The RESET switch if very broken. Only the small PCB close to the MB is there, along with the outer metal cover.
- The right wide ribbon cable is loose. The top black plastic is gone, and the gray ribbon has become loose. The bottom black plastic has not pulled off the MB. I have disconnected both ribbon cabled from the riser card

I re-setaed all socketed IC's, dusted the board. The used some canned air to move more dust. I connected my working MSTE PSU, and powered on. Just the board, no keyboard, no FD,HD. Just a color SC1224. The PSU fan did not come on. NO screen output at all.
Can it boot with a broken reset switch? Or without the ribbon cables connected? Or without the missing IC's? Or without the keyboard?

The original PSU has something rattle around inside. I am not going to trust this PSU. I am not good with PSU's. Any one in USA willing to take a look at it?

The FD is a total lose. One of the read heads fell out the back of it !
The HD is an unknown. It looks ok from outside. I will connect it to my working MSTE and see what it dose. What pins do the HD connect to on the MB? They have been loose on my working MSTE for years. J290 or J291? (between FD and monitor jacks)

After I get some life into this MB, I have a 1040STE diagnostic cart. Do they work on MSTE's ?

I Know I have asked a lot here. Any help will be helpful. Please quote what you are replying too.
I have always received VERY! much appreciated help here in the past. If you have any input please post.
Many many thanks!!
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby krupkaj » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:24 am

You need a test cart version for MEGA STE. The STE version is only for 520STE and 1040STE. You can find the rom at dev-docs.org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 917
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby czietz » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:54 am

https://www.dev-docs.org/docs/ also has schematic and service manual for MegaSTEs. These should answer your questions about ICs.
Summarizing: 68000FN12F is the CPU; S9106AF MM9092Y is a Blitter; C025912 is a MMU of an ST(!), not applicable to a MSTE; C025915 is a GLUE of an ST, not applicable to a MSTE. Looks like someone dumped a handful of random ICs into your MegaSTE.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1406
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby Greenious » Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:42 pm

woah, lot of questions...

You need an internal scsi interface to connect the hdd inside the mega ste. There is a connector just behind the ACSI port.

The STE diag cart will do for some basic troubleshooting if you get the mega to start up, but if you can, the MSTE diag is better, obviously.

UB1 and UB2 are for the optional FPU coprocessor, the FPU itself, and the PAL needed for decoding. not needed for troubleshooting.

Ribbon cables/riser card is the vme bus for expansion cards. Not needed while troubleshooting.

The reset switch is very easy to break on both Mega STE & TT, and yes, a broken reset switch often prevents the computer to boot at all.

U205 is blitter I think, but it depends on your revision of the motherboard.

U903 is likely a PAL chip related to the vmebus, but I am not sure.

TOS version is the least of your problems I think. No, what you got there is good enough for troubleshooting purposes.

If your working PSU doesn't start the computer at all, I'd say it is likely the short circuit protection that prevents it from powering up.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:48 am

It is partly alive!
I replaced the reset switch. And remembered that you need a keyboard attached to start the boot process.
I get a normal white boot screen, but no Atari sign. So something is working.
I took out the HD controller. I wanted a minimal boot config first. I put my working MSTE in the same config for testing.
The Service Manual troubleshooting requires items I do not have. I did burn a mste diagnosis cart roms. Plugged into the STE diagnostic cart. (The eproms are the same 256K size) No change on the boot screen.
I did notice the 68000 got hot fast, as did a couple other smaller IC near it. Nothing else got noticeably warm.
I swapped the ram and it tested good in the working MSTE
I swapped the TOS IC's. The good 2.06 made no change in dead machine. I put the 2.05's in the good machine and got nothing, same white screen. I put the 2.06 back in the good machine, and now the good machine shows 4 bombs, and there is a lot on color distortion on the screen.
Before I got the Atari logo, and Ram Test running all the way through on the good machine with the 2.06's.
Did I kill my good machine?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby dhedberg » Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:49 am

TOS 2.05 doesn't have a logo during boot if I remember correctly, just a white screen.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1406
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby Greenious » Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:24 pm

KLund1 wrote:It is partly alive!
The good 2.06 made no change in dead machine. I put the 2.05's in the good machine and got nothing, same white screen. I put the 2.06 back in the good machine, and now the good machine shows 4 bombs, and there is a lot on color distortion on the screen.
Before I got the Atari logo, and Ram Test running all the way through on the good machine with the 2.06's.
Did I kill my good machine?


I don't think so, 4 bombs indicate the toseproms are ok and the computer is starting up. You didn't forget an unpowered hdd on the acsi port or something?

Are the tos roms similar in physical size? (DIP-32) or is one a mask rom set (DIP-28)?

is the broken mste configured for mask roms or eproms?
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby Arne » Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:34 pm

4 bombs on 2.06 indicate missing FDD. Ribbon cable not connected/connected upside down?
Image

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:06 pm

I removed the HD card from the both units. Both systems are 'bare-bones' MSTE's. No HD/FD/VME connected. I thought this best for testing. But now the working system is damaged because of the TOS roms I swapped between computers. The good system was booting to Memcheck before I swapped roms, Now I get 4 bombs after they had been in the bad system, and put back into the good system.

I did not know there are settings for 'Mask Roms, or eproms. Please explain. Both sets of TOS Roms are the full length of the socket
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:30 am

I cracked in half the small cap in between the TOS sockets!
What are the specs on it so I can get another? In the mean time is it needed for testing?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1438
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby troed » Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:55 pm

KLund1 wrote:Both systems are 'bare-bones' MSTE's. No HD/FD/VME connected.

Now I get 4 bombs after they had been in the bad system, and put back into the good system.


As Arne told you, that's because the FDD is not connected.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:33 pm

I did not get the bombs before I did the TOS swap. The FD's have been disconnected through this whole process. The good machine booted to Atari logo, and started mem test without a FD connected. The screen was clear and sharp. Now there is lots of distortion along with the bombs too.

So the bad machine hurt the good roms. or the bad roms hurt the good machine. I can burn new roms. But need the 2.06 US files, one that pass checksun for the diagnosis cart when I get that far.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby KLund1 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:01 am

Any further thoughts on this??
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby ranix » Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:02 am

bad machine hurting good roms is unlikely but possible, good machine getting hurt by bad roms is almost impossible

vattari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:57 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby vattari » Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:13 am

I would suggest replacing the cracked capacitor and replacing ROMs in both machines with TOS 2.06.
The 4 bombs will occur after the memory check and reverse progress bar. Even with a hard drive installed (which is optional ), the Mega STE will still check for the presence of a FDD. I can confirm TOS 2.06 (if it is TOS dependant) will bomb with none connected.
  • Mega STE/4, Monster board, 40GB IDE, CosmosEx
  • Mega ST4, Monster board, 8GB CF, Gotek
  • TT4/16, SCSI2SD
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB CF, Falcon Speed, CosmosEx
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB SD, Gotek
  • 130XE/myIDE2; 800XL/Supermon; XEGS/SIO2SD; 800XL/SIO2SD; 130XE/SIDE2
  • 1040STE/4MB, Monster board (8GB SD, RTC)
Work-in-progress: Mega ST4/Matrix M110 video; Mega ST2/Titan Reflex video; TT 2/16MB; 1200XL UAV; 400 UAV/Audio; 800

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby BoNuS » Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:13 pm

I seem to have the same 4 bombs error too. The machine was working well and I wanted to upgrade the bad HD. After I installed it the machine started, did the memory check then waits and then 4 bombs :(
Already tried a recapped PSU, other memory, all other stuff disconnected but I can't seems to find the problem.

I also tried other TOS proms, 2.06 version. The strange thing was that it felt to me like the first rom was getting warm ?!
Yess I placed them in the correct socket Hi en Lo so that wasn't the problem.

Any other idea's ?

10 minuts later: Problem found, no bootable device with TOS 2.06 seems to be the problem. Now it works again...
HD pluged in which is installed on another MSTE, build that one in and the whole machine runs again.
Maybe usefull tip for future owners of a MSTE which encounter this strange problem
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)

tzok
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: Very Sick MSTE - Need some help to bring back to life if posible

Postby tzok » Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:59 pm

4 bombs is illegal instruction error, likely to be caused by a stuck data or address bus line. I was recently "fighting" with a SuperMon cartridge that started to throw 4 bombs during startup. Reason - loose A5 pin on one of the ROMs. So likely you have killed your TOS 2.06 ROMs. No big deal, just buy a new 39SF010 (or similar) Flash EPROMs and program them with an appropriate TOS version.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests