Dual monitor setup?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:41 pm

Hello,

I've watched a load of videos and read articles connecting an STE to a VGA monitor and I'm struggling to understand what is still available and what needs to be custom made.

I have two Dell u2412m monitors on my desk, they are 50/60hz as per the spec
https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-ultr ... 12m/specs/

What I would like to do, if poss, is have high resolution on one of them and low/medium on the other - not at the same time obviously :D

Would like sound on the medium/low resolution but I see the STE has audio left and right - never had an STE before so this was a nice surprise.

Is it possible to have the ST output to a switcher and from there have two leads, one to each monitor as described above.

I currently have a 13 pin DIN to SCART which works in medium/log on my lounge TV just fine.

Any thoughts or alternative suggestions greatly welcomed.

Thanks

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby dhedberg » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:04 pm

You need one of these: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107
It will let you connect your STE to any VGA monitor using a standard VGA cable. Depending on the frequencies supported by your monitor it will show ST-Low, ST-Medium and/or ST-High.
A regular VGA switch box would work fine if you want to switch between the two monitors.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

eeun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:49 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby eeun » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:38 pm

> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1175
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby leech » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:48 pm

eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

I just bought a Dell U2410 and while it's a bit dirty, my 1040 STe shows up on it.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:49 pm

dhedberg wrote:You need one of these: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107
It will let you connect your STE to any VGA monitor using a standard VGA cable. Depending on the frequencies supported by your monitor it will show ST-Low, ST-Medium and/or ST-High.
A regular VGA switch box would work fine if you want to switch between the two monitors.


Happy to just use one monitor if this box can handle it. Is the RF(?) / Ariel an input or output? Can't tell from the description.

I think I will just buy one and see how it goes. Bought a PeST yesterday from exxos and it arrived the next day, hard to argue with service as good as that.

Thanks for the info.

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:55 pm

eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693


I'm going to give it a go, though I'm not sure how to set it to PAL 50hz mode. Will soon find out :?

Really like these Dell monitors as they are 16:10 instead of the much more common 16:9. Makes a huge difference when writing code (on Windows)

Thanks

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:56 pm

leech wrote:
eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

I just bought a Dell U2410 and while it's a bit dirty, my 1040 STe shows up on it.


Which resolutions are you getting?

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1175
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby leech » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:12 pm

thedavegray wrote:
leech wrote:
eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

I just bought a Dell U2410 and while it's a bit dirty, my 1040 STe shows up on it.


Which resolutions are you getting?

I need to test mire. Once I can reimage my Falcon's drive, I will give it a go.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2218
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby calimero » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:24 am

eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

My test of Dell u2412m: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vloo7nwL56U

It is not so good for watching Falcon demos...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:33 pm

calimero wrote:
eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693

My test of Dell u2412m: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vloo7nwL56U

It is not so good for watching Falcon demos...


What does the desktop look like and can you display all three STE resolutions?

Cheers

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby Atari030 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:45 pm

A lot of LCD's will do that with the Falcon, they don't all used fixed frequencies, blubb is one of them. ST's do, so less drama. I use Asus LCD's and they do the same thing at the same time, they also display frequency changes. If a part of the demo flashes past with frequency change you won't see it as the monitor adjusts. All normal. LCD's will not react to frequency change as fast as a CRT and aren't as flexible. You have to compromise with the Falcon.

ST, not so much as they used fixed resolutions for the most part.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby dhedberg » Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:22 pm

The problem is how the Videl is setup in the demos. It's possible, for instance, to switch between 256 colors and TrueColor without changing frequencies. The monitor will never notice the switch. I do that in the MORE demo. So I would assume it would be possible to patch quite a lot of demos.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1175
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby leech » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:03 pm

One of the problems is most LCDs have an auto adjust feature, and that takes a second or two where there is no video. So I could see that causing issues. Guess I should write my drive back as byte swapped so I can use my Falcon again...
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2218
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby calimero » Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:59 am

thedavegray wrote:
What does the desktop look like and can you display all three STE resolutions?

Cheers

I do not have anymore this monitor so I can not test but as Atari030 said: it is less drama with ST resolutions so I believe that they work just fine.


Regarding changing resolutions in demos: e.g. Nex 1970nx is much better in handling different resolutions then Dell U2412M...
At the end, I bought Atari SC1224 to use with my Falcon :) for demos and games... LCDs are good for desktop and apps.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:37 am

eeun wrote:> Dell u2412m
Interesting monitor in that it supposedly syncs to 15kHz, though only at PAL 50Hz according to lower down the thread here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85693


Ok got my mono resolution monitor lead (monitor-> VGA) today and plugged my STE into the Dell. It's complaining about the
input timing not being correct. It says I need to set it to 1920x1200 @60hz

Can't see any way to change the refresh rate(?).

Two screenshots on my OneDrive
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ah9cer_nAx90i5d1giE3-5SWcV6_fA
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ah9cer_nAx90i5d2Y0HJVyMo76JDQA

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby dhedberg » Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:32 pm

That's just a general message when the monitor can't sync. The U2412 isn't known to accept a wide range of frquencies. The U2410 is the one you want. You can't change the refresh rate of the mono signal. It's fixed. So unless your monitor supports it there's not much you can do.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:06 pm

dhedberg wrote:That's just a general message when the monitor can't sync. The U2412 isn't known to accept a wide range of frquencies. The U2410 is the one you want. You can't change the refresh rate of the mono signal. It's fixed. So unless your monitor supports it there's not much you can do.


Thanks for the info. Do you know if medium resolution will work on the 2412 monitor? I'm thinking I could live with that over mono as the
picture is still pretty good.

Cheers

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby dhedberg » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:37 pm

thedavegray wrote:Thanks for the info. Do you know if medium resolution will work on the 2412 monitor? I'm thinking I could live with that over mono as the
picture is still pretty good.

Yes, seems like it's able sync to 15kHz horizontal and 50Hz vertical, so low and medium resolutions should be OK. Give it a go. Adapter available here: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

thedavegray
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby thedavegray » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:57 pm

dhedberg wrote:
thedavegray wrote:Thanks for the info. Do you know if medium resolution will work on the 2412 monitor? I'm thinking I could live with that over mono as the
picture is still pretty good.

Yes, seems like it's able sync to 15kHz horizontal and 50Hz vertical, so low and medium resolutions should be OK. Give it a go. Adapter available here: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107


Hello,
I ordered one of those last week from exxos online shop. I tried connecting my STE
to the Dell monitor via this and a VGA cable and got the same message. Could be one of the components in the link are broken (VGA lead or adapter) but I have no compatible monitor to test it on.

I also have a low/medium STE cable with scart on the other end. I suppose I could get a scart to HDMI adapter but seems like the VGA should work.

Does it sound like the u2412 monitor is just not going to play ball?

Thanks

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1175
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Dual monitor setup?

Postby leech » Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:15 am

thedavegray wrote:
dhedberg wrote:
thedavegray wrote:Thanks for the info. Do you know if medium resolution will work on the 2412 monitor? I'm thinking I could live with that over mono as the
picture is still pretty good.

Yes, seems like it's able sync to 15kHz horizontal and 50Hz vertical, so low and medium resolutions should be OK. Give it a go. Adapter available here: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107


Hello,
I ordered one of those last week from exxos online shop. I tried connecting my STE
to the Dell monitor via this and a VGA cable and got the same message. Could be one of the components in the link are broken (VGA lead or adapter) but I have no compatible monitor to test it on.

I also have a low/medium STE cable with scart on the other end. I suppose I could get a scart to HDMI adapter but seems like the VGA should work.

Does it sound like the u2412 monitor is just not going to play ball?

Thanks

OSSC is great for this; https://www.videogameperfection.com/pro ... converter/
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests