Insert disk....

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

ts061282
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:53 am

Insert disk....

Postby ts061282 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:59 am

I'm a newb and just bought a 1040st, i've been playing with it a bit with some old disks for the system. Every time I'm prompted to enter a second disk and press a key, I switch disks but pressing a key does nothing. The system is essentially halted at the insert disk prompt. Is there something obvious I'm missing?

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2484
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Insert disk....

Postby spiny » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:36 am

what software / games are asking to swap disks ?

ts061282
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:53 am

Re: Insert disk....

Postby ts061282 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:40 pm

So far it’s Infocom’s Trinity after inserting a save disk and the the game SDI going to disk 2 on loading.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2484
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Insert disk....

Postby spiny » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:10 pm

if it's just one disk, then it's probably the disk.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert disk....

Postby ijor » Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:13 pm

It actually might be the drive that TOS is failing to detect media change. If nothing at all happens when you change the disk (the drive's led doesn't even turn on), then it can't be the disk, at least not the second one.

ts061282
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:53 am

Re: Insert disk....

Postby ts061282 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:59 pm

ijor wrote:It actually might be the drive that TOS is failing to detect media change. If nothing at all happens when you change the disk (the drive's led doesn't even turn on), then it can't be the disk, at least not the second one.


I think this is right. I can hear the slide pull back when the disk is inserted but there isn’t much more activity. How would I go about verifying this and repairing?

tzok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: Insert disk....

Postby tzok » Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:15 pm

In order to TOS detect a disk change, the disk must be write protected, yet most games don't rely on TOS, but rather pools the FDD or waits for a key/fire.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests