Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby Fujiyama » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:10 am

Foxie wrote:You might be able to suck power from the ST's power supply from the joystick port (or an internal connection), but I don't know how much spare power the ST's supply has to offer. Have you upgraded the supply in your ST?


No, I haven't gotten that far yet. I first need to get all the add-ons fitted and daughter boards etc. designed (I still consider myself an "advanced beginner" with Eagle CAD) so it's all evolving very slowly.
I will probably at some stage (when all the hardware has been fitted) get myself some kind of PC power supply (hopefully something near-silent as I've always struggled with the noise of the ancient ST hard drives and now I can finally replace them with CF or SD memory cards -and I surely don't want to end up with noisy fans!)... when I figure out how much power everything draws.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?

User avatar
Hazzardus
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Hove Beach (Woodingdean now haha)

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby Hazzardus » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:34 pm

siriushardware wrote:The key to soldering surface mount ICs with fine pitch without any specialised equipment is to tack-solder the device to just two pads on opposite corners of the device and then, do something you would never deliberately do when soldering at any other time... you flood all the pins along each side together with solder. Preferably lead-tin solder, not the modern lead-free rubbish.


Foxie wrote:This seems similar to the "drag soldering" method. I'm amazed it even works at all! I've seen some videos where they don't use solder wick, instead they just use a massive amount of paste/liquid flux and the solder naturally just flows into place without bridges. The only annoying thing is you need to clean the flux afterwards since you use so much. I think that's easier with liquid flux since you just mop it up, but it seems like it might flow away from the pads before you get a chance to solder it.


it's basically the same thing, just a bit messier yes.

Soldering on a very fine pitch isn't hard, but it can be made extremely difficult just by not having the right equipment.

apart from having a decent iron, the most important thing is having a decent flux. I personally prefer lead solder, like I'm sure most people do, but, it's bad for both your health and the environment if you are exposed to it or using it day in day out, and it's almost impossible to find in the UK now.

I personally use Amtech NC-559-V2-TF Tacky Flux, it's hard for me to get as I'm based in the UK, so I buy from a guy called Louis Rossmann, who incidentally has an amazing youtube channel for anyone interested in DIY or repairing boards, or just general soldering and tech stuff. He only works on apple stuff,as I guess that is where the money is in NYC, but if you can repair them, then you can repair anything...:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl2mFZoRqjw_ELax4Yisf6w

I personally am not in the same league as this guy, but for what I do, his videos alone have taught me a lot.
Own: 520STFM, 1040STE, Falcon 030, Atari Lynx (The first one with the crap paint :lol: ), Jaguar and too many x680x0 Macs to list, oh and also an Amiga 1200 (Boo!)

User avatar
olivierg
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby olivierg » Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:17 pm

Hi Foxie,

Replay 16, as special IC (programmed) and not part number writed on IC. Is search Replay pro, but is very rare.

I use this service for stencil https://jlcpcb.com/ for 9$ the stencil is stainless steel, for 290x190mm valid area.
I can place multiple design on stencil.
Others size aviable ea: 340x240 = 15$

oshstencils is Polyimide, is good for very low production.
But i order the PCB on same web site, i group my order and send by DHL 5 open days.
Sometime i custon taxe sometime i have not. I live in Belgium all product from USA = custom Taxe (if upper 22 euro).

I recieve the stencil end of next week, i post picture.

Bye
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby Foxie » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:59 pm

Hazzardus wrote:I personally use Amtech NC-559-V2-TF Tacky Flux, it's hard for me to get as I'm based in the UK, so I buy from a guy called Louis Rossmann, who incidentally has an amazing youtube channel for anyone interested in DIY or repairing boards, or just general soldering and tech stuff. He only works on apple stuff,as I guess that is where the money is in NYC, but if you can repair them, then you can repair anything...:


I don't live too far from Brighton, funnily enough ^.^

Would you recommend the paste style flux instead of liquid flux? It looks like more hassle to clean off the board after soldering. I'm not sure if 0.8mm requires drag soldering, the pins look almost wide enough to solder each one manually. I've never needed to use flux on SOIC parts, but they're so big it's a completely different style of soldering.

User avatar
olivierg
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby olivierg » Wed Mar 07, 2018 1:03 pm

Hi,

i have recieved the stencil and PCB 100x55mm.
stencil.jpg


Bye
Olivier
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby Foxie » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:03 pm

olivierg wrote:Hi,

i have recieved the stencil and PCB 100x55mm.
stencil.jpg


This looks pretty good. Presumably there should be no chance of solder bridges if using a stencil, and then using hot air? For designs using only one fine-pitch SMD part, I suppose you could use a standard footprint stencil.

Do you think it would be possible to solder QFN and BGA packages with hot air, without resorting to a reflow oven? Fortunately I don't foresee needing to use BGA any time soon, but I wouldn't be surprised if it will be necessary in the future.

The worst part I need to solder at the moment will be the micro USB power connector (0.65mm). Luckily, the two end pins are power - so I could just place only two pads to prevent solder bridges. I could even cut off the middle pins completely. Unfortunately, micro USB is quickly heading towards obsolete. These days, you really need to be using USB-C. That's a big problem because USB-C connectors are 0.4mm and have a huge number of pins. No way am I going to solder one of those any time soon. Perhaps it would be more future-proof just putting a simple 12V barrel connector on the board instead of micro USB?

ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby ranix » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:15 pm

BGA is a no-go for hand rework, I won't even look at it. QFN is doable but it's a pain

User avatar
olivierg
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can you solder surface mount? (new hardware)

Postby olivierg » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:21 pm

Hi,

I have recieved all components, the result.
Atari_hardware_loop.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron