Funky 1024 STE

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Bikerbob
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am

Funky 1024 STE

Postby Bikerbob » Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:36 pm

Hello all,

Buddy has a 1040ste - thing is mint.. looks barely used.

Had stock PSU and was getting VERY HOT - after so much time, disk access and directories were getting messed up. We thought bad psu.

So we swapped it out for an ATX wired up to fit the header. Power is not the issue.

After a couple of hours the same thing happens nothing hot, but the disk gets messed up and also the sound dies off to just barely audible with it up full volume.. but you do hear something.

Any ideas? think a diag cart would help here?

Open to suggestions.

James

Atarieterno
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Atarieterno » Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:02 pm

Maybe your ATX PSU is not the problem, but I would try a good PSU:

https://www.facebook.com/centuriontech.eu/

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/

Image

Image
Last edited by Atarieterno on Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3696
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby joska » Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:06 pm

PSU is clearly not the problem here.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Bikerbob
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:32 am

Do you have a suggestion joska? This machine because it runs pretty well for the most part, might really be easy to solve with a diag cart no???

James

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Greenious » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:52 am

Seems like DMA problems.

Exxos has researched this topic extensively. There are numerous threads about it.

tl;dr swapping the CPU for a HCMOS version will likely do the trick. (alternatives expensive/cumbersome).

You can likely get a MC68HC000 cpu off ebay or similar platform for less than $10, and it is an easy swap.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby 1st1 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:18 am

What is a 1024 STE?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

bishopco3
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby bishopco3 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:49 am

Atari 1040 STE, indicated in the first post.

Bikerbob
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:11 pm

1st1 wrote:What is a 1024 STE?



Sorry, must have been thinking about RAM 1024

My bad..

James

Bikerbob
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:12 pm

Greenious wrote:Seems like DMA problems.

Exxos has researched this topic extensively. There are numerous threads about it.

tl;dr swapping the CPU for a HCMOS version will likely do the trick. (alternatives expensive/cumbersome).

You can likely get a MC68HC000 cpu off ebay or similar platform for less than $10, and it is an easy swap.



OK, will look into that, I have the link for Exxos stuff, I am also posting on his forum as well, but a $10 cpu is worth a try.

So no one thinks this sounds like a bad Yamaha chip eh? because the floppy signals go through the Yamaha, and then the later issues with sound????

James

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby Maeke » Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:16 pm

the floppy signals go through the dma, only the drive selection goes through the yamaha if i'm not wrong.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Funky 1024 STE

Postby 1st1 » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:30 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
1st1 wrote:What is a 1024 STE?



Sorry, must have been thinking about RAM 1024

My bad..

James


That's true, but it always was 1040, or as prototype also 2080 and 4160, also STE. But you are not alone, when I talk to peoples which had an ST long ago, I often hear 1024 ST. But as a real Atari fan, hearing or reading this makes some pain...
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests