STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Smonson
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:45 am
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Smonson » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:47 am

I've got it on a DVI connector, which is way easier to hand solder... although still not what I'd call "easy".

Michael960
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:33 pm

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Michael960 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:30 pm

In the past two months, I tried something similar with a Spartan3 FPGA: I grabbed the MONO, RGB, VSYNC, HSYNC, DE and CLK32 signals from the shifter/GLUE. For monochrome mode I just forwarded them to the DVI transmitter chip without any buffering or scan doubling as I thought the frequencies should already be high enough for HDMI and for color modes, I also used a double line buffer. But I had less success than you: none of my monitors liked the signal. They all complained about illegal timings. OK, in color mode, I might have messed up something in the VHDL code and can't really test it as I don't have a good oscilloscope, but in mono mode it's so trivial that I'm quite sure that I did the forwarding correctly. My hardware is working well as a test video sequence with VGA timings generated in my FPGA is displayed on all of my monitors, but if I change this sequence to ATARI timings, it is also not displayed.

So I was nearly ready to give up this project and now I wonder how you had success 8O

Have I understood you correctly: you REPLACED the shifter by your FPGA circuit?
Is your ST in PAL or NTSC mode? (Does this make I difference in monochrome mode?)
Did you already have some success in color mode?
What monitor did you use?

In case of interest, here's the timings my FPGA counted in PAL mode and gave out via UART:

Code: Select all

ATARI 1040 STF Mono
  Horizontal [Clocks] : FPORCH=$061 SYNC=$060 BPORCH=$03F VIDEO=$280 SUM=$380
              Dezimal :          97        96          63        640      896
  Vertical   [Lines]  : FPORCH=$040 SYNC=$001 BPORCH=$024 VIDEO=$190 SUM=$1F5
              Dezimal :          64         1          36        400      501

ATARI 1040 STF Low 50Hz
  Horizontal [Clocks] : FPORCH=$151 SYNC=$0A0 BPORCH=$10F VIDEO=$500 SUM=$000
              Dezimal :         337       160         271       1280        0*
  Vertical   [Lines]  : FPORCH=$02F SYNC=$003 BPORCH=$03F VIDEO=$0C8 SUM=$139
              Dezimal :          47         3          63        200      313

* Manually calculated sum is 2048, integer was only range 0 to 2047, so it's plausible to be an overrun.

All the timings were given out in HEX as this was easier to do in VHDL (and already difficult enough :)) and afterwards manually converted to decimal.

User avatar
Smonson
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:45 am
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Smonson » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi Michael960,

Sorry to hear you weren't able to get that working, it sounds like you were well on the way to success there. I am indeed replacing the shifter, it simplifies a lot of things.

These are the timings I'm using for 50Hz:

Code: Select all

`define H_WIDTH 1024
`define H_ACTIVE 640
`define H_FRONT_PORCH 16
`define H_SYNC_TIME 96
`define LINES_PER_FRAME 626
`define LINES_ACTIVE 400
`define V_FRONT_PORCH 13
`define V_SYNC_TIME 2


This is double the rate of the real ST video lines, which has half as many lines, each 2048 clocks in length (32MHz).

Hopefully soon I'll have a successful test of a colour video mode to show. I've been concentrating on getting the boards out to the fab, because the Atari really doesn't like not being able to read the shifter registers, it screws the desktop up.

User avatar
Smonson
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:45 am
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Smonson » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:08 pm

Update: this is running OK on my first set of properly-fabricated circuit boards. Screenshot of mono desktop (ignore the green colour):

Image

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby mpattonm » Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:50 pm

Impressive!

Atarieterno
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Atarieterno » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:53 pm

Awesome !
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Atari030 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:34 pm

Ripper, mate.

User avatar
Smonson
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:45 am
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Smonson » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:56 pm

Image

Atarieterno
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Atarieterno » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:01 pm

Speak now or be quiet forever!! :mrgreen:
More info, please.
Great job ! :cheers:
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1197
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby troed » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:04 pm

Wow!

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3095
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby ijor » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:15 pm

Yeah, great job ... !

User avatar
Smonson
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:45 am
Location: Canberra
Contact:

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Smonson » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:15 pm

Atarieterno wrote:More info, please.
Great job ! :cheers:


Thanks Atarieterno!

I don't know what I can tell you that I haven't already said... this photo is just the latest progress update, now that I've got the colour modes working.

Next I need to wait for new PCBs to come from the fabricator, because I stuffed up some of the connections on the current one.

At some point in the future I can make these available to others who want to buy one, as long as you have a compatible STFM.

MM41
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby MM41 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:46 pm

:D Great news, well done Smonson :cheers:

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby Atari030 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:58 pm

There will be people lining up for this. Great work.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: STFM to DVI/HDMI project

Postby alanh » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:23 pm

Yes, nice job. Be interesting to see how some of the overscan demos work with this.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests