TT and MSTe PSU

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

TT and MSTe PSU

Postby bid » Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:46 pm

Hi,

I have seen a number of people add PicoPSU to falcons.

I am wondering what options there are for the TT and MSTe PSU, as it seems to have unusual voltage lines ... -5v anyone?

I've got an old motherboard, and I would like to fire it up.

Are there any simple methods?
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby rpineau » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:12 pm

I've build a small PCB to use a Pico-PSU and added a 7905 to generate the -5V from the -12V.
PicoPSU-MSTE-24.png


I can provide the Eagle file if interested.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby bid » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:32 pm

Great,

I have a friend who might be able to help me make this.

I'm so glad that its possible!

Would it be possible to send the file?!

Many thanks! ... I'll take photos of the final result!!

Kind regards,
John
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby rpineau » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:01 am

I just got the PCBs back so I'm going to test this during the weekend and if all works fine I'll post the files.
Regards, Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby rpineau » Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:16 pm

So .. it works :)
Here is a picture of it in a TT before I close the PSU enclosure :
PicoPSU_TT.jpg


I changed the fan for a silent fan ( https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00 ... 00?ie=UTF8 ).
The board accepts 20 and 24 pin ATX Pico PSU.
I re-used the original switch and just rewire it to use as the /PS_ON signal.
I'm attaching the Eagle files for those who want to make their own.
Regards, Rodolphe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby bid » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:05 am

This is beautiful!! ...

Wonderful job!
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:05 am

rpineau wrote:So .. it works :)
Here is a picture of it in a TT before I close the PSU enclosure :
PicoPSU_TT.jpg

I changed the fan for a silent fan ( https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00 ... 00?ie=UTF8 ).
The board accepts 20 and 24 pin ATX Pico PSU.
I re-used the original switch and just rewire it to use as the /PS_ON signal.
I'm attaching the Eagle files for those who want to make their own.
Regards, Rodolphe


Hi,

Very impressive. You mentioned PCBs in your previous post. I would be willing to buy one from you if you have several. Even if you didn't, how much would you charge for building me one? It's just that I'm so swamped with stuff that I couldn't possible have time to build it myself. Thanks.
Image

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:47 pm

Could this be modded for PicoPSU and TT?: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATX-20-PIN-to-A ... 1025150787
Image

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby joska » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:58 pm

Gaiyan wrote:Could this be modded for PicoPSU and TT?: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATX-20-PIN-to-A ... 1025150787


No need to modify it, the TT PSU connector is a standard AT connector. Just don't insert it backwards :)
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:58 pm

joska wrote:
Gaiyan wrote:Could this be modded for PicoPSU and TT?: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATX-20-PIN-to-A ... 1025150787


No need to modify it, the TT PSU connector is a standard AT connector. Just don't insert it backwards :)


Oh, I see! Thanks!
Image

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:50 pm

Ok, I just ordered the adapter from eBay. I withdraw my request to Rodolphe.

Will a 120W PicoPSU suffice for a TT? Eventually when Thunder & Storm are released I will be using an internal SD card.
Image

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby rpineau » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:08 pm

I use a 120W Pico PSU on the TT and no problem so far.
The original TT/MSTE PSU are 64.6W so you should be good even if you add a lot of things to it.

Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:40 pm

rpineau wrote:I use a 120W Pico PSU on the TT and no problem so far.
The original TT/MSTE PSU are 64.6W so you should be good even if you add a lot of things to it.

Rodolphe


Good to know, thanks.

Based on my brief but thorough research, I have decided to get the PicoPSU-120-WI-25 model that accepts 12-25v DC bricks. According to JonnyGuru by far the best performance was with a 19v brick.
Image

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby piku » Fri May 26, 2017 3:02 am

Interesting, what are the odd voltages for? I have used a Pico PSU with ATX->AT adapter in both MSTe and TT with no problems. The only problem I had is that one of my two Mach 64 ISA video cards (Nova VME) did not work with the Pico PSU and only worked with stock PSU.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Fri May 26, 2017 3:46 am

piku wrote:Interesting, what are the odd voltages for? I have used a Pico PSU with ATX->AT adapter in both MSTe and TT with no problems. The only problem I had is that one of my two Mach 64 ISA video cards (Nova VME) did not work with the Pico PSU and only worked with stock PSU.


If i remember correctly, -5V was required by the ISA bus amongst others to work correctly. Sound cards wouldn't work properly without the negative voltage. That might be why the Nova didn't work in your case.
Image

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby rpineau » Fri May 26, 2017 6:19 am

The -5V is used by the DAC0802 in the Mega STE and TT. It might be used in other places.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Bama » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:18 pm

joska wrote:
Gaiyan wrote:Could this be modded for PicoPSU and TT?: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATX-20-PIN-to-A ... 1025150787


No need to modify it, the TT PSU connector is a standard AT connector. Just don't insert it backwards :)


Please forgive my lack of technical prowess. I purchased the above AT converter. When I examined the TT PSU AT connector I counted 11 wires. The converter above has 12 wires.

IMG_0929.jpg


What do I do about this extra wire ? 5V ? on the converter? Will this harm my TT or my MSTE?

Thanks for teaching / sharing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:-)
BAMA

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby piku » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:26 pm

If I'm not mistaken I thought the pin for this missing wire is missing from the board as well.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby joska » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:55 pm

Don't worry, it's +5V on both the TT and AT connector. I guess it's not used by the TT PSU simply because it's not needed.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Bama » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:31 pm

Those of you who have been using a Pico PSU, what problems (if any) have developed? I am all set to make the conversion but I just read some old warnings by Exxos. I purchased the parts in Gayian’s post that the review said were the best... my lack of experience makes me wary with my prized TT & MSTE.

Thanks
:-)
BAMA

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby piku » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:59 pm

Everything works fine for me with the raw machine using the 80watt 12volt variant, but I've found that half of Mach64 cards with nova adapter do not work with pico psu but do work fine with the stock psu. I just got my TT running though that has ethernec and nova with mach64 all working fine on PicoPSU with the ATX to AT adapter plugged in correctly.

All I have to say is be very very careful with this work. I've fried a coldfire dev board, a CTPCI and a mega ste motherboard with past carelessness over the years. Now I am ultra ultra careful and really take my time and no incidents in the last few years. Fingers crossed of course!
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby joska » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:14 pm

Many PicoPSU clones does not have -5 or -12, which the isa graphics card may need. That said, I have only good experiences with PicoPSU. I've used them in several machines with good results. I would be surprised if they were any worse than the original, 80's design PSU's.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Bama » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:44 am

piku wrote:Everything works fine for me with the raw machine using the 80watt 12volt variant, but I've found that half of Mach64 cards with nova adapter do not work with pico psu but do work fine with the stock psu. I just got my TT running though that has ethernec and nova with mach64 all working fine on PicoPSU with the ATX to AT adapter plugged in correctly.


Can you tell by sight which Mach 64 cards won’t work with the Pico?

piku wrote:All I have to say is be very very careful with this work. I've fried a coldfire dev board, a CTPCI and a mega ste motherboard with past carelessness over the years. Now I am ultra ultra careful and really take my time and no incidents in the last few years. Fingers crossed of course!


What safety tips do you recommend to protect my computer?
:-)
BAMA

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby piku » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:59 am

If i recall they were identical cards for the most part. Maybe different ramdac.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: TT and MSTe PSU

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:03 pm

Bama wrote:Those of you who have been using a Pico PSU, what problems (if any) have developed? I am all set to make the conversion but I just read some old warnings by Exxos. I purchased the parts in Gayian’s post that the review said were the best... my lack of experience makes me wary with my prized TT & MSTE.

Thanks


Haven't had a single problem. I'm also running SuperNova ATI Mach64 as well. I have -5v from the link I gave earlier to eBay.
Image


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests