My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby leech » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:48 pm

ube wrote:A bit of an announcement.
And, I’ll probably start a new Atari project or two. When the Swedish cold, long winter sets in.


Winter is coming....

So I think the problem with my 8bit/vbxe output is probably there just isn't a way to adjust the rgb on it like there is for the GBS-8220. May have to figure out how to make a similar device that does this so it could be universal for Atari ST/8bit (w/VBXE).

On that note, I should really try the GBS-8220 with the ST to see how that looks, because the VBXE looks amazing! So I'll take a screenshot of the difference between straight connection to my Dell 2001FP with this adapter, and with this adapter into the GBS.

Thanks for all the work on it Ube, this is an awesome device and I still have no idea why it took so long to make such a small solution!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:04 pm

In stock. Get ‘em while you can!
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
alektronic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby alektronic » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:53 pm

Yay! I got one :) Really looking forward to it, thanks ube and exxos :cheers:

LevelFT
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby LevelFT » Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:04 pm

Late to the party i know.....where do I find the ready made units and where do I find the most recent PCB design files ?

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:57 am

Hello,

I have create PCB with small modification:
Added LEDs Side
Replace the potentiometer by ePot no volatil.
UBESwtichPCB.jpg

UBESwitchBOX.jpg


I waiting the VGA connector for testing.

Bye
Olivier
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4191
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:21 pm

What do the LEDs indicate? Thanks (and thanks for all the hard work
on this!).
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:55 pm

The led indicate monochrome or color mode. (just for the fun, not realy needed)

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:18 pm

The prototype works.

But not store the state, after power down ST the UBEswitch back to monochrome.
I have not see information about the fuse bit on github.
I have found disable CKDIV8 (at 1Mhz it's not works).

Other fuse bit needed to change ?

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:16 pm

Let’s see. From the top of my head... I don’t do anything but set 8MHz internal and then burn bootloader in Arduino IDE.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:03 am

Hm. Try and up the bootWait to see if that’s the problem.

Additionally, you’re using other components than I and running the ATTiny at 8MHz draws about 80% of the available power (~8 out of 10 mA) so I wouldn’t be too surprised if adding that (super cool) digital pot and two leds gives you stability issues.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:35 am

I have not burn bootloader, i use avrstudio & atmel ice with ISP for programming.
The epot is not connected at the AVR, the current is 0,75uA at Max 3,5uA, is very low.
For the Led i have used 470R = +/- 6mA, only one led is enabled.

In the code added this:

Code: Select all

#define monochromeLed PB3   
#define colorLed PB4       

in void setup

Code: Select all

  DDRB |= bit(monochromeLed);
  DDRB |= bit(colorLed);

and in void loop

Code: Select all

if (state = 255) {
  digitalWrite(monochromeLed, LOW);
  digitalWrite(colorLed, HIGH);
  } else {
  digitalWrite(monochromeLed, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(colorLed, LOW);
  }


I try without my code.

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:56 am

I have same result with original code, but i see in code "saveTime 2000000"
i nedeed to press 2 second for save ?

What the value of state in monochrome and color ?

I have tested with add: EEPROM.write(2 , 2); it's works, the value is stored in eeprom at address 2

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:33 am

Yep, 2s to store current state of the selectPin, value is the same as the ST; low mono, high color.

(Burn bootloader in Arduino IDE is setting the fuses, so we’ve got the terminology straight.)
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:14 pm

OK, i try to disable the store delay for testing.

Small list of monitors color resolution not works (only monochrome works):
Viewsonic VG712s
Viewsonic Vx924
Viewsonic VG721m
Viewsonic VG930m
Viewsonic VA903m
Samsung SyncMaster 910n
Philips Brilliance 220SW
iiYama Prolite H430

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:37 pm

I’d probably start by removing everything but the ts5v330 and attiny.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:36 pm

I'm stupid, I do not check the regulator's sense. With the 7805 (TO220) the input is on the left, with 78L05 SOT89 it is reversed. (The manufacturers do not simplify our life).

I have only 3V, probably the AVR not write in eeprom at this voltage.

Sorry for disturb.

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:16 pm

Ok. Id You order new boards, please have a look at the updated license. ;)
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:51 am

I have read the new licence.
I try to cancel the PCB production.
If not possible i remove manualy the printed text.

Sorry.
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:44 am

It’s ok, for one run. And it means that the donation is voluntary as well, if it’s named something else.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

ITSystemsMUC
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:41 am
Location: Germany

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ITSystemsMUC » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:57 am

Hello together,
is it possible to order one of the latest ubeswitch mk6 that ist ready built? I had a look on exxos, but there the switches are the old version and already sold out...
Thanks a lot for your support...
Atari Mega ST2, 2x Megafile 30

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:34 am

I’m working on a new revision, got new PCBs on Monday and realized I’ve done a brain fart and mixing some signals up. So I’ve fixed that and ordered new boards.

But I think Oliver will sell his version, right?
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b

User avatar
olivierg
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby olivierg » Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:09 pm

Yes, sell the MK6 version, normaly assembling and testing this week-end.

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06, Mega ST4, Mega ST2, 1040 STE, 2 x 1040STFM, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1

jonathanm
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:41 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby jonathanm » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:30 am

Wow, great to see an Atari -> VGA adaptor, exactly what I am looking for.

However, without the time to read through 7 pages of forum, I would like to ask a few simple questions about this project please:
1) Will this board allow me to connect my STE directly to any standard VGA monitor (like if I went out and bought one from a shop today)?
2) Will I be able to switch between ST Lo / Med and Hi (mono) with the switch, while connected to the same modern VGA monitor?
3) Are there any video or sound artefacts, e.g. ghosting, mouse trails, or similar?

I can solder but I'm not very good when it comes to electronics theory, so will only be able to build from easy to follow diagrams and components if they are available.

My previous efforts at getting such a video connection working only got as far as this thread: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=17153

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2375
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby spiny » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:13 pm

jonathanm wrote:1) Will this board allow me to connect my STE directly to any standard VGA monitor (like if I went out and bought one from a shop today)?
2) Will I be able to switch between ST Lo / Med and Hi (mono) with the switch, while connected to the same modern VGA monitor?
3) Are there any video or sound artefacts, e.g. ghosting, mouse trails, or similar?

I can solder but I'm not very good when it comes to electronics theory, so will only be able to build from easy to follow diagrams and components if they are available.

My previous efforts at getting such a video connection working only got as far as this thread: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=17153



1: no, it needs to be a monitot that cn display the STs low refresh rate. not all VGA monitors can do this.
2: yes, assuming you get a monitor that can do ST low. nearly all VGA monitors can do ST High
3: in my experience, no. I have one of the adapters and have used it with a few monitors, and it's exceptional quality :)

User avatar
ube
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Postby ube » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:25 pm

To elaborate on 3:
The only thing that can mess with the image quality is the 3 ohm resistance in the V330 chip, and that would only darken the picture by a small fraction. The V330 chip has a maximum bandwidth of 200MHz, so no lag should be added by running the pixel data through it. H and V sync signals are routed straight from the DIN13 to the DSUB connector so there shouldn't be anything messing with those signals, apart from bad soldering.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests