Epson SMD-340 hd select

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:40 pm

I'll just leave this here :P I thought it pretty strange that everyone, everywhere, claimed there was no density detect signal on the Epson 340. Since this is _the_ drive that you can use the original faceplate and eject button with it should be the #1 choice, no?

Traced'n'done. 5V at that via with HD disk inserted, 0V with DD. (red line just showing where the signal from the actual switch at the front comes from)

epson340_density_signal_small.jpg


(I'll wire up the actual install with one of exxos' kit another day)

/Troed
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Maeke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby Maeke » Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:46 am

Thanks, i was wondering where to pick this signal myself on my smd-340 for my own exxos's kit. As allways you're very helpfull.

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:04 am

Interesting trivia: While transplanting faceplate and eject button from an Epson SMD-380 (the DD drive often used by Atari) I noticed it has tracks and solder points ready for the HD detect switch that's installed in the 340.

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:16 pm

Update:

Thanks to exxos I now have a 1.44 HD kit in my STE. For some reason I killed the 1772 02-02 I had in the machine while desoldering and had to buy a replacement chip :P I've also _not_ been able to get the Epson 340 working yet, thus this post. I've verified the kit installation using a Sony MPF920-E instead.

Besides wiring up the HD select signal above to the HD kit (and verified it goes 5V with HD disk inserted, 0V with DD) I've jumpered the Epson 340 for "mode switched internally" - see: http://floppy.shugart.free.fr/docs/epso ... smd340.pdf

I'm assuming that doesn't work for some reason, which I thought it would, so my next test is going to be wiring the HD detect signal above not only to the HD kit in the STE but also to pin 2 on the Epson and then jumpering it for "Mode switched by HDI input". I just need to look into what the STE does with pin 2 before that though.

TBC

/Troed

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:34 pm

Now sorted, according to the theory above. I soldered from the traced via in red in the image above to floppy connector pin 2 on the board, and then another wire from pin 2 to exxos' 1.44 kit HD select (jumpering 1-2 & 5-13 on the Epson). Pin 2 is NC on the ST side as far as I can see.

tl;dr: I now have "Atari's" preferred HD-drive working both DD and HD mode in an Atari STE using exxos' kit, all without having to modify the STE case.

/Troed

(Since I have an HxC on the same cable I might need to cut wire #2 after the floppy though, since the HxC might pick that signal up otherwise. Documentation is slightly unclear as to what that would cause .. )

Maeke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby Maeke » Wed Aug 10, 2016 1:38 pm

good news for me then, can you upload a photo of the finished job? Btw what is the need of the connection on the pin 2 of the floppy drive if we inject it to an exxos's kit (just curious about it)?

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:17 pm

Maeke wrote:good news for me then, can you upload a photo of the finished job? Btw what is the need of the connection on the pin 2 of the floppy drive if we inject it to an exxos's kit (just curious about it)?


No photo, but this is what it would look like:

epson340_density_signal_small_instr.jpg


My naïve assumption was that jumpering the drive for internal density selection should work, but it didn't. So, the reason for connecting the via to pin 2 is because we're instead jumpering the drive to expect an _external_ density select on that pin (and then we're giving it its own signal ;)). We also need the same signal to go to exxos' kit as well of course.

Yellow: via to pin 2
Blue: to D0 on the HD kit

/Troed
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by troed on Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4808
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:27 pm

Pin 2 ? would be pin 4 wouldn't it looking at the image?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:40 pm

exxos wrote:Pin 2 ? would be pin 4 wouldn't it looking at the image?


I have no idea what you mean ...

*silently replaces the image with a corrected version*

/Troed

(thanks)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4808
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:47 pm

troed wrote:
exxos wrote:Pin 2 ? would be pin 4 wouldn't it looking at the image?


I have no idea what you mean ...

*silently replaces the image with a corrected version*

/Troed

(thanks)


Must have been how I was looking at it :wink: :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Anzac
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 3:03 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby Anzac » Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:06 pm

troed wrote:
exxos wrote:Pin 2 ? would be pin 4 wouldn't it looking at the image?


I have no idea what you mean ...

*silently replaces the image with a corrected version*

/Troed

(thanks)


:lol:

how many times i´ve sent the email and asked about the attachment that... was not there... :P
Here i am, the Atari Avenger...
I will bring back Power without the price...
oh, well... not on this planet anymore... :(

Maeke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby Maeke » Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:41 pm

troed wrote:
Maeke wrote:good news for me then, can you upload a photo of the finished job? Btw what is the need of the connection on the pin 2 of the floppy drive if we inject it to an exxos's kit (just curious about it)?


No photo, but this is what it would look like:

epson340_density_signal_small_instr.jpg

My naïve assumption was that jumpering the drive for internal density selection should work, but it didn't. So, the reason for connecting the via to pin 2 is because we're instead jumpering the drive to expect an _external_ density select on that pin (and then we're giving it its own signal ;)). We also need the same signal to go to exxos' kit as well of course.

Yellow: via to pin 2
Blue: to D0 on the HD kit

/Troed

so i'll have to check again my jumpers settings.

User avatar
troed
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby troed » Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:57 pm

Maeke wrote:so i'll have to check again my jumpers settings.


If you've done the connections according to the image the jumper settings needed are:

1-2 (basically just says that the density select signal is normal, not inverted)
5-13 = use external density select signal (pin 2)
14-15 = ds0 (Atari internal floppy)

/Troed

Maeke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Epson SMD-340 hd select

Postby Maeke » Wed Aug 10, 2016 7:01 pm

troed wrote:
Maeke wrote:so i'll have to check again my jumpers settings.


If you've done the connections according to the image the jumper settings needed are:

1-2 (basically just says that the density select signal is normal, not inverted)
5-13 = use external density select signal (pin 2)
14-15 = ds0 (Atari internal floppy)

/Troed

thanks.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest