New RAM testing program

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:06 am

troed wrote:I have just piggy-back upgraded a 520ST using memory chips I've carelessly hot-aired out from other ST machines, and predictably some of the chips have faults. During the hunt to find out which, I realized it would be nice to be able to force a RAM test program like this to test a specific memory size/range even though TOS hasn't detected it :)

(Since my bank 1 has errors TOS initializes to 512KB)


No one reads the included documentation anymore... :(

Quoting from it: "YAARTTT.TOS has a "hidden feature": Pressing 'M' at the prompt right
after startup will switch to manual address entry mode. You can then
enter any start and end address, e.g. to test memory that is not
registered with GEMDOS. However, testing allocated or non-existing
memory will crash the system or cause data corruption!"

PS: Even though it's call YAARTTT, it'll run on your ST.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby troed » Thu Mar 15, 2018 4:12 pm

Thanks! :) Could I suggest editing the top post to include the most current version? I must confess I didn't look through all individual posts :/


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests