New RAM testing program

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:06 am

troed wrote:I have just piggy-back upgraded a 520ST using memory chips I've carelessly hot-aired out from other ST machines, and predictably some of the chips have faults. During the hunt to find out which, I realized it would be nice to be able to force a RAM test program like this to test a specific memory size/range even though TOS hasn't detected it :)

(Since my bank 1 has errors TOS initializes to 512KB)


No one reads the included documentation anymore... :(

Quoting from it: "YAARTTT.TOS has a "hidden feature": Pressing 'M' at the prompt right
after startup will switch to manual address entry mode. You can then
enter any start and end address, e.g. to test memory that is not
registered with GEMDOS. However, testing allocated or non-existing
memory will crash the system or cause data corruption!"

PS: Even though it's call YAARTTT, it'll run on your ST.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby troed » Thu Mar 15, 2018 4:12 pm

Thanks! :) Could I suggest editing the top post to include the most current version? I must confess I didn't look through all individual posts :/

dizzy33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:40 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby dizzy33 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:56 am

Just one quick simple question : how to load this program into my Atari ? Is there any way to load it using a Gotek ? Does this program exist on a ".ST" file so I can load it using my Gotek ?

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:29 am

You can always create your own .ST floppy images and fill the with stuff using Steem or Hatari.

dizzy33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:40 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby dizzy33 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:19 am

OK thanks ! Just one question not related to this thread (sorry but I have no other choice) : I cannot post anymore in the hardware section of this forum, does anyone know why ?

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:26 am

dizzy33 wrote: I cannot post anymore in the hardware section of this forum, does anyone know why ?


You can't? Bu you have posted your question "ATARI 520 STF RAM : mix of 100ns and 120ns ?" about ten(!) times now in the hardware section. The moderators have already cleaned up some of your double posts, which is why at the time of me writing this only five posts remain.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests