New RAM testing program

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:25 pm

EDIT: Do not use version 0.1.7, it has a bug on 68030 CPUs. See below for newer versions of YAART RAM tester.

Hello,

it always bothered me that RAM test software for the Atari was mostly very simplistic in their test algorithms. There are much better ways to find (especially subtle) faults, which are for example used by Memtest86 on the PC. So I ported a selection of these tests to Atari. I humbly named it YAART, Yet Another Atari RAM Test, but I think it provides better test coverage that the usual RAM test software for Atari systems.

You will find YAART beta version v.0.1.7 attached to this post.

YAART comes in two flavors:

YAART.TOS only runs on ST-type machines (ST, STE, MegaST, MegaSTE), does direct hardware access and can thus test almost all RAM, including screen memory and -- to a lesser extent -- also memory already in use by TOS. However, I still recommend a clean boot from a floppy disk without drivers or AUTO-start programs.

YAARTTT.TOS should run on any Atari machine. It can test ST-RAM and Alternate RAM/TT-RAM, but only memory that is currently unused. So a clean boot is even more important here to maximize coverage.

After start, YAART/YAARTTT will repeatedly test memory and print the current iteration, the number of errors and the address of an error found. Press and hold ALT to terminate the program.

Also note that it's a beta version that may still suffer from bugs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by czietz on Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Sun Jul 10, 2016 8:32 pm

Awesome stuff! Thanks for coding this, I know it will be really useful for me!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2461
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby spiny » Mon Jul 11, 2016 9:14 am

nice :)

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Wed Jul 13, 2016 6:51 pm

New beta version v.0.1.8 fixes YAARTTT.TOS to avoid crashing on 68030 machines (TT, Falcon).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:36 pm

Thanks!

MM41
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby MM41 » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:46 pm

Thank you Czietz :D

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby AtariCrypt » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:59 pm

Brilliant - thank you Czietz :-)

Anzac
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 3:03 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Anzac » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:33 pm

great stuff... thank you for doing this!

i´ll be sure to test and provide feedback.
Here i am, the Atari Avenger...
I will bring back Power without the price...
oh, well... not on this planet anymore... :(

User avatar
oissery77
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:19 am

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby oissery77 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:17 pm

Thanks for this tool Czietz. It will help me too.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:04 pm

New beta version 0.2.0 of YAART. Most notable new feature: A (semi-)hidden manual address entry (expert) mode in YAARTTT.TOS that allows you to test memory that is not registered with GEMDOS, e.g. on an add-on video card. See the included documentation for more info.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by czietz on Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby AtariCrypt » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:29 pm

Brilliant, thank you :-)

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:01 pm

czietz wrote:New beta version 0.2.0 of YAART. Most notable new feature: A (semi-)hidden manual address entry (expert) mode in YAARTTT.TOS that allows you to test memory that is not registered with GEMDOS, e.g. on an add-on video card. See the included documentation for more info.


Awesome, I really like this program :) :cheers: :cheers:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:02 pm

To everyone who downloaded version 0.2.0 prior to this post: Please redownload, I accidentally added a version of YAART.TOS with debugging code to the archive. This has now been fixed. Sorry.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:08 pm

Can someone try running this program on a stock falcon ? Interested to see if anyone gets random write fails.. I just get 1 address fail once, after 5-15 test loops, but it only fails once.

So interested to see if anyone else sees this problem.. would need to leave tests running for 20-30 passes (with 14MB ) to be sure (could take a long time).

IMG_0635.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

atarifred
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:25 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby atarifred » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:01 pm

Hi.
I've a problem with a 1040 STF.
The 1Mb is composed of 32 chip.
It is possible to scan only the first 512Kb, and after the last 512kb ?
The banks are named like this in my computer :
U3 U4 U5 U6
U10 U11 U12 U13
U18 U19 U20 U21
U22 U23 U24 U25
U27 U28 U29 U30
U34 U35 U36 U37
U39 U40 U41 U42
U44 U45 U46 U47

There are no logic with the numbers written on the motherboard. The blue Chip are for the first 512Kb, and the red, the second bank of 512kb.
Is a way to test each chip (i think not), or a software to do ?
Is my stf could boot with a missed chip on the motherboard ?

To fix my problem, i bought on ebay 32 capacitors of 220nF to replace all next the chips. (waiting to receive it).
I've a 520STF working all the tests, i can remove a memory chip, solder an header, desolder one by one, each chip, and testing on the 520stf to find if one is dead... So if i'm not luncky, i can dessolder 32 chip to find the last dead :/

Or, better way, is the 1040stf should boot, if i remove R71 / R72 / R73 and let all the chip on the motherboard (like this i think my 1040 become a 520) and test only fist 512kb ?
If yes, if the 1040 boot with 512k, and test are ok, if i resolder R71/R72 / R73 and dessolder R62 / R63 / R64 will my atari boot could boot with 512kb, on the second bank ???

If i ask some technical question like this, it's because it's not an STE with a SIMM module :/ and evitate to desolder 32 chips who had 16 pads ... so 512 pins :/ with the capacitor... 32 * 2 (64 pins too), the resistances 6 * 2 (12 too). In fact i have to desolder 512 + 64 + 12 = 588 pads !!!

In YAART 1.8 i got errors in 0x046a50.
1040 STf + 4oGb IDE + RTC + TOS 4x + Gotek HxC
520 STf
1040 STe + Gotek HxC
520 STe + Gotek HxC

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Mon May 01, 2017 8:46 am

New version 0.2.1 of YAART and YAARTTT RAM testers. You can now pause it after an error message (to better that message) by pressing and holding the SHIFT key.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 pm

czietz wrote:New version 0.2.1 of YAART and YAARTTT RAM testers. You can now pause it after an error message (to better that message) by pressing and holding the SHIFT key.


Awesome, thanks for keeping it updated!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby alienkidmj12 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:38 pm

would be even nicer if i ran in a nice menu'd gem app :)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4160
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Dal » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:51 pm

alienkidmj12 wrote:would be even nicer if i ran in a nice menu'd gem app :)


Surely the point is for it to have the minimal amount of RAM footprint?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:40 pm

There will definitely be no GEM app! Dal is totally right: the amount of memory used by YAART needs to be kept as small as possible.
Also I don't see the point: what would be the benefit of a GUI in this case?

User avatar
Quickie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:55 am

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Quickie » Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:33 am

Hi czietz,

Thank you for creating such a useful (and reliable) piece of software!
I really appreciate having a quick and straightforward method to perform a reliable mem test on the ST.

Thanks to your app I've found that my suspects on my ST520FM rev. 70789 were right, seems that has some RAM ICs bad or something else worser (check the above description):

All the passes fail, and they do following the same pattern (+8h on the first bit):

Image

F.ex.:

On 0x07183c -> 8000!=0000
On 0x07191a -> 8000!=0000
On 0x0718c6 -> 8101!=0101
On 0x071938 -> ce4f!=4e4f

I've found the ST 520 Schematics here: ftp://ftp.retrodatorer.se/Documents/Atari/Schematics/520ST_Schematic.pdf but I need some help understanding them:

- I see that all RAM lines are connected to U15 (MMU), but this problem has a common pattern, perhaps a bit inverted?. May it be related to 74Ls (U22,U23,U26,U27) or to the shifter (U31 - DMA)?

Thank you.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:47 am

As you have already pointed out, it's always the same bit that is affected, more specifically the most significant bit, i.e. data bit 15 (D15).

The ST (usually) has an individual RAM chip for each bit of data, so the one for D15 would be my first suspect. In the schematic you posted this is U45. Note, however, that there were many revisions of the ST mainboard, so maybe this chip has another number on your board. The next suspects indeed would be the latches U22 and U26, as they are also needed for D15.

User avatar
Quickie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:55 am

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Quickie » Sun Dec 24, 2017 6:07 pm

czietz wrote:As you have already pointed out, it's always the same bit that is affected, more specifically the most significant bit, i.e. data bit 15 (D15).

The ST (usually) has an individual RAM chip for each bit of data, so the one for D15 would be my first suspect. In the schematic you posted this is U45. Note, however, that there were many revisions of the ST mainboard, so maybe this chip has another number on your board. The next suspects indeed would be the latches U22 and U26, as they are also needed for D15.


Thank you very much for the quick response.
I will check the U45 with oscilloscope the U45 RAM chip and the U22 and U26 to see if there is any unexpected behavior.

I'll keep you posted with the results.

Best regards,

Raúl

User avatar
Quickie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:55 am

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Quickie » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:36 pm

Hi,

Apologies for not being able to update the status since my last message.
I've replaced the U45 ram IC, however the problem remains, so I will try to replace the U22 74LS373 as it's the only latch I have.
Hope this time will fix it.

Cheers!

[EDIT 28/02/18: FINALLY FIXED!!]

Checked both 74LS373 and 74LS244, but according to my motherboard (rev. 070789) those were marked as U57 and U60, so I assumed that the IC I replaced did not correspond to databit 15 and find out other schematics for STFM.

This time I found those: http://atari-schematics.angelfire.com/1040stf1.zip which do correspond to C70787 (1040 STFM)
After reviewing page 5 where the memory is detailed I looked for the corresponding IC for D15 and those were U5 (which my Atari lacks being just 512K) or U3...

So, after replacing U3 the results were as expected: tests passed!!

Image

Big thanks to all for helping diagnosing this failure and keep the good work with this excelent testing tool.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby troed » Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:00 pm

I have just piggy-back upgraded a 520ST using memory chips I've carelessly hot-aired out from other ST machines, and predictably some of the chips have faults. During the hunt to find out which, I realized it would be nice to be able to force a RAM test program like this to test a specific memory size/range even though TOS hasn't detected it :)

(Since my bank 1 has errors TOS initializes to 512KB)


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests