Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby calimero » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:58 am

alexh wrote:
DarkLord wrote:3D games are much better, example Elite, Elite 2.

Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.

here is another Amiga accelerator: http://amigaprj.blogspot.rs/2015/09/hc5 ... 0-mhz.html there you will find Elite 2 at 50 FPS :D
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:46 am

alexh wrote:
DarkLord wrote:3D games are much better, example Elite, Elite 2.

Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.


I generally find 3D games dull and rarely play these. The only exceptions I can think of right now is Stunt Car Racer and No Second Price. Both benefit hugely from a faster CPU. No Second Price in particular is lovely on my MIST in "STEroids" mode.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby shoggoth » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:53 am

alexh wrote:Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.


I fail to agree here. 3D games in general definitely benefit from a faster CPU. At least this is my personal experience from playing games on the CT2 and CT60. Frontier Elite 2, for example, really takes off on faster hardware. What accelerators/games did you try?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:55 am

alexh wrote:Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.


Don't know the technical details, but at 40mhz, the 3D games I've played spend their time going across the screen much faster. YMMV, as always. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1701
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby Cyprian » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:04 am

calimero wrote:
alexh wrote:
DarkLord wrote:3D games are much better, example Elite, Elite 2.

Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.

here is another Amiga accelerator: http://amigaprj.blogspot.rs/2015/09/hc5 ... 0-mhz.html there you will find Elite 2 at 50 FPS :D


looks similarly to "our" :) Exxos accelerator http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/1 ... dex.htm#V2
Lynx II / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:33 am

Cyprian wrote:looks similarly to "our" :) Exxos accelerator http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/1 ... dex.htm#V2


Except for the "fast-RAM, flash-ROM and IDE"-part ;)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby exxos » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:07 pm

joska wrote:
Cyprian wrote:looks similarly to "our" :) Exxos accelerator http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/1 ... dex.htm#V2


Except for the "fast-RAM, flash-ROM and IDE"-part ;)


Fast-ram IDE etc are not part of the V2 no, but there are addon cards for the V3 for what expansion anyone wants. In fact the expansion port will be open source so anyone can develop addons for it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:21 pm

alexh wrote:Interesting. Most 3D games which are patched for faster processors do not benefit from the extra CPU power. They just spend most of their time waiting.


Alex, I went back and re-read this post. Maybe I misinterpreted your reply. Did you mean along the lines of the concept that no matter how fast software and hardware goes, that it's still usually waiting on user input? That's a generally accepted notion and I pretty much agree with it. I wasn't really talking about that though when I said the games benefited from an accelerator. Even reduced loading times, scrolling, etc, makes a game "feel" faster.

Look at the difference in Bards Tale at 8mhz and 40mhz (and I apologize for the poor video - start about the 3:40 mark):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfADRmOQPtI
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2743
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby alexh » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:43 pm

Fast 3D engines written for 68000 accelerated drawing using the blitter (which AFAIR could be faster than CPU for 7.5MHz 68000). If you add a faster processor, the games either screwed up (as the code was written to time precisely to the blitter finishing) OR they spend most of their time waiting for the blitter to finish. They could not render much faster than they were intended.

Some people on the Amiga have removed the blitter functions and replaced them with 680x0 routines removing this issue. Presumably similar things have been done to make games work on TT030 and Falcon030?

If a game's 3D engine is only using the CPU for rendering and flips the screen buffer on a VBL when a scene was complete then they would go to 50fps (or faster if they don't wait for VBL)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:36 pm

I don't think you'll find many 3D games that use the blitter.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby calimero » Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:16 pm

joska wrote:I don't think you'll find many 3D games that use the blitter.

some times ago I open a thread at eab: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=77162 "Using blitter for filling 3D polygons"...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2743
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby alexh » Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:16 am

joska wrote:Stunt Car Racer and No Second Prize. Both benefit hugely from a faster CPU. No Second Price in particular is lovely on my MiST in "STEroids" mode.

Stunt Car Racer is one of those games which on the Amiga doesn't go faster if you have a faster CPU unless you change the rendering engine (Called Turbo Mode on some of the patches)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby shoggoth » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:30 pm

alexh wrote:Stunt Car Racer is one of those games which on the Amiga doesn't go faster if you have a faster CPU unless you change the rendering engine (Called Turbo Mode on some of the patches)


Have you tried any of the games you're talking about on the Amitari ST?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby qq1975b » Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:29 am

Trying to learn...

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby shoggoth » Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:02 am

It's a nice achievement :) I'd sure like one to replace my CT60..
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:44 am

I think I have to have one for my A600. Maybe it will see some use then :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby qq1975b » Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:59 pm

really fast and a good graphics improvement....and not very expensive: 150€
Trying to learn...

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby emcclariion » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:45 am

My Facebook group for Atari suggests that Rodolphe Czuba has started work to get the amiga vampire card working on the atari st, which will feature Falcon video modes
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

tuf
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:43 pm

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby tuf » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:48 am

Firebee is ~700 euro for a cased board w/power supply...wow!

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby DarkLord » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:26 am

emcclariion wrote:My Facebook group for Atari suggests that Rodolphe Czuba has started work to get the amiga vampire card working on the atari st, which will feature Falcon video modes


That would be freaking awesome! Where do I sign up at? :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:05 am

emcclariion wrote:My Facebook group for Atari suggests that Rodolphe Czuba has started work to get the amiga vampire card working on the atari st, which will feature Falcon video modes


If this happens there is only one thing to say:Take my money!
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby trecool » Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:05 am

After that update, all I can say is I'm very happy with our Atari developers and projects...
Last edited by trecool on Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby calimero » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:47 am

trecool wrote:After that update, all I can say is I'm very happy with our Atari developers and projects...

Did you saw how Majsta assemble Vampire cards in his house?
He even modify kitchen owen! :D

btw price of 250e is comparable with CT63 (note that Vampire have also integrated graphics cards so real comparison would be: CT63 + SuperVidel so you have to pay 500e on Atari Falcon...)

using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby trecool » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:21 am

OK, that was impressive!

Well, I am not the guy who always complains about the retro hardware prices and all. Not at all!
What I don't get is the price difference between the first batch and now. If I'm not wrong, the price has doubled in a day.
I can get the logic behind pre-ordering but I think this went too far... we are talking about more than 700 units.

Anyways, by the way CT63 has also the 060 cpu which costs more or less 100e itself.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby DarkLord » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:37 pm

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest