Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:49 am

calimero wrote:would be more something like FireBee and Aranym (it will break lot of compatibility)!


...but it will break a *lot* less than both Firebee and ARAnyM, because no original hardware except the CPU is removed. So not like the Firebee which does not have any ST compatible hardware than the MFP and YM, or ARAnyM which really doesn't attempt to be a close emulation of any existing real machine.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby shoggoth » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:42 pm

joska wrote:...but it will break a *lot* less than both Firebee and ARAnyM, because no original hardware except the CPU is removed. So not like the Firebee which does not have any ST compatible hardware than the MFP and YM, or ARAnyM which really doesn't attempt to be a close emulation of any existing real machine.


I second that. The main incompatibilities in both Aranym and the Firebee isn't an issue on that thing. It would make sense to turn a bit more technical if we're discussing potential incompatibilities.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby calimero » Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:18 pm

New announcement from Apollo team:

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.ph ... 3&z=EX-N7l

As many of you will know already, we are working right now on our new card layout - which is optimized for mass production.

Based on the same features we will do both cards for all AMIGA models as also new Standalones.

We expect the first bigger batch of these Standalone to receive this year, and plan to be able to start normal sales beginning of next year.


These standalones can be made both AMIGA and ATARI compatible.

In regards of AMIGA/ATARI chipset one could either instantiate already existing and tested chipsets - or we could work together on merging our SAGA chipset with an ATARI chipset.

As already announced some time ago - we will open source SAGA when its done.

In regards of ATARI Testing and TOS hacking, and also Chipset development - we would need some help - as none of us if experienced here.

So if you are an ATARI expert and want to help to make this happen then please contact us on IRC.


We hope that our standalone from its feature set can give a new live to both retro platforms.
While we have no final price yet - our plan is to offer you the highest possible value, most memory, and best performance for the money.


hm... standalone Vampire will be in direct competition with MiST and FireBee...?

How fast is MiST and what resolution is possible with MiST?


EDIT: I just got logged out from forum just after pressing submit for post! :D - it send my post and logged me out!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby calimero » Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:24 pm

I just found GemBench result for MiST:

viewtopic.php?t=24583&start=600#p242517

so MiST is, in average, 3x faster than ST except in integer math: it is 18x faster :)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby joska » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:16 am

AtariZoll wrote:In case of Vampire 2 it just may not work - first - the detection of CPU may fail. Then, 68000 SW will fail because different stackframe.
Will it work with TOS 2.06 depends - how CPU detection will be lucky. It may be, I don't know how it exactly detects 68010 - what would be with larger stackframe.


EmuTOS doesn't seem to have any problems with CPU detection on the Vampire :)

https://vimeo.com/189279051

This is a stock and unmodified 68000 EmuTOS for Amiga.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby BlankVector » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:06 pm

EmuTOS rulez :D
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Atari ST video modes.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 765
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Amiga 600 Vampire 2 accelerator board

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:17 pm

Nice :-)
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests