1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

shazzner
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby shazzner » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:24 pm

So the other day my ST was turning on but giving me 3 bombs (bad address error), I opened it up and checked everything, reset the chips, cleaned up a few bits. Thankfully it'll boot games and to TOS but only if I have a game disk or system disk in the drive respectively.

Without a disk I'll just get a white screen and it seems like it tries to seek a disk repeatedly.

Any ideas as to the issue?
Atari 1040ST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby exxos » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:36 pm

shazzner wrote:So the other day my ST was turning on but giving me 3 bombs (bad address error), I opened it up and checked everything, reset the chips, cleaned up a few bits. Thankfully it'll boot games and to TOS but only if I have a game disk or system disk in the drive respectively.

Without a disk I'll just get a white screen and it seems like it tries to seek a disk repeatedly.

Any ideas as to the issue?


Desktop takes about 40 seconds to come up without a floppy in the drive. Try a blank formatted floppy to speed up the desktop appearing.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

shazzner
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby shazzner » Sun Dec 13, 2015 1:45 am

Well I could have sworn it booted with a logo and memory test, but I guess it's been long enough that I got it wrong. It eventually booted just fine.
Sorry for the topic, I guess I just panicked haha
Atari 1040ST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:56 am

shazzner wrote:Well I could have sworn it booted with a logo and memory test, but I guess it's been long enough that I got it wrong. It eventually booted just fine.
Sorry for the topic, I guess I just panicked haha


<TOS104 is just a white screen , >TOS1.6 (STE) boots with the logo.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby Silly_Pony » Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:54 pm

My STE doesn't have a logo. That's a tos 2 thing.
1040STe, 1040STf

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:42 pm

Silly_Pony wrote:My STE doesn't have a logo. That's a tos 2 thing.


I thought that but a thread on AA a guy said logo comes up on 1.6. I've not checked it myself.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby junosix » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:02 pm

Noooo :) I said:
Yeah, 1.6/1.62 doesn't show the logo or do the RAM test, it's TT/Mega STE/Falcon TOS versions that do that. 1.6/1.62 do the rainbow Atari logo under Desktop Info though.

So if it's a TOS 1.x machine you'll get the white screen for 40 seconds, then the desktop.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:52 pm

junosix wrote:Noooo :) I said:
Yeah, 1.6/1.62 doesn't show the logo or do the RAM test, it's TT/Mega STE/Falcon TOS versions that do that. 1.6/1.62 do the rainbow Atari logo under Desktop Info though.

So if it's a TOS 1.x machine you'll get the white screen for 40 seconds, then the desktop.


ahh yep :) Sorry, to many 16hr days for me ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: 1040ST only boots properly with disk in drive

Postby Silly_Pony » Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:18 am

exxos wrote:
Silly_Pony wrote:My STE doesn't have a logo. That's a tos 2 thing.


I thought that but a thread on AA a guy said logo comes up on 1.6. I've not checked it myself.


AA posters aren't all that clued up 90% of the time
1040STe, 1040STf


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests