Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby smoston » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:32 pm

Right click on the a:/ then click format
Should be able to select 720k/1.44mb in the menu on XP
Use an ATARI ST old demo disk not a PC disk

Isn't there a version of TOS that can format msdos disks?

BTW this forum is awesome :D

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby Atari030 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:34 am

Tos 2 or later can do it. Alternatively you can use a third party formatting/copying tool, there are plenty around. Kobold springs to mind.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2677
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby spiny » Thu Sep 03, 2015 9:25 am

FCopy 3 / Pro has good formatting options.

Also, if you need blank 720k disks, I have, quite literally, thousands of them and will happily send out some for the price of postage.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4479
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby joska » Thu Sep 03, 2015 9:39 am

Atari030 wrote:Tos 2 or later can do it.


Floppies formatted on TOS 1.04/1.06x and later is DOS-compatible.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

kola
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:19 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby kola » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:35 am

@Zoll

I think your right mate. With low value items on Ebay they think if its less than a fiver you won't bother. Thing is, they didn't count on how skint I am :lol: :roll:

@Smoston

No you can t do that. Has to be done from the cmd dos thingy. XP took that out. I think 95/98/me (that were all the same) or an early service pack on XP was the last to offer this from the drop down. If only it were that simple :roll:

@030

Thank you, Ill look into KoBold. Im taking it the idea is to format on the Atari and it will work in XP. But I'm also thinking that its no doubt down to this duff floppy disc that it doesn't work anyhow. So either way I need to get something working in place ultimately.

@ Spiny thanks very kind. Ill get up and running first as Id hate to waste your time. I do have disks and usually the sellotape over the left hole normally does the trick.

@ Joska

TOS 104 here mate so it should work. I should note when I have an old XP desktop PC with a built in disk drive I have done this countless times with ease
Highly experimental music for space robots! All made on an ST with not a damned PC in site - yeeeey

kola
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:19 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby kola » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:40 am

PS - DAL, I have PM'd you my address. Not sure if you got it. Not sure I even done it right.

Whislt I am ok with modern computers if I put the effort in and technology as such, I'm a 90s boy and I try so desperately to get back to that lifestyle. So I deliberately choose to ignore technology unless essential. Yes I'm very odd.

So, let me rephrase that. I "think" I PM'd you. :mrgreen:
Highly experimental music for space robots! All made on an ST with not a damned PC in site - yeeeey

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby Dal » Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:18 pm

I got your pm. Disk in the post today.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby smoston » Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:33 pm

Please disregard my posts in this thread. Tried to use the USB floppy in XP and totally failed to format the ST disks as 720k. Memory playing tricks. :( Just bought a sampler cart but need octalyser, maxymiser, musicmon& stspeech. Ne1 can send me? Can paypal postage. Location Cardiff. Recently pulled the STe out of the attic, lovely machine!

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:11 pm

Things are simple: get one floppy in good shape and format it double sided on Atari (TOS 1.04 is OK for DOS format). If disk is HD do that sellotape covering. Then try to open it in Windows. If that works not, USB drive simply supports not 720 KB format - what is DD - double density.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4479
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby joska » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:57 pm

What AtariZoll said. Even if XP won't let you format DD floppies it may be able to read them. I always format floppies on the Atari for this reason. If I format floppies with my USB drive the floppies can't be ready by anything - not even the USB floppy itself ;)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby exxos » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:42 pm

IIRC XP was stuck in 1.44 mode. Win7 64bit crashes when trying to format a floppy :lol: :roll:

Command prompt format a: /t:80 /n:9

and here is a batch file in all its glory...
720k_format_full.zip
Well in zip format as .bat does not seem allowed :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby smoston » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:36 pm

My usb floppy drive works after all. :D :D :D

format a: /t:80 /n:9 works OK from command in XP.

but the disks are old and some of them have bad sectors.

some old demo disks are useless. be careful of what disks you are using. check for bad sectors, format will tell you after you are finished.

tried to use octalyser then realised it doesn't work on b&w monitors at high resolution lol
just ordered a composite cable for atari :D :D

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby troed » Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:26 pm

smoston wrote:tried to use octalyser then realised it doesn't work on b&w monitors at high resolution lol
just ordered a composite cable for atari :D :D


FYI, Audio Sculpture does work in mono. (If you can live with only four voices)

/Troed

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2774
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby alexh » Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:30 pm

Cool that it works.

I fear you will struggle (probably fail) to write disk images were n=10 (i.e. 800k format) which was quite common on the ST. But you never know.

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Those £5 USB Floppy drives any good to get stuff from PC to Atari?

Postby smoston » Sat Sep 12, 2015 7:00 pm

Yeah, finally the AV cable arrived by post. Just tried the ATARI 520STe on the big screen TV. Looks really clear. 16 colours doesn't look bad at all. Octalyser works for 4 channels. 6 or 8 channels makes the screen go weird sadly.

Got some home made drum samples made with analogue synth and 8 bit sampler cartridge. Drums sound great. Sine wave turns into PWM though lol. Need more time to get used to this. Love it though. Atari is awesome. :D

My usb disk drive works now which is useful for editing samples on the PC.

What I need is a 4 channel sample tracker with midi sync.

Audio sculpture has midi + a speech synth? It feels like Christmas day haha.

My neighbours don't seem to enjoy Octalyser as much as I do. It's good to do right by your neighbours. Gonna have to find a private space for tracking lol. :D :D


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests