68020 booster

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:03 pm

I have a Atari MegaSTE too for the 020 Speeder.

What about a Fastram Option Card ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:55 pm

FastRam is also in the plan. We want to have a 100% working board with CPU and 32bit TOS. Then we will have cards on top of this for FastRam (and other idea I have).
For the FastRam we will probably use a 128MB SIMM FPM or EDO (these are cheap and still available). We looked at SRAM to make it easier for us but the price of DRAM is so cheap that we will go through the effort or making a small DRAM controller for it (board is already partially done with schematics and preliminary routing based on the current bus expansion pinout) using a similar CPLD as the one we're using on the main board (Xilinx XC95144XL).
As we're now doing this in VHDL and are still learning (and doing this as a hobby so sometimes we don't have time to work on it) we are still actively developing the code and modifying the board (changing pul-up resistor values, fixing VHDL code to make it ore stable, ...).
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:32 pm

... all greater than 16MB Fastram is good.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: 68020 booster

Postby Methanoid » Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:16 pm

Is this board going to be sold, is there a price and is there a waiting list?

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:13 pm

We plan on open sourcing the whole thing once it all works. As for selling them.. if someone want to manufacture them .. because I don't plan on spending my weekends soldering boards :)
We also have a few extension board that we will deign/prototype/release for this accelerator.
As for a price, I guess the PCB can be made cheaply in China. The CPU can be found on eBay for ~ $30 but there is no new source (aka selling to us, as Tekmos is just ignoring us) for 68020. Prototype board (PCB, component, connectors, PLCC plug, 68020 socket, 68020) cost me about $200 per board.
So I'll say that the finish product using Chinese manufacturer for the PCB can probably be half of this, may be less depending on the quantity.

We still are working on a few issues but we're getting closer to a fully working board. We're still looking into making a V3 prototype (we're at v2.1 :) ) as we might need to add an interrupt controller for expansion board and daisy chain it with the MFP (so it would look like a 2nd MFP, like in a TT) and give us 8 IRQ lines. Nothing solid on that side yet.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:07 pm

So I have been fighting a problem for a few weeks now. One of the GB622 test was not working at all, total screen corruption, super slow.
The test is "VDI Text Effects". If I disable the blitter, the test works.
My MegaSTE has a combo GSTMCU with the integrated blitter. Juliusz has an external blitter and didn't have any issue.
Everything else was working and the machine was very stable (bus at 8MHz, no 16KB cache).
Yesterday I finally got it working. I had to delay the CPU /AS by one 32MHz cycle before using this variable in our general strobe sync VHDL process.
Everything works now and the machine is very stable still.
My guess is that combo chip react faster to /AS then the external Blitter and some data was not quite stable on the bus when the integrated blitter was reading it.
With this solve we're now good to move on the 32 bit TOS (I already have the 2 eprom on my board).
The current result in GB622 :
Display : 151%
CPU : 467%
Average : 224%

As I'll be travelling and out of the country until the end of the month I don't know how much progress we'll make on this but at least we have a stable working base.

Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:19 am

Thanks for the update and the good job!

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:59 pm

We now have 32bit "fast" TOS 2.06 working in our board, with 0 wait states with 68020@32MHz on a STE:

32FT.png


System is very quick and responsive now.
Also blitter works fine, with read operations from fast TOS as well.

Still the design has to be verified on machines with integrated Blitter in the GSTMCU.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: 68020 booster

Postby Methanoid » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:04 pm

Great news.. with Exxos working on new boosters and TerribleFire doing his 020/030 boards for Amiga (also ST I think?) we have some exciting times ahead...

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:50 pm

Fastram over 16MB like the Atari TT Fastram is a must have, I think ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:07 pm

FastRam will be a separate card that goes on the expansion port.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:09 pm

I'm just trying at the time to adapt a old Atari 4/16MB Fastram card from a Atari TT to a PAK68/2. Only problem seems the STERM Signal. I try two 1N1448 Diodes, put the Catode separately to DSACK_0 and DSACK_1 from the MC68020 and the Anode from the two diodes together to the STERM Signal on the Fastram card.

I have no idea whether it works ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:28 pm

STERM is from the card to the CPU. As the 68020 doesnt have STERM you need to use the STERM from the card to generate DSACK0 and DSACK1.
Diodes are probably not going to work here. Also the generated DSACKx need to go tri-state when STERM is HI.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:39 pm

So you mean I must use a 16V8 GAL for that ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby czietz » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:08 pm

Even if diodes didn't work -- I still see no reason why they shouldn't, maybe rpineau can elaborate -- a GAL would be total overkill, given the existence of single gate ("Little Logic") tristate buffers. Note that I think that you got the diode polarity wrong in your description above.

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:19 pm

Diode can probably work (if the polarity is correct). I just prefer to use proper logic gate for this.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:51 pm

Hi everyone.
We now have some very stable working code and we've been testing this for the last 2 weeks and it's very stable.
The same code run on the STE and MegaSTE which is a good thing.
We're now facing the mechanical issue of fitting the card in a STE and closing it.. as we have an expansion port for cards.
On the MegaSTE this is not an issue as there is a lot of space above the card.
On STE .. with our current connector (see image) we can't even close the machine, let alone put a card in it on top of the main cpu board.
So the question is ... what do people want for a STE (and STF which has even less space) ?
Is a simple 32MHz 68020 card with no expansion port enough (so no additional RAM, Video, network, .....) ? Adding some SRAM in 32 bit mode is an option but is fairly costly and will require us to rework the board to be able to fit the component (probably a max of 8MB with Cypress CY62167ELL-45ZXI SRAM as they are 5V devices)
Or do you guys want the card with an expansion port .. which mean re-casing the STE ? (and how would you do that .. PC tower ? ) but will allow for better expansion board (DRAM, ...)
so let us know.

Rodolphe
Picture : http://www.rti-zone.org/images/2017-02-05-3050.png
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:38 am

As Rodolphe was saying, we need your opinion here.
I'm more inclined to simple, no-expansion STE version - that means 020 CPU, fast 32bit TOS, maybe fast RAM (SRAM).
For MSTE, expansions are no problem there.

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:14 am

Since the card itself doesn't fit in the STE, no expansion will fit there either. What if you remove the expansion connectors from the STE version, but leaving its place. If someone wants to recase the STE, he just solder the pin headers in place.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby Maeke » Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:06 pm

expansion ports would be good for me.

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:07 pm

Not installing the bottom connector is a good option as this means no changes in code or PCB for us.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:33 pm

Now for the next question(s) :)
As we plan on having add-on cards, these card could potentially need to trigger some interrupt.
On the STF, Mega ST and STE, IPL5 is available. But on the MSTE it's used by the SCC (Z85C30).
So my idea is to use the VHDL code from Suska for the MFP 68901 to manage interrupt on level 5 (more on this latter for the MSTE).
I already trim down the code to only have the GPIO pin as interrupt source (no more timer or serial port in there, no output on the GPIO). This gives us 8 interrupt pin that will be wired as IRQ0 to IRQ7 on the expansion port. It as not easy to make this fit in a XC95144XL but for now it does.. even though this hasn't been tested yet so I might have broke it :).
Anyway.. As this is based on the MFP I plan on having it at the same address as the TT MFP and use the same interrupt vector range from $140 to $17c.
I might fix the vector register (which would save more space) and fix the bit of the interrupt vector register to 1 (software terminated interrupt) as this is what the TOS sets by default on the ST and TT for the MFP so people are already used to this.
So this would allow 8 level on interrupt mapped to level 5.
As on the MSTE it's used by the SCC we will have to daisy chain this interrupt controller and the SCC using the /IEI pin (the SCC allows this as well as the MFP)... which mean 1 wire has to be soldered on a pin of the SCC ... which is in a PLCC socket (at least on my MSTE). So it will be a wire to the /IEO pin of the SCC (pin 7) which is currently not connected to anything (so we can't find it anywhere but on the SCC socket or the SCC itself).

The other option is to not have an interrupt controller and let cards deal with interrupt vectors and checking if there is an interrupt in progress before triggering a new one (still has to be level 5). The goal here is to make it easier to build add-on card by putting as much of the logic as possible on the CPU card.

So.. what do you guys think ?
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:46 am

One vote for the "one wire to solder" option. Seems to me, it also reduces costs (of the add-on cards). It affects the MSTE only, right?

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:06 pm

Yes this only affect the MSTE.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12457
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:57 pm

If it goes 32 MHz, then it will be like the TT, so the extra peripherals will be great to have... extra memory, IDE & network comes to mind.
You can run Mint properly on it then.
But I only have a 520STFM... so chances of theses are less in such small space.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests