LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:20 am

Hi all,

I have put my hands on a NEC Multisync1550M LCD monitor.
According to this post, it should work with ST low/mid color resolutions: http://cbm-hackers.2304266.n4.nabble.co ... 18425.html
(also commented here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9tIqrlU4NU )

So i was wondering if someone around here would already have successfully used this monitor model on his ST, for all resolutions?
Also if someone would know what kind of cable i should build for plugging the ST on it, working with color modes?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1735
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:53 am

... only to use for ST High !

See the Specs -> google -> NEC Multisync 1550M specs

31,5kHZ - 60kHZ
Last edited by frank.lukas on Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1735
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:59 am

Look for a TFT (LCD) TV with Scart and VGA Input ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby bullis1 » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:31 am

frank.lukas wrote:... only to use for ST High !

See the Specs -> google -> NEC Multisync1550M specs

31,5kHZ - 60kHZ

The offical spec sheet does not list the full range. It can actually scan much lower.

Unfortunately I have no cable advice for you dma. I have used one of these monitors in the past but it wasn't with an ST.
Member of the Atari Legend team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1735
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:48 am

fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:01 pm

Thanks for the replies.

Frank : The specific thread post i linked says that this screen supports 15khz although it is not listed in the official specs.

User avatar
delvis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Leander, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby delvis » Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:13 am

Best Electronics has this cable coming back into inventory.

CB102582-6 Universal Multi Sync Monitor cable
Delvis
Atari User since 1982
400 / 800/ 1200XL / 800XL /65XE / 130XE
520ST / 1040ST / MegaST4

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby KLund1 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:16 am

dma
Just hook it up and see if it works, Then let us know what happens. b/w-hi-rez should work, but wee are all looking for LCD's that work in Color-Res's
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:48 am

I checked the web for multi-synchro cables schematics and found two on the following page : http://atari4ever.free.fr/
http://atari4ever.free.fr/hardware/zip/monswitc.zip
http://atari4ever.free.fr/hardware/zip/necii.zip

Has anyone built one of those for working with a LCD monitor?

User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby atari_mark » Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:35 pm

frank.lukas wrote:Look for a TFT (LCD) TV with Scart and VGA Input ...

I have one but it does not work with my Atari STe. The model is an LG Flatron M1721TA but I can't get a picture using Scart.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:42 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby Scarlettkitten » Wed Sep 25, 2013 7:37 pm

I have a 1550M and it does work with the st in low and med res, the monitors res goes down to 640x200 & 15KHz and displays both resolutions full screen. quite nice quality too.
Music gear
Falcon 030 14MB, Cubase Audio, Soundpool FA8,FDI, MAudio 88 keystation, Roland S750, Yamaha A5000, Roland JV1080, Yamaha MG10, 1040STE, ZX Spectrum 128k.

https://soundcloud.com/softkitty123

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:55 am

Scarlettkitten wrote:I have a 1550M and it does work with the st in low and med res, the monitors res goes down to 640x200 & 15KHz and displays both resolutions full screen. quite nice quality too.

Many thanks for your report! I'm glad to hear your confirmation about this screen working fine with ST low.

Which cable have you used? One home-built or bought? If built, from which plans/schematics?

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:42 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby Scarlettkitten » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:57 am

Its a simple VGA cable that i cut one connector off and wired straight to an ST 13pin din, RGB, H sync, V sync and gnd.
Music gear
Falcon 030 14MB, Cubase Audio, Soundpool FA8,FDI, MAudio 88 keystation, Roland S750, Yamaha A5000, Roland JV1080, Yamaha MG10, 1040STE, ZX Spectrum 128k.

https://soundcloud.com/softkitty123

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:33 am

Scarlettkitten wrote:Its a simple VGA cable that i cut one connector off and wired straight to an ST 13pin din, RGB, H sync, V sync and gnd.

Wow really that simple?

So no need for the following kind of switchable interface to make the screen work with lo/hi resolutions?

Code: Select all

╔════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
║                     MULTISYNC SWITCH CABLE on Atari ST/E               ║
║                                                                        ║
║  How build a humble "cable" to connect your ST to a multisync monitor  ║
║           and switching from MONO to COLOR in a flash!                 ║
║                                                                        ║
║  By Marcello Vezzelli - Thanks to Ivo Elmi for testing...              ║
Ã────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────Â
║  This came from                                                        ║
║   THE ST HARDWARE HACK PAGE                                            ║
║   http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Way/8016                      ║
╚════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

Hi to all,
it's so boring having to switch between the two monitors... plug, unplug,
replug, reunplug... so, for those who can afford a multisync monitor,
this is a simple project which eliminates this boredom.

If you have a multisync monitor, e.g. Nec MultiSync 3D, you can build this
simple cable, that allows you to switch between mono and color without
disconnecting and reconnecting (hey, your monitor is a multisync, so it can
display both mono and colour...)

*************************** WARNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ***********************

THIS SWITCH WAS DONE FOR A NEC MULTISYNC 3D. IT MAY NOT WORK WITH ANOTHER
KIND OF MONITOR. BE SURE YOUR MONITOR HAS THE SAME CONNECTIONS OF THOSE
SHOWN BELOW. (They just are standard VGA connections.)

It's not my fault if your switch doesn't work of if you destroy your monitor.
I'm not responsible of the content of this DOC.
If nobody alter this text, I assure you that connection works with the NEC 3D
(if you do all well!!). You do this interface at your own risk.
I'm using now this cable with my NEC 3D with no problems at all.

***************************************************************************

Once you're warned, here's the project:

You need:

- A Multisync monitor. NEC 3d or Commodore 1960 just works great.
  The monitor you choose MUST accept horizontal frequencies between 15Khz
  and 35Khz. The critical one is 15Khz (it's the color mode). If your monitor
  can't handle correctly 15Khz, YOU'RE STUCK IN MONO MODE.
  If you're not sure about monitor capabilities, try before buy!
  Some monitors are dual-frequency... avoid them!
  Some others have a trimmer for H-freq... if you don't mind tweaking every
  time you change rez, buy one of these... (try before! No one assures that
  can handle 15Khz!)
  Forget CGA, EGA, Hercules and Macintosh monitors. :-/

- 1 quadruple switch (two positions, four separated lines, for a total of 12
  contacts)

- a 100 ohm trimmer

- a metallic box, or instead, a shielded plastic box

- a 15-pin female connector (standard vga)

- an Atari monitor connector (13 pin, see your manual for details)

- about 2 metres of 8-wires shielded cable

****  Are you ready? Let's start!

1) Cut the cable in two parts. The shorter the cable, the best. One part goes
   from the ST to the switch box. Other part goes from switch box to VGA
   connector of the monitor.

2) Solder the cable shield to the metallic part of the ST monitor connector.

3) Solder a wire in each of this pin of the Atari monitor connector:

 4,6,7,9,10,11,12,13 (see your manual, or this scheme, or whatever :)

 Monitor socket seen from the back of your Atari:

        4  3  2  1
        8  7  6  5
        12 11 10 9
            13

 You can't miss it! Better if you note down the corrispondence between
 colours and pin numbers.

4) Now take the switch. It look like that (it's the back!):
   Let's name the pins.
   
        |-----------|
        |A1 A2 A3 A4|
        |           | > Mono
        |I1 I2 I3 I4|
        |           | > Color
        |B1 B2 B3 B4|
        |-----------|

5) Drill two holes in the box, one in front of the other.
   Or if you like, both holes in a side.

6) Insert here the two pieces of cable.
   In one of this you've just soldered the Atari socket.
   It should look like this:

                       ----------------         Atari Socket
                       |              |             /-------|
  To multisync ********|**    X     **|*********OOOOE       |   to Atari
                       |              |             \-------|
                       ---------------- 
                              ^                       
                           This is
                         the switch (X)

  Or like this:

                                                  Atari Socket
                       ----------------             /-------|
                       |            **|*********OOOOE       |   to Atari
                       |      X       |             \-------|
                       |            **|*********To Multisync
                       ----------------
                              ^                       
                           This is
                         the switch (X)
 

7) Now solder: (number refers to ST connector)

 7-B2  6-B3  10-B4 (These are the RGB signal);

 11-central pin of the trimmer
 
 left (or right, it's the same) pin of the trimmer-A2-A3-A4;

 
 Maybe you'll need a short naked wire to solder all the three pin altogheter.

 4-A1 (this is the monochrome detect)
 
 13-I1 (this is the ground).

 
8) Now let's work around the vga socket.

 Solder togheter pins: (the pin numbers are in the back of the socket, so
 you can't make mistakes...)

 4-6-7-8-10-11 with the pin 13 of the Atari socket (all this pins are ground)
 or to the cable shield;

9) Then solder (always speaking about VGA socket):

 1-I2  2-I3  3-I4 (these are R/G/B signals) 

 Ok, the switch is almost ready... now let's connect other signals:
 The first number refer to ATARI SOCKET, the second to VGA SOCKET (be careful!)
 (you have to connect directly the wires together)

 12-14 (this is V-Sync)
 
 9-13 (this is H-Sync)

 
10) Solder the two cable shields together...

                   *********  F I N I S H E D ! ! ! **********

Fit the switch on the upper side of the box, drilling a hole.

Check connections you've made: be sure you haven't made a mistake. It's not
 so difficult...

Everything ok? Let's plug and go!!!

Turn on both monitor and computer, and, depending from the position of the
 switch, you're in mono o in colour mode. Adjust the screen using the monitor
 controls: you should see quite a good and sharp picture.

If you are in mono mode, let's adjust the trimmer: turn the trimmer left or
 right until you find a good light contrast.

If you cannot see anything in your monitor something went wrong (BLEACH).
Check connections or adjust the monitor (maybe brightness was setted to zero).

Try the other position of the switch. The computer resets and you have
changed resolution. Adjust the monitor... done!!!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you have a NEC multisync 3D, you can "save" the screen configuration,
using a switch. Very very very handy!!! (refer to monitor manual...)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

*****************************************************************************
If you still have some troubles, don't hexitate, mail me!
vezz@geocities.com
*****************************************************************************

That's all folk!!! See ya later....

Ciao, Marcello. (From Modena, Italy)

P.S.: not so a good English... but it should be readable. :-)

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:42 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby Scarlettkitten » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:25 pm

You will still need to install a switch if you want to use mono.
Music gear
Falcon 030 14MB, Cubase Audio, Soundpool FA8,FDI, MAudio 88 keystation, Roland S750, Yamaha A5000, Roland JV1080, Yamaha MG10, 1040STE, ZX Spectrum 128k.

https://soundcloud.com/softkitty123

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: LCD monitor for ST : NEC Multisync1550M OK?

Postby dma » Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:33 am

OK, everything is clear for me now.
Many thanks Scarlettkitten!


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests