Mega STE Noob

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
busybee
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:45 pm

Mega STE Noob

Postby busybee » Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:08 am

Heyllo all,

The hard drive, of the MSTE that I just bought, died later the same day!!
Anywho, would either of these drives work well with my MSTE?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Quantum ... 232ed16cf4

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Quantum ... 485915abfe

They should work fine right, even if they were originally used in Apples?

Thanks all!!!! And have a great weekend!! :D :D

Guest

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby Guest » Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:46 am

died??? does it still spin up???

you can use either drive you mentioned and just format it before you partition it

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby Mal7921 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:40 am

Myy Mega STE has grown temperamental with age and occasionally will not see the hard drive. I suspect it is the SCSI adapter that works loose as re-seating everything generally works.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby AtariZoll » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:16 am

busybee wrote:Heyllo all,

The hard drive, of the MSTE that I just bought, died later the same day!!
Anywho, would either of these drives work well with my MSTE?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Quantum ... 232ed16cf4

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Quantum ... 485915abfe

They should work fine right, even if they were originally used in Apples?

Thanks all!!!! And have a great weekend!! :D :D


Never buy so old drives. They have low capacity, and expect short life-time. Additionally, they will not work with Mega STE, because it needs SCSI drive where can disable parity. And I did not hear about Quantum drives where it is possible.

I can recommend as best choice some IBM SCSI drive of 2GB, or 1GB if can find. There is parity disable jumper on them, and I have 2 such drives, which work still fine.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby SteveBagley » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:38 am

AtariZoll wrote:Never buy so old drives. They have low capacity, and expect short life-time. Additionally, they will not work with Mega STE, because it needs SCSI drive where can disable parity. And I did not hear about Quantum drives where it is possible.


My old STe hard drive back in the 1990s (supplied by Compo) was a Quantum Lightning drive, and the MegaSTE I got off eBay came with a (supposedly) non-working Quantum Lightning 540MB drive inside it, which has worked fine since I disabled the parity on it. The problem though is that you have to disable the parity in software over the SCSI bus. Now HDDriver will happily do this but it needs to be able to talk to the drive, and to talk to the drive it needs parity disabled… I got around this by hooking the drive up to my Falcon externally and disabling parity with HDDriver that way before popping it back into the MegaSTE where it works fine.

I do wonder whether the problem with this MegaSTEs hard drive is also related to parity. Busybee, do you have another machine with a SCSI bus (and capable of handling parity) you can hook this up to to check it with?

Steve

User avatar
busybee
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:45 pm

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby busybee » Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:11 pm

SteveBagley wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:Never buy so old drives. They have low capacity, and expect short life-time. Additionally, they will not work with Mega STE, because it needs SCSI drive where can disable parity. And I did not hear about Quantum drives where it is possible.


My old STe hard drive back in the 1990s (supplied by Compo) was a Quantum Lightning drive, and the MegaSTE I got off eBay came with a (supposedly) non-working Quantum Lightning 540MB drive inside it, which has worked fine since I disabled the parity on it. The problem though is that you have to disable the parity in software over the SCSI bus. Now HDDriver will happily do this but it needs to be able to talk to the drive, and to talk to the drive it needs parity disabled… I got around this by hooking the drive up to my Falcon externally and disabling parity with HDDriver that way before popping it back into the MegaSTE where it works fine.

I do wonder whether the problem with this MegaSTEs hard drive is also related to parity. Busybee, do you have another machine with a SCSI bus (and capable of handling parity) you can hook this up to to check it with?

Steve


Nope, no other pc with scsi. However, I have reseated the drive, physically disconnected and reconnected the drive...lightly tapped on it with a screwdriver,...powers on but, neither the MSTE, hddriver, or scsi tools even see the drive.

So what drive should I be looking for to replace this one?

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby nativ » Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:50 pm

Apart from using partition sizes that were too large! I have had some success using oversized drives 9,1gb 18gb + 15k spin, SCSI 3 80 pin with an 80>50pin adapter on my Falcon. I'll be trying this shortly with an ST.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby paul92706 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:05 am

nativ wrote:Apart from using partition sizes that were too large! I have had some success using oversized drives 9,1gb 18gb + 15k spin, SCSI 3 80 pin with an 80>50pin adapter on my Falcon. I'll be trying this shortly with an ST.

Hi nativ, i would love to know how you got that combo to work? i tried and it was a failure :oops:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:15 pm

I had success with using Fuji / Compaq 18GB 10K spin speed drives with a 80->50pin adapter on my Falcons as well. I also put the drives inside those silent enclosures, to eliminate the hard drive noise completely. They can be easily obtained from Ebay for under £10. http://www.quietpc.com/quietdrive

I was using this setup in conjunction with Steinberg Cubase Audio, so I was forced to use HDDriver v7.93 but it worked fine. I never worked out how to get CompactFlash cards to work in place of the internal IDE drive with this driver, so I had to use a 2.5" laptop drive. However that was well enclosed and insulated so it was totally silent.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby paul92706 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:04 pm

Hi shredder, i wish i could see how you did that. Anyhow did you have problems with termination? Im having problems with my 1040Ste and AdSci, its for some reason not reconizing my Quantum Scsi HD. It may be a termination problem.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Mega STE Noob

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:50 pm

I forget how I did it now cable and jumper wise, but I think I may have put a CD writer at the end of the chain after the hard drive with its termination jumper set to on. I am not clued up enough on SCSI methods of connection, but I understand the basics I think.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests