Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Postby NikiforosST » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:31 pm

Where did you read that it's not safe? i use this cable many many times, for a long time i haven't any problems. I don't think that the scart can hurt ST circuits. But if you want to use ST on TV better use the original scart cable. This cable doesn't work right on HDMI upscaller i don't know why. If something would have a problem i believe this must be the shifter chip. It's on a base i have another 2 chips, one from my old mobo and i buyed another one, because i thought that this was the problem in my old mobo, but it wasn't the shifter chip.

This : "For connecting ST straight on LCD TV set did i understand you really mean to mix (H+V Sync) via 2*170 Ohms resistors and then plugging result signal simultaneously on SCART pin 20 AND pin 16" i mean that yes, i put the signal on the pin 20 and i have bridge it with pin 16. If you haven't ANY problems with MC1377 chip and CVS-RF signals are ok, i suggest DO NOT use the scart this way, it's better to use the original scart. This solution is only if we have problems and we can't have Composite SYNC in Atari pin 2 output on 13pin connector. I don't use this scart anymore, i use ONLY the HDMI upscaller to my LED monitor and it is working perfectly.

oddbox
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Postby oddbox » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:50 pm

NikiforosST wrote:hi again! the model is this: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/SCART-HDMI-to-HD ... 2ecccb6662 and http://www.ebay.ie/itm/gib-Lenkeng-LKV3 ... 27d963764c i believe all models can work too. I found the schematic with the scart cable from my friend Anemos, i check the registors now i have 1kohm in pin16 and 2 X 510 ohms in pin20, check the schematic below. We had tried many combinations ONLY these in the draw working. This scart doesn't work in my 32" TFT TV i see a black screen, it works only with scart to HDMI upscaller, i don't know why, but it doesn't matter.


Hi, the links above aren't active anymore. Is the one you use the same as one of these?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/220976911103
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/120810802514

Thanks

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Postby NikiforosST » Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:36 am

Hi! i have like this one here http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Ex-Pro-AV-Pro-Sc ... 4d2d875b1f
i believe that all the others can do the job too! :D

oddbox
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Postby oddbox » Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:35 pm

Thanks, NikiforosST! :-)
I've currently got a GBS-8200 I'm trying to get a picture through, but not seen any signal yet. Beginning to wonder if any of my experimentations have damaged the ST. :-/ (it lights up, the disk doesn't seem to spin up.) Waiting for a new scart-cable in the mail, since I killed the old one while trying to get a signal with the 8200.
I've tried both making a sync cleaner and a sync mixer but I might have misunderstood the diagrams.

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=17153&start=100#p203262

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWNmwo9fb_A

Too bad the XRGB-mini is so expensive. And even the one you mentioned, looks like it will cost me £60+ due to import tax and vat.
From reading http://retrogaming.hazard-city.de/ I understand that the cheap (sub £100) solutions mostly treat a 240p signal as if it was 480i.
Has anyone found anything that don't do that, and costs under £150? And works with an STe!

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Atari STe to LCD (via Scart) question

Postby NikiforosST » Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:53 pm

in my case only the modification scart works well on my STFM, i haven't any problems.
Is the test B schematic here made by Anemos : http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x207 ... 922d18.png
the other one does not work for me!
I must say that this scart isn't work on TV'S!!!! works ONLY for HDMI upscaller, be careful!


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests