Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby Shredder11 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:55 pm

AtariLikerMan0 wrote:
Or, if you want something classier, these suggest themselves. I haven't used these though:

RGB-VGA, apparently good for Amiga and Atari: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/15Khz-RGB-YUV ... 484611c041



These have been tried before by people on here but are apparently a little flawed, possibly with the medium resolutions. Maybe others will see this thread and comment.

AtariLikerMan0
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby AtariLikerMan0 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:18 pm

I suppose they are unless you get something more expensive or get busy with soldering irons and schematics. Main thing is to just get them going well enough with pocket money boxes. And they actually get better all the time.

A vital need is to have computer video displayed without CRT buzz picked up on the mikes or signal cables. For fuss free display now, I ironically use a PC running Steem for best results, bolted to the wall by my keyboards as it is.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4431
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby joska » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:23 pm

Shredder11 wrote:True joska but there were some long topics on this back in 2009 with only partial solutions at best.


I have one of these and it displays both low, medium (SCART) and high (VGA) resolutions just fine. It doesn't work properly with my Amstrad CPC's, but that applies to all LCD TV's I've tested.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby Dark Willow » Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:38 pm

Speaking of converter boxes and whatnot, does anyone know if these work at outputting TT-High to a modern LCD? I have an Akura LCD that has RGB inputs. Has anyone tried it? Any joy?
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby Silly_Pony » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:23 pm

As simbo pointed out:

Just get something -ANYTHING- with SCART IN and HDMI out. Use a HDMI to VGA cable. Job done.
1040STe, 1040STf

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby DarkLord » Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:53 am

Unless you live in the US... :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:04 pm

We can get SCART here if we specifically ask for European models.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby Silly_Pony » Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:19 am

DarkLord wrote:Unless you live in the US... :(


How's that a problem? A lot of stuff like TV tuners etc is 9v or 12v DC with a power brick. Just ebay it.
1040STe, 1040STf

Guest

Re: Monitor question - modern or authentic?

Postby Guest » Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:46 pm

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=s ... &_from=R40

here is an ebay link
i used sky box spares search string
you can also look for sky box spares or repairs
you'll also find boxes made by amstrad etc so just type in to google its make / model
to see what i/o's it has
your looking for scart {most often called DVD input} in HDMI/VGA out atleast...

youll find many 'broken' things go for like 99p + post
so far ive had about 15 or so laptops people usually strip out the hdd and sometimes the ram
i think i sold one of them for 200 quid once i fixed its dram that had a few risen pins
i see one there today in the box never tested but you only need it as a converter and at this task its good
and youll really mostly need a skybox with rgb hdmi lcd computer monitors
as most TV LCD will have a scart
except in places like the USA where scart isnt a standard


http://www.flashback-computing.com/scre ... 0scart.jpg

but most lcd TV has a rgb input 19pin VGA type so you can use it for hires via the same or another cable
http://jlgconsult.pagesperso-orange.fr/ ... -res_Cable


i dont have the time to sit and draw out a single atari plug to both lcd tv vga for hires
and dvd input via scart for hdmi to the lcd via the sky box etc
even most TV's with RGB SCART HMDI input will scale nice if you adjust the aspect ratio of the tv
so no need of a sky box
as is not the case with LCD computer monitors
so a box is a good idea with these

some tv's have just rgb or hdmi ie no scart in so you would need to convert for low and med res using skybox method
but you end up with a very crisp picture the skybox does a good job
far better than most lcd do when scaling scart to the picture
becouse you can also pre determine the scaling at the skybox

to finish and its the last time ill say it

these chinese converter boards are terrible and avoid them like the plague
i learned years ago you cannot pollish a turd


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests