Missing chip?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Missing chip?

Postby carlywhoo » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:42 am

Just discovered that on another of my STe motherboards it's got a large square chip missing. On two of my boards there's a chip on square block labelled "U101".
Its got on it -
9022NTD
C101643
©Atari 1989
-31 160611-01.
On 3rd board, chip is missing.
It starts ok and works fine (as far as l can tell).
Just wondering why it's missing and what's it's purpose is?

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2767
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby alexh » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:04 am

That is the Blitter.

As this chip was optional on the STfm it is likely that if software does not detect it then it falls back to software routines which is why it works.

However as all STe's were shipped with a blitter, some STe software may crash if the Blitter is absent.

As to why it is missing, perhaps it was robbed to upgrade an STfm?

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: Missing chip?

Postby ralcool » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:25 am

After it was it was discovered that bit shifting was highly unstable and threatened local time/space.

All quantum level silicon based 'chip' shifting of atoms is banned for US export until further notice. :contract:

Existing such 'blitter' devices where installed- may be operated by qualified users. Use at least an aluminium hat.

Beware of temporal shift. Bright colours, images of the past. Bad chip music.

.....

Seriously- it isn't missing, it got absorbed into into one of those big ones in late models. The 'old' position on the board remains tho..lazy/cheap/save for future use.....

ST.
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2767
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby alexh » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:26 pm

Ah yes. It got absorbed into the C302183 Glue chip

carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Missing chip?

Postby carlywhoo » Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:28 am

So is machine actually a STfm, rather than a STe? :?:
"SysInfo" and "Profile" are reporting that it's a STe.
The badges (top and underneath) are saying the same.
Is it worth taking a chip off one of the other STe's and soldering it onto the working machine? :?:
All of the software that I've put back onto Hard Drive is working.
So do I really need "Blitter"?

carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Missing chip?

Postby carlywhoo » Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:37 am

So is machine actually a STfm, rather than a STe? :?:
"SysInfo" and "Profile" are reporting that it's a STe.
The badges (top and underneath) are saying the same.
Is it worth taking a chip off one of the other STe's and soldering it onto the working machine? :?:
All of the software that I've put back onto Hard Drive is working.
So do I really need "Blitter" chip?
Using Magic v5 and Jinnee, if that makes any difference?

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4383
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby DarkLord » Sun Apr 22, 2012 7:03 am

No, its an STe.

As Sean indicated, later models of the STe had the blitter chip incorporated into
the other chip. That is what results in the empty socket.

You're fine, all is well - enjoy your STe. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12801
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:27 pm

Just check if you have those extra digital joystick ports on the left hand side.
The ST does not have those ports while the STE has.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2577
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby charles » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:01 am

i can check , im inorth america and might have a spare blitter

tell me what you need and ii will go get my spares and extra container

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
Nikolas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Missing chip?

Postby Nikolas » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:39 am

I install blitter into my UK version stfm, and it can smooth up games too :)
If you guys expirience hardware problems.
1. Always remove chips if possible before soldering.
2. Resolder your hardware, check cables too.
3. If problem continue THEN must be faulty software.

I got 2 Atari ST
Main is stfm, with blitter, with 4 meg of ram, with 16mhz cpu + s-video and audio input to videobox, vdi out
P.S.
My english may not be correct

carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Missing chip?

Postby carlywhoo » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:32 am

Had a proper look at chips on motherboard.
By look of things, it's a newer board than I had previously.
Chips on other boards are dated 1988/1989.
The chips on the motherboard with the missing "Blitter" chip are dated 1990/1991.
So happier days, I guess.
And yes, Wongck, motherboard does have "those extra digital joystick ports on the left hand side."


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests