Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby carlywhoo » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:49 am

I took a spare STe apart that I was given, ages ago.
I noticed that there's two wires coming from Goldstar chip.
One goes to a Yamaha chip which I'm guessing is something to do with sound.
The other lead goes another chip, which has pins bent upwards on it.

I can't remember if the M/B works. Just wondered if any one knows why would someone wire up the chips like that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Arne » Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:10 am

Someone else on a German forum with a 1040STE reported about the same/a similar patch. The Yamaha is responsible for doing sound, the parallel printer port (in conjunction with MFP IIRC) and for generating SideSelect and DriveSelect signals for both floppy drives.
The "Goldstar" chip is just a 74LS164 shift register - pretty COTS.
So it seems to be an original patch done by Atari I guess.
Arne
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby carlywhoo » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:58 am

I don't have this patch in my other STe's though.
And what does the Goldstar chip do exactly (in laymans terms).
carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby 1024MAK » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:07 am

carlywhoo wrote:I don't have this patch in my other STe's though.
And what does the Goldstar chip do exactly (in laymans terms).

This may help a bit... http://www.interfacebus.com/ic-4-bit-sh ... -chip.html (have a read through, but note that the "8-Bit Shift Register IC" is the bit about the Goldstar 74LS164 shift register).
Its exact function very much depends on how the circuit is wired...
Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's)
User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:28 pm

I don't know why the mod is done but i could guess it is Atari that missed some traces on the PCB and had to fix them after manufacturing :)

My Atari STE does also have those wires and also a wire on the LMC1992 connecting it with the quad op amp 5v-pin.
Here is a pic of my Atari STE PCB: http://www.ym2149.com/atariste_pcb.jpg
Image
User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Cyprian » Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:12 pm

first wire is connected to PSG clock input pin "Clock <- 2MHz"
second one is connected to MFP TAI - Timer A clock input.
Image

Stefan jL wrote:...My Atari STE does also have those wires...

mine STE too
TT030 / Falcon030 / Mega STe / 1040 STe / 520 STm / 65 XE / 800XL
CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
Cyprian
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby carlywhoo » Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:01 am

Cyprian_K wrote:first wire is connected to PSG clock input pin "Clock <- 2MHz"
second one is connected to MFP TAI - Timer A clock input.


But why?
carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Dal » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:59 am

likely reason is that those tracks are missing on that particular revision of the board. The decision to patch the boards may have been for a number of reasons for example:
1. Supply of boards were too low for demand, so rather than take the board back through a design and testing phase, they added an additional step in the production phase.
2. They may have spotted this problem during production. There are already board manufactured so a small patch is better than trashing a bunch of boards and introducing more delays by going back to design.
3. It's entirely possible that the changes they made to that rev of board couldn't allow for those traces. So they deliberately 'hacked' it with some wires.
4. They used a slightly different shift register to the one they designed the board for meaning that differences in the pinouts had to be accounted for late in the day.

If you compare that board against your other STE, check the rev numbers and also chip used in U211 for differences. This would give the best indication.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3176
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Cyprian » Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:25 am

below you can find serial numbers for STE with patch and w/o patch, and on the image we can see a pattern - STE with two chips below SIMM are patched, and in case of three chips patch is not applied

Without Path:
3392 1991 CA401177
1690 1989 CA4003290
2690 1989 CA4003290

Pathed:
3290 1989 CA4003290
4489 1989 CA4003290

Image
TT030 / Falcon030 / Mega STe / 1040 STe / 520 STm / 65 XE / 800XL
CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
Cyprian
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby dml » Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:51 pm

My STE board also has this mod. The board is marked: GX-211 / VO 4089 / REV ____ / 1989 / CA4003290

I guess one way to find out what it's for, is to remove it and test a bunch of audio, floppy and HD access etc. to see what breaks :)


The 74x164 (8-bit, serial-in, parallel-out shift register) chip is connected between the CLOCK pin on the sound chip and the TR (DMA Transmit Ready) pin on the MFP (multifunction peripheral) chip - and one connection to the chip it's sitting on top of (U211). I didn't check the 74164 pinout, but given that this 'mod' has so few connections, it's probably not being used as a shift register. It's being used as a clock divider, and stealing a clock then dividing to a few kHz it to feed something else.

The original STE schematic shows the TR pin on the MFP to be unconnected, and I don't remember the MFP having any DMA capabilities in the ST line.... So it seems reasonable that the 'fault', whatever it is, is either the clock feed to the the YM2149 or something to do with U211.
User avatar
dml
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby dml » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:08 pm

...actually I should have realized that the shift register can't be a divider, but rather an artificial delay - there's something on this page about it (in French):

http://hxc2001.free.fr/yaquoidedans/ata ... index.html

...purpose is still a bit of a mystery though.
User avatar
dml
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby Stefan jL » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:20 pm

I have heard some STE's had a bad DMA chip... maybe this i s a kind of fix for that?
Image
User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby ralcool » Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:28 pm

No... not nothing to do the bad DMA issues..... @dml has the idea. Its a botch job.

Detailed comparison between the STFM schematics and STE shows an unusual wiring alteration to TA1 by instead being connected back to the IO0 output of the same MFP (& incidently the #Busy signal of the parallel port), to partly now controlled by 'XSINT' from the new GSTMCU.... In addition to the Mono detect signal. The French documents suggest a small timing extension. But the STE has many unanswered questions.....

From my examination, it is to do with Timer A as previously explained... but Atari was controlling it differently now with the GSTMCU- that didn't quite meet spec with the old motorola MFP.
Seemingly it had to do with monochrome (or colour... regardless that signal is used).. so perhaps a minor timing bug somewhere in the GSTMCU & Timer A in different graphics modes.???

They delayed (or extended) it through a incorrectly wired gate- that had to be patched post production to sell it. Rushed engineers I guess. The chip has no other purpose.

ST :cheers:

Edit I found this in the hardware register....

########User Assigned Interrupt Vectors ######

-------+----------------------------------------------------------------+-----

$000100|ST-MFP-0 - Centronics busy |SD

$000104|ST-MFP-1 - RS-232 DCD |SD

$000108|ST-MFP-2 - RS-232 CTS |SD

$00010C|ST-MFP-3 - Blitter done |SD

$000110|ST-MFP-4 - Timer D (USART timer) |SD

$000114|ST-MFP-5 - Timer C (200hz Clock) |SD

$000118|ST-MFP-6 - Keyboard/MIDI (ACIA) |SD

$00011C|ST-MFP-7 - FDC/HDC |SD

$000120|ST-MFP-8 - Timer B (HBL) |SD

$000124|ST-MFP-9 - Send Error |SD

$000128|ST-MFP-10 - Send buffer empty |SD

$00012C|ST-MFP-11 - Receive error |SD

$000130|ST-MFP-12 - Receive buffer full |SD

$000134|ST-MFP-13 - Timer A (STe sound) |SD

$000138|ST-MFP-14 - RS-232 Ring detect |SD

$00013C|ST-MFP-15 - GPI7 - Monochrome Detect |SD

$000140|TT-MFP-0 - GPI 0 |SD

$000144|TT-MFP-1 - GPI 1 |SD

$000148|TT-MFP-2 - SCC-DMA Controller |SD

$00014C|TT-MFP-3 - Ring Indicator SCC B |SD

$000150|TT-MFP-4 - Timer D |SD

$000154|TT-MFP-5 - Timer C |SD

$000158|TT-MFP-6 - (Reserved) GPI 4 |SD

$00015C|TT-MFP-7 - SCSI DMA Controller |SD

$000160|TT-MFP-8 - Timer B |SD

$000164|TT-MFP-9 - Send Error |SD

$000168|TT-MFP-10 - Send buffer empty |SD

$00016C|TT-MFP-11 - Receive error |SD

$000170|TT-MFP-12 - Receive buffer full |SD

$000174|TT-MFP-13 - Timer A |SD

$000176|TT-MFP-14 - TT Clock (MC146818A) |SD

$00017C|TT-MFP-15 - TT-SCSI Drive Controller NCR 5380 |SD

$000180|SCC Interrupt |SD

$0001BC|SCC Interrupt |SD

$0001C0|User Defined, Unused |SD

: | : : : | :

$0003FC|User Defined, Unused |SD

-------+----------------------------------------------------------------+-----


Might explain why its been redirected and driven by the GSTMCU...
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby 1024MAK » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:05 pm

Jumping in without any research, (I.E. a wild guess :mrgreen: ), could it have anything to do with the switching of the 32MHz clock when using the Genlock? (linky)

Mark
Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's)
User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: Wires connected to goldstar and yamaha chips.

Postby ralcool » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:19 pm

You're right.. The Mono detect & Previously GP0 output is exchanged for 'Genlock input', they are fed to a 74S257 chip, clocked with 32Mhz.

Generating a new 'MonoMon' signal sent almost to IO7 (like a normal ST mono detect pin.. but different, also altered with interupts from XSint).. And still with added logic for TA1 problems.

Assuming I'm right.

Far too late.. I'm off to bed.

ST.
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests