Atari Mega STE trying to make to back to life

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

enito
Atari freak
Atari freak

Atari Mega STE trying to make to back to life

Postby enito » Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:57 am

Hi,

a new experience i have, i received a Mega Ste. The PSU was goosed, some caps and diodes blow, i repaired and good new life works ! now the next step and bad thing, the megaste no back to life. I connect to a SM monitor and no get nothing, black screen, the hd spin with power on but no activity (led off). I suspect something bad in the start of machine, im a little newbie in electronic, but what can be the steps for check? in the board, some test of voltages or something? Photos, yep, i put someones in flickr here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/65389512@N ... 149168769/

This mega ste include a expansion card, is like a PC emulator or something, i removed and moved the jumper for work without expansion, and too no boot :(

I hope i can back to life, greets and thx for your time for reading,

add: I tested with SC color one monitor and i get white image, with SM black

enito

Dal
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Atari Mega STE trying to make to back to life

Postby Dal » Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:31 am

First off, I've made a minor edit to your post as I really don't like to see swearing in the forums, please be careful in future ;)

Secondly, from the photos, your machine appears to be in a good clean state. As you say, that expansion card is a pc emulator - the machine should probably be run without it while you diagnose this problem. I have heard of people having problems where a psu in a MSTE has started chucking out high voltages and fried some ic's on the board. I hope this hasn't happened in your case.

First thing's first, check you have good +12 and +5 with the psu disconnected.