ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed please

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed please

Postby MRAtari » Fri May 06, 2011 7:00 pm

i'm looking to add an 80 pin SCSI hard drive with a 50 pin adaptor using the ICD LINK

the Seagate HD is model ST318404LC and has the following jumpers:

reserved
reserved
reserved
parity disable
write protect
motor start enable
motor start delay
force single ended


i notice this drive doesn't have the "term power" jumper

will it still work? what jumpers do i need to use and what does "force single ended" mean?

would really like to get this to work as am tired of finding almost dead 50 pin original drives....... :)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SCA-80-ADAPTER-68 ... 4aa32a9b95

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12253
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby wongck » Sat May 07, 2011 4:15 am

term power just needed if you're using active terminator (terminator with power).
IIRC my 1st scsi device just used terminators without power.

of course those new 80 pin monster are different creature from the older 50pin pets.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12253
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby wongck » Sat May 07, 2011 11:14 am

MRAtari wrote:what jumpers do i need to use and what does "force single ended" mean?


yes enable single ended.
the atari adapters carries signal in wire & grounds, not differential signalling.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Sun May 08, 2011 4:52 pm

no joy so far

jumpered:

parity disable
motor start enable
force single ended

the ICD LINK 2 the 5v LED does NOT illuminate and the drive does not spin, i see the busy LED illuminate but that's it

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Sun May 08, 2011 8:28 pm

this is another drive i am also trying to use

a Western Digital WDE 9100 drive

68 pin with a 50 pin converter

what jumpers do i need to get it to work with the ICD LINK

stand alone drive, nothing alse in the chain

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

simbo

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby simbo » Sun May 08, 2011 8:54 pm

where are you getting the 5v from the joystick port
?? afair the link cable needs a 5v supply to it

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Sun May 08, 2011 8:58 pm

yes the LINK needs 5v but i thought it could be taken from the drive via a jumper

that's what i've done before on the original 50 pin drives

simbo

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby simbo » Sun May 08, 2011 10:32 pm

hum
no

i think if i remember one pin on the 50pin cable is active termination power
it will prob go to the 5v rail on the link pcb

perhaps the drives your using dont support active termination
or cant supply the current needed

power the adapter and dont be so daft roop :contract:
if the led wont go on its hardly likely to work ....

simbo

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby simbo » Sun May 08, 2011 10:37 pm

http://support.wdc.com/product/install. ... en&print=y

site for jumpers and specs
you need to register but good info

http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives ... -ULTR.html

jumpers


so you need

auto start enabled
auto start delay disabled
disable scam
unit attention enabled
install jumper to opt 5 below to disable this feature then once the machine it stable and boots up
with hddriver you can enable it and check stable transfers with faster wide scsi 2
install jumper to opt 6 to enable termination
set to id0



+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 1: DISABLE |13-14 |INSTALL JUMPER TO DISABLE AUTO START |
|AUTO START | | |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 2: AUTO |15-16 |INSTALL JUMPER TO ENABLE AUTO START DELAY |
|START DELAY | | |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 3: SCAM |17-18 |INSTALL JUMPER TO ENABLE SCAM |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 4: DISABLE |19-20 |INSTALL JUMPER TO DISABLE UNIT ATTENTION |
|UNIT ATTENTION | | |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 5: DISABLE |21-22 |INSTALL JUMPER TO DISABLE TARGET INITIATED|
|TARGET INITIATED| |SYNCHRONOUS/WIDE NEGOTATION |
|SYNCHRONOUS/WIDE| | |
|NEGOTATION | | |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+
|OPT 6: SCSI |23-24 |INSTALL JUMPER TO ENABLE SCSI TERMINATION |
|TERMINATION | | |
+----------------+------+------------------------------------------+

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12253
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby wongck » Mon May 09, 2011 12:53 am

I suspect your termination.
The hard disk may be expecting the host to tell it to startup, you need to tell it to start on it's own.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

simbo

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby simbo » Mon May 09, 2011 1:48 am

the host cant tell anything to start becouse there is no 5v supply
and as stated there is no power led on the link active

some drives can supply 5v via the scsi cable
and the link cable made use of this

it does have a 5v supply
i would use it anyway for sure.,..

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12253
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby wongck » Mon May 09, 2011 3:56 am

simbo wrote:the host cant tell anything to start becouse there is no 5v supply
and as stated there is no power led on the link active


yeap. guess that's explains lots.
ought to use the manufacturer's predefined & suggested method of getting power to the device.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Wed May 11, 2011 8:18 pm

yeah obviously i know if the red led doesn't illuminate it won't work! :roll:

the only drive that illuminates the LED is the a Western Digital WDE 9100 drive but that doesn't spin!

in fact i've just tested it with just the power cable attached switched on and no spin

so i guess this means it's farcked? or is a jumper combination needed? (yes i do have the jumper motor start enable!) :roll:

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3270
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby ijor » Thu May 12, 2011 12:18 am

Is that an ICD LINK I, or a LINK II?

If the former, then it doesn't support parity. You would need to disable parity on the drive. Some drives have a jumper, others don't. Search the forum for more information.

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Thu May 12, 2011 1:22 pm

LINK 2

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3270
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby ijor » Thu May 12, 2011 3:43 pm

MRAtari wrote:LINK 2


I reread the thread, I see among other things you already said it is a LINK II, sorry about that ...

I agree with Simbo, most important thing is power. The link needs power from the drive, if the drive can't provide it, it won't work (unless you add external power). The drive must be configured to provide power, this is usually configured with the "TERM POWER" jumper. Note that the name is a bit misleading, it is not the bus termination.

Also as already mentioned by others, you need to configure the drive for starting on its own without any delay.

Lastly, if the drive requires bus arbitration (a feature of the SCSI interface), then it won't work at all. No ICD host supports arbitration.

simbo

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby simbo » Thu May 12, 2011 8:13 pm

ye i agree
there is a line on the cable you need to power either from the drive or the joystick port etc
i had one of them
a good cable but had its flaws
if anyone has a duff one ill buy it for sure
chances are its just not powered or a burned track
as there is a very thin 'fuse' track and i think a fuse / RP diode also
so .... another thing to watch for

meters and reality is needed
roop follow the links above and study the chart
if it doesnt auto spin it is either disabled or the drive is u/s
set the jumpers up as above
disconnect the drive
does it spin ??
yes its ok so its a problem with jumpers or cables or termination etc...
no is got an issue !! itself
get the drive to spin up on its own
i have found in the past
if you use a torx driver and unplug and remove the pcb from the drive
then clean the contacts underneath using the burnish glass fibre pen and a few strokes in a couple of directions
then bend up the contacts as they only impart a .1mm area to the contact pad on the pcb
dont forget to clean the very tip mostly of them and bend them back up a bit

when reassembled 40% of the time they works just fine
mostly the thin wires are the heads
and the contactors to the pcb are motors and moreover its sensors
that do oxidise.... :?

User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby firyembers » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:48 pm

If this is a SCA drive you will have to add a Passive ( pretty sure i have used a 68 pin cable to add 2-3 sca drives with an active at one end and a 68 to 50 pin to connect to ICD adapter)termination block into the chain.
SCA were designed to be hot swappable so no termination onboard although the jumpers say this.It can be very misleading,especially if you using a SCA to 50 pin adapter the termination pins do not do anything
Set it to auto start and no motor delay and add the termination block or set them on if you have 50 pin device on the end of chain.
I have used SCA successfully on the Atari with the the link 2,adasci plus.
The original ICD host adapter had the original scsi I command set and thus why they do not reconise cd roms etc,they all came under the next scsi II command set and later command sets.
Another point on the SCA drives you have a pcb jumber,i know there are many,but one is force single ended this needs to be enabled Jumper in place,check you have not the jumper on the start after receiving start command,ICD do not issue this so the drive will wait until the end of time,Parity disabled and usually the term power supplied to cable jumper on a sca drive does nothing on or off

The best test is just add the power cable to the drive,without scsi cable,it should start up by itself,and yes its down to jumpers set that it may not.But the drive may be no good..

Go here for a very good page to understand scsi,once you follow these rules then its very easy.That neither is to say on the Atari i have had lots of bother getting newer scsi stuff to work,and i mean days,sometimes it defies the rules and logic

Look for the manual for your scsi drive it will be very helpful to explain and get the sca version In seagate they label them LC for 68 pin W

http://www.tracezero.net/SCSI/index.php

and this one for explain scsi connectors and data rates etc.

http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/scsi_doc.html

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ICD LINK hard drive set up jumpers and help needed pleas

Postby MRAtari » Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:37 pm

i was trying to use a ST34371WC and a ST318404LC 80 pin scsi drive using 1 of those 80 pin to 50 pin converters

drives spin fine but couldn't get the ICD LINK 2 LED to illuminate


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests