ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Dal » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:39 pm

I checked sysinfo on my stbook and it says it has 2MB. However a chunk of this is lost due to the RAMDISK installed as drive P:.

Is it possible to disable the P: drive? Or, would I get full use of the 2MB RAM if I use TOS 2.06 instead?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:45 pm

i tried to flash an image of 2.06 to see if it would work
the unit failed to start
i dont think 206 has the directives stbook tos has for the power management
etc suspend to ram etc
im sure it just 1MB or 4MB 2 is a strange amount
not sure sysinfo is correct
im sure there is an easy way to free up the ram from the acc tools

there is a mod to give 4MB ram by changing the chips and wire all of one leg of each to a spare memory address ?mad 9 usually line on the mmu

these two boards are REV5 what rev do you have??
i know early revisions of st and etc have no wired line where later pcb this is added for 4MB onboard

ive never checked these books rev 5 infact just needs only the chips changed
{an easier job} however with the correct smd air nozzle you can take them all off in less than 5 mins
and re solder them in 15 total

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:17 pm

Last time I checked with Best they said they had no spare parts for the ST book as none of them were assembled in America and all t e development was European. The ST Book never officially launched in the USA so there was no 'technical spares' stock to liquidate when Atari went under.

Best source for ST Book parts is none functioning ST Books by the look of it
Last edited by Mal7921 on Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:53 pm

he does say on his site he has the acsi cable and others at what i think is a reasonable price

if you add up the midi and acsi port cables price its $40 this is less that £36 max before import tax and a post office charge on top

Atari ST Book Hard Drive Cable, 28 Pin Micro pitch connector to DB-25 Female Connector. CB102842 $24.95

Atari ST Book Midi Adapter Cable. 5 Pin Din Male Mini Cable to 5 Pin Din Standard Female connector. CB102843 $15 each

Atari ST Book Joypad / Mouse Replacement Internal Mylar flex Circuit. C104422 $19.95

Atari ST Book Schematics. 12 "C" Size Prints. CB102983 $50.00 <<<<< :lol:


well its back to the laminate film idea
white film stencil prob for keyboard conversion
not sure what flavor dal has german or usa ?? or another

i can get memory i found the ic's on ebay some time ok in the states but quite cheep at $2 each
the right type of chip most ic's in it are standard except the controller for the display and ive found it listed in hongkong

as its made in japan i can only assume any surplus stocks remain there

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Mal7921 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:04 am

True, but the explanation I had when asking about stock was there were no case/mechanical or electrical component spares as no repair stockpile had been built up for warranty repairs.

As for the keyboard layout, is that not part of TOS? I'm sure the German TT keyboard works with English characters in the right places, it's just the key caps that are different
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:53 pm

true easy enough to change over using some tights {got the method from alison}

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Dal » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:48 pm

Mine is also a rev5 board.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:07 pm

its fairly easy for me to piggyback two ic's i recon it will fit easily under the keyboard {it will i checked anyway}
if you would like to switch it
you just need then to switch the enable pin on each rom

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:12 pm

can someone post the images are aok????? please...

i ordered a new programmer as my copy willem is gubbed

so it will take me 10 days or so to secure plcc 27c4002 and OTP and copies


see last few pages for rom images

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby SteveBagley » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:07 am

simbo2 wrote:can someone post the images are aok????? please...

i ordered a new programmer as my copy willem is gubbed

so it will take me 10 days or so to secure plcc 27c4002 and OTP and copies


see last few pages for rom images


I've booted it fine in Hatari without issue -- interestingly, it really doesn't understand how to boot in low or medium res (not surprising given its destination, but it shows it is more than just a lightly customized TOS 2.06).

Steve

User avatar
Avanze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 1:49 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Avanze » Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:17 pm

I wonder if Steem SSE supports this BIOS? I couldn't get it working.

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby SteveBagley » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:50 pm

Avanze wrote:I wonder if Steem SSE supports this BIOS? I couldn't get it working.


TOS 2.08 access memory at $D40000 during boot up which bus-errored in Hatari (possibly incorrectly -- my MegaSTE happily allows me to read from there) unless I set it up as a 14MB hybrid. And it needs to be in High-res. it's possibly that Steem might also be buserroring incorrectly too, can you set it to 14MB ram and see what happens?

Looking at the schematics and TOS 2.08 the ST book seems to have been a strange hybrid between the ST and the STE -- it has the STe MCU but the video chip from the STacy (so it has a Blitter, and presumably it has the lower byte for the video base address and rewritable video counter, but no HSCROLL register since there's no STe shifter -- unless the SHADOW chip can also handle HSCROLL), no DMA audio hardware, and the extended joystick ports are repurposed to provide details of power levels etc.

Steve

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1712
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Cyprian » Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:10 am

SteveBagley wrote:TOS 2.08 access memory at $D40000 during boot up which bus-errored in Hatari (possibly incorrectly -- my MegaSTE happily allows me to read from there)

According to that doc http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/VM ... 9-1991.pdf this is VME address space in Mega STE:

A24:D16 $A00000 - $DEFFFF
A16:D16 $DF0000 - $DFFFFF

regarding bus-error I guess it is caused due to Hatari doesn't support neither MegaSTE nor VME yet.
Lynx II / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:34 am

ye its the ram drive

think looking there is a push at to that address

you can just nop it out and the tos wont make the ram drive

do an auto install device and see if it pops up as drive P

you can use ice disassembler and youll see the push on its offset

someone should point this out to the hitari developers

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:43 am

has someone tried seltos it to a ste or mega ste???

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby SteveBagley » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:38 am

simbo2 wrote:ye its the ram drive

think looking there is a push at to that address

you can just nop it out and the tos wont make the ram drive

do an auto install device and see if it pops up as drive P


I don't think $D40000 and $E80000 are used for the ROM drive (P:), since they both lie outside the TOS 2.08 chips memory (which is 512k from $E00000) and since the ROM drive is visible and accessible in Hatari with TOS 2.08 (but not having anything at the other addresses) it pretty much confirms they are not used for the ROM drive. The rom disks contents are also visible in the top 256k of the ROM image.

It's possible atari envisioned selling software on cartridges to plug into the expansion connector or that it was used in the STpad/STylus.

Steve

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby ralcool » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:16 am

SteveBagley wrote:Well that seems to have worked -- I've just booted Hatari into the US TOS 2.08 :) Although you need to configure it with 14MB of memory or it bus errors (there's some accesses to 0xD00000 during boot).

Interestingly, one Atari documentation file I've got on the ST Book lists two 256k system extension roms in the memory map (at 0xD40000 and 0xE80000) but I'm blowed if I can see what these might be connected to in the schematics (Possibly they were for the STylus's PCMCIA-esque cards?)

Steve


On the STE GSTMCU, there are labelled pins for Rom5 &6, and the also unused ROM0&1 as well.. Likely your memory maps points to 5&6.
STE only actually uses ROM2,3 &4. TOS and Cartridge.

ST.
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:13 pm

their is a sudo vme port on the machine

its a large footprint dtype i expect hard to get

and never developed very far

the book has no floppy controller so when there is no hdd access available you get 4 bombs on boot
it would be nice to find the byte that directs the invisible floppy controller at address same as ste
maybe one for steve as he is in a good code place???
however far this machines was developed it would be nice to see the sources for tos 2.08??? bolt on and i think its a work of art for its time
having added to malcolms machine {as soon as my new programmer arrives ill send it back}

has made a fun project worthwhile to all

so a supply point of its expansion connector will allow some more or better access

i will point out ive had malcolms machine nearly two years now

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:22 pm

backlight addin
would be nice but is easy

you can buy a A4 sheet you cut to size and replace the sheet on the reverse of the screen
you need to carefully de-laminate it
ive never tried but it would be really good

the A4 sheet you just use scissors and a 5v supply @ full sheet is less than 20ma

its one to think about

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby DarkLord » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:01 pm

Hey Simbo, a quick question - why do you have to de-laminate it? I put a
replacement in my STacy and as you said, pretty easy and it worked great.
I did have to cut it to fit, afterwards I used clear nail polish to reseal the
sections I cut.

Thanks, I was just curious.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

sarnau
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:22 am

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby sarnau » Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:11 am

SteveBagley wrote:TOS 2.08 access memory at $D40000 during boot up which bus-errored in Hatari (possibly incorrectly -- my MegaSTE happily allows me to read from there) unless I set it up as a 14MB hybrid. And it needs to be in High-res. it's possibly that Steem might also be buserroring incorrectly too, can you set it to 14MB ram and see what happens?


The ST-Book ROM starts at $D00000 and ends at $D3FFFF. A slightly modified STE ROM. At $D40000 starts the ROM disk. The ROM contains custom code, to not only look for the original ROM-Port location, but also at $D40000 for the ROMDISK. That one ends at $D7FFFF, resulting in a 512kb ROM.

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:32 pm

well you need to pull it off carefully

would be nice to add this to malcolm's machine
dont know if he wants it

the rom in the stbook has the origin of 0E00000 so this is where it starts up same as the ste 0E00abc is the rom cart address
and this is where stbook rom gets patched to properly boot acsi interfaces and drives

the rom addresses the lower bank 0Dxxxxx and sets it up as a ram disk ... if you dont want a ram disk
then look for the push and nop it using ice and a hex editor

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:28 pm

well after some buying of a new programmer and adpaters i wrote some otp for the book

the unmodified versions are crc correct
however the crc is reported as bad for the modified image

i think as i know both crc of modded and un-modded
it should be easy to find the string in the bin file for its value and change it to the corrected version
{i think the non bytes swapped it should be easy to find from a simple hex value search in hexedit

i believe this is the case ????
ppera made a tos split tool that can correct tos 2.X crc but it may have a 256Kb limit on image size

so if i am right/wrong and someone knows can you help ??

just want to finish the images
i know the bad crc error at boot is no big thing
but it is annoying :roll:

non modified usa crc is 741B
the modified usa crc is 754C

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:35 pm

good day

finally i managed to struggle to send malcolms stbook back to him

i will miss it :(

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:56 pm

i just want to say a big thank you all
too all the members and supporter who made this whole project worthwhile
and it still goes on i have a stbook here just needs now a cf card and the falcon to format it etc

if people need help with the stbook then this is prob the best place...


so far we have the usa and german version of the tos 512Kb 4Mb 16bit rom version

perhaps some french users can load up the rip tool a few pages back and get the rest of the images

looking at there part numbers there is another full set

but perhaps just one or two machines of some languages...

who knows

roll on the next stbook

a pleasure to use and work on
perfectly built in japan
mostly rev 5 pcb {nice to see others}

and just a few caps to replace and well

add a mouse and youve got a magic little machine
whose battery lasts over 10hrs with mods to the hdd etc
and you can add a 1 or etc GB card for pc interchange as i did in malcoms machine


so thanks all
took me almost two years,,, but worth it 200%


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests