ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby CiH » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:56 pm

to all the owners of a english ST-Book
-=you have failed=-


Taking a late interest in this topic, just how many English language ST-Books got out in the wild, so to speak? It surely wasn't that many.

I never saw any back in the day as it was announced but then seemed to sink without trace? Whereas in Germany, with the better developed professional market, the ST-Book may have been available in slightly larger quantity for a time.

Any ST-Books that have turned up subsequently, tended to have been sold at a premium 'collectors' price, so the few that are out there are probably locked down by people who don't read this forum. So here is a possible explanation for the lack of English language ROMS. :(
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:45 am

CiH wrote:
to all the owners of a english ST-Book
-=you have failed=-


Taking a late interest in this topic, just how many English language ST-Books got out in the wild, so to speak? It surely wasn't that many.

I never saw any back in the day as it was announced but then seemed to sink without trace? Whereas in Germany, with the better developed professional market, the ST-Book may have been available in slightly larger quantity for a time.

Any ST-Books that have turned up subsequently, tended to have been sold at a premium 'collectors' price,
so the few that are out there are probably locked down by age some 20 years this year
and people who don't read this forum. So here is a possible explanation for the lack of English language ROMS. :(

some people like museums can have i think two or three
there must be one typical/....
one is less than zero because if one is less than one due to chance +- 50% then 1= 0 or 0 =1
who knows
i got sick of asking for it even though promised it
or a chip sent to my home to be read
ive posted the findings and the project and cures...
all i can do
i am as sick as a dog no other book owners or museums {was promised???}or others help}}
have offered any help???
i even offered to send back fixed roms hex flashed ...
that go to the desktop on hdd fail
instead of 4 bombs
as this one did till frank lucus pointed out a few places
my rough german showed what too do..
page 2 to page 5
i simply adjusted and flashed the rom
for pitty sake
english rom or beg koda?? again ???

well this post is all about the sleep nodule and extending it to make the sleep button :coffe: work
that turns off the display and puts the machine to sleep when the lid is closed down
the sleep button can be used to reset the chipset

i agree their must be less than 1000 actual units working in Europe the german STBOOK site i found says there is 1000-1200 units worldwide
so its a very rare little book indeed as perhaps only say 20-30 % will now work ok.. i suppose
eh??????????? :| :|
not so good
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:59 pm

battery up time test
so far its been on battery only for 2hrs
ive been moving the mouse and accessing the odd file
just want to
a cycle the cell
and
b see just how long a full charge from new cells lasts

then ill charge it from dead and retest the now cycled cells
not a bad idea just for the record


oh ye the extra header on the 44 pin ide cable i added

i did it this way

i used two small wooden hard wood blocks
i mounted with the cable and the header set right and square to the cable and with its back plate set ...
using a G clamp {good big wide one }
then a few turns let it sit a few seconds then one more turn it was crimped shut
and tight
nice trick never done an ide header without a crimp tool before

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:39 pm

watch out for big dos and the stbook
every cold boot it asks to rewrite the P ram drives boot sector
i just use n.n for no no

seems then to be ok

sd card or not

the sdcard will only moan if you unplug it mid session
and there is a setting in hddriver for this

so perhaps some playing with hddrivers utils setting and this drive p error on boot will be bypassed etc

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:13 pm

decided to try an experiment
ill byte swap a 2.06 UK english language tos
ill then flash it to an eprom 4MB and try it out
ill look at the boot sector replacement that the german byte mod makes
so it goes to the desktop when there is no bootable hdd and ignores the floppy controller issue with 4 bombs
and add it if appropriate ie if the change out bytes match
i found out the hard way not too use the tools in the P drive it isntalled SHDRIVER.sys and screwed up big dos

i think the P drive {ram drive 256K} is a waist of space and not needed
once its done ill report

well you live and learn i expected a few issues with this

and this also solves the uk english problem
ill make the image available once i work it out

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:20 pm

i cant find a decent free tool to byte swap this 2.06 image

someone has it installed can byte swap the words in this tos file

the byte order is different from the tos2.08 mod for acsi devices

please zip and re upload

cheers
Last edited by Guest on Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby mfro » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:33 pm

On next to everything (even TOS+MiNT) except MSwin just do:

dd if=tos206uk.rom of=tos206uk.byteswapped.rom conv=swab :wink:

tos206uk.byteswapped.rom.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:55 pm

excellent ill make a 4MB OTP just now
and lets see if the stbook will run happy with 2.06 uk

fingers crossed

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:42 pm

experiment failed

no boot logo or etc

so that was a duffer

at least we now know 2.06 wont work in a 4Mb OTP flashed byteswaped as it needs to be
this also means it prob wont work with seltos either...

so back looking for an english u/s book tos rom image or a machine i can get the chip from to copy
or another machine to repair etc....

feeek... eeek well never mind

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:50 am

it was 5pm gmt i started the battery only test
its now 1.02 am

that 8hrs up time!!!!! and still going strong !!!
i think ill carry on the test tomorrow and crash out

i just spent the last hour copying over files
and the software i posted above and another 19MB of utils etc
the disk above is
screen saver / power management etc,.,
its for a cpx shell and other tweaks folder limit patch and a few others installs some nice icons and tidys the desktop
with ACC's the machine runs out of ram on the bootup installing some of the acc's

so i guess ill need to study what hddriver is using and trim its buffers etc,,, to suite
perhaps ill leave this to malcolm
also installs wordplus and some pc to book transfer software
not needed now becouse of SDcard
i must say it is very fast transfers compared to other ste level machines
just as fast or faster...!!!

ill have a look for the bigger ram chips frank lucas says will work
and perhaps add 4MB RAM upgrade
but trim off some of the use just now

watch out for shdriver.sys delete it if you use hddriver as it will screw up the settings

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:25 am

simbo2 wrote:
frank.lukas wrote:Upgrade a 1MB ST Book to 4MB -> http://phoenix.inf.upol.cz/~opichals/li ... &index=477



hard to find the ic's tc types are low production



is this the correct type i wonder http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TC518512F1-10 ... 5d32cb1481
bit expensive and the guy only has 6
i need 8

never mind !!! try find them cheeper in HK i think ??

also this text Note: The two additional address lines (A17 and A18) are
NOT provided in the board design!
puts me off a bit or out with the kynar wire again!!!!

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:05 am

bat only uptime was an impressive 19hrs

so ill charge from flat tomorrow when i wake up
i recon about 8hrs should be fine

when i charged them first time from there own charge from new
the light on the psu didnt come on when they were full
perhaps it will when i cycle them tomorrow

happy days 19hrs !!!

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:42 pm

well so i wrote an OTP 4Mb rom today with the acsi port fix added

it appears the patch was to correct some issue with the dma port

so anyway it worked and boots the same with no issues

worth adding in i think

WHERE WHERE WHERE is there someone with an ENGLISH / US STBOOK

german french no english

i can only say ill take the greatest care of any tos chip sent too me

and read it off mod the hex and flash a few
making it available to stbook owners

if german users want the modified OTP just ask £6 for the iC + post...

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:48 pm

Shredder11 wrote:Hey Simbo, is that SD card adapter the same one you recommended to me a couple of years ago? I think I might have a spare one if you need it, for £15 + P&P.

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=18840&hilit=Pin+IDE+Adapter+Ebay&start=75#p167647


I never used it as I needed to work out the method first, e.g. maybe use ICD Tools like you mentioned in the other thread and then use HD Driver v7.93 afterwards. Dunno if any special settings are required during partitioning and formatting etc.



if you still have this card
then pm me please and ill paypal you

many thanks
sounds useful again
i have 1 but i want two for another project ...

with hddriver 8.13 or greater it works fine!!! icd will work but it isnt as fast or as good as hddriver
its a pity ICD dont release there sources to PD then people can rework it a bit
seem a pity they did so much good work then stopped

bit like other drivers that also work some with some sources there but lib's held back

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Mal7921 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:52 pm

Right, Simbo sorry for not being around much and generally responsive. Things have happened and are still happening, I'm just not bawling about it on Facebook like so many do.

Anyhow, if you can get an idea on postage and packing I'll get payment for the st book sorted out.

Did you ever get the Cubase dongle disassembled?
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Shredder11 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:29 pm

simbo2 wrote:
Shredder11 wrote:Hey Simbo, is that SD card adapter the same one you recommended to me a couple of years ago? I think I might have a spare one if you need it, for £15 + P&P.

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=18840&hilit=Pin+IDE+Adapter+Ebay&start=75#p167647


I never used it as I needed to work out the method first, e.g. maybe use ICD Tools like you mentioned in the other thread and then use HD Driver v7.93 afterwards. Dunno if any special settings are required during partitioning and formatting etc.



if you still have this card
then pm me please and ill paypal you

many thanks
sounds useful again
i have 1 but i want two for another project ...

with hddriver 8.13 or greater it works fine!!! icd will work but it isnt as fast or as good as hddriver
its a pity ICD dont release there sources to PD then people can rework it a bit
seem a pity they did so much good work then stopped

bit like other drivers that also work some with some sources there but lib's held back



I've only got home from work a couple of hours ago so tired right now, but I will have a nosey on my shelf for the SD interface tomorrow. It is brand new, boxed and unused.

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:19 am

ye no worries

pm me if you find it ill paypal the dosh...!

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:24 am

Mal7921 wrote:Right, Simbo sorry for not being around much and generally responsive. Things have happened and are still happening, I'm just not bawling about it on Facebook like so many do.

Anyhow, if you can get an idea on postage and packing I'll get payment for the st book sorted out.

Did you ever get the Cubase dongle disassembled?


i deleted my facebook too many family members i dont want to know use it including my kids
and wooden spoon all the time

no worries i think postage will be around a tenner or so as standard or 12 or something as tracked not sure
can you remember what it cost from you to me???

the cubase dongle i just finished testing on loopback the dll i wrote for proteus vsm isis

seems aok at 100khz but i have a timing issue at 1mhz {then lots of cpu usage i shouldnt have}
think i need to mess around with the clock callback in the dll to allow for oversample
i need to run it maybe at 2mhz or something
still its working fine at 100khz per i/o so adding a register will allow for slower capture at the card side
my plan is to use a shift register to clock out 16 bits to two sets of 8 bit i/os on the card
as the key is 128bit i need to be able to snapshot all 128bits to the digital storage scope in proteus
{not hard } then it will run aok at 1MHz per i/o over 40 i/os even

if you need it back i understand and ill seek one on ebay ..


as for the stbook i notice a bug in the software for power management
if you press the power off then wait a few mins and press the power on
sometimes you need to press reset and the screen come on however the memory seems ok
as it comes back up to the desktop and does not try to reload
think its bigdos i have added to it
it does not like being suspended to ram
however it works and then call it .xxx if you dont need the sdcard
and cold reboot ctrl alt rshft del
then there is no probs

i added back the original drivers etc thanks to frank lukas !!
i would advise you use a desktop replacement like terradesk etc
then the menus will be in english or something similar
with 1MB ram its much easier to do ...so perhaps ditching the drivers for power management will fix it
as it worked aok with bigdos till i added them
i did think about adding 4MB upgrade but i cant find the correct speed of ic
i found the type but much slower so... its not easy to do and needs messing around with address lines

i just wish someone would come up with the english TOS version
however i added the german patched rom
but didnt fit it ill send you a chip with the modded hex to allow acsi to work {from the cable that plugs into the back}

the german text says its a patch to fix this port
however you dont need it much as the sdcard and cf are quite enough
you can also boot from the sdcard if you use a 512Mb one and make the partition tos/dos
i have added a 1GB one as a pc partition hence the bigdos
again using mint or magic will cure the menus etc and has as you know native support for fat /32 etc


also i am not sure what to do about the small blob on the top that presses the sleep button on the lid when you close it

i did think to drill a small hole .2mm and use a small screw this would give a good result
but i dont want to mark the case perhaps super glue and build up some layers or something
ill leave this to you

:cheers:

other things you can do is
ive seen some members with stacys fit a lumo paper back light
you cut it to size and place it behind the lcd then it lights up
it uses very little current and will run at 5v there is already 5v supplied here to the displays charge pump
again ill leave this as a choice for you

one more thing is the battery is charged led on the psu
ignore it it wont come on
well i just charge it from flat for 8hrs
i would try to keep it to 8hrs as this is fine
i worked it out and on paper its ~8hrs total charge time for the cells i used

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:00 pm

http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/stbook.htm

one final note
DO NOT pay this guy 99$ + postage both ways !!

with a cf card and sdcard fitted and new cells ditch the old power hungry hdd.. spice/coffee grinder
look in previous pages of post

i get 12!!! hour uptime and more... i gave up testing it at 12hrs and went to bed
it still ran the next day for another 10 hrs

he quotes 3-4hrs
which is pathetic

for 99 bucks !!!! thats around £80

too much dow.... you can do it for less than 20 quid tops

User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby tjlazer » Sun May 12, 2013 1:09 am

I am a new ST Book owner, but I think mine is French. It has a french keyboard on it. I need to get a A/C adaptor so I can boot this thing, I would like to update it to English or US TOS if possible.

Anyone that can assist me in getting a A/C adaptor made/hacked it would greatly be appreciated!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:40 pm

YIPEE

a forum user sent me an st book for some cells replaced psu section and lcd fixed

anyway to cut a long story short
here is the USA ENGLISH version of the stbook tos 2.08

need a rom flashed just pm me
ill be around again soon as i have net at home again

file back again soon
need to reread it
Last edited by Guest on Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby kristjanga » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:06 pm

so there it is!! :cheers:

kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby kristjanga » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:06 pm

is it possible to run it with in steem?

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:15 pm

Hi Malcolm

sorry i have not sent back your st book yet
i did this with getting these machines in mind
but the good news is its now English {well yank}
and ill send it back on Tuesday morning by royal mail signed for post :contract:
so look out for it on wed or Thursday

FINALLY you get a machine back fit for easy use :angel:

:cheers:











Mal7921 wrote:Right, Simbo sorry for not being around much and generally responsive. Things have happened and are still happening, I'm just not bawling about it on Facebook like so many do.

Anyhow, if you can get an idea on postage and packing I'll get payment for the st book sorted out.

Did you ever get the Cubase dongle disassembled?

Guest

Re: ST-BOOK ROM dump?

Postby Guest » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:19 pm

kristjanga wrote:is it possible to run it with in steem?




i have no idea

this is a raw bin file non byte swapped
i am not sure that steem accepts 512K images !!
as i am not sure it wont work with a falcon image either

the offset is the same @ 0E000000 i think as the ste
i tried using plain tos 2.08 burned to an otp 4MB rom
but it did not work
nor did seltos on the stbook {one for ppera}

so perhaps it can be made to work by the authors

i am afraid its a case of suck it and see

:|


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests