ATX power supply and STE

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

ATX power supply and STE

Postby d0us » Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:27 am

Hey all,

I know a number of people here have powered their STs from ATX power supplies but I can't seem to find any instructions on how to do this.

I've been told that my Atari rebooting itself every time I access the floppy or random 2 bomb errors may have something to do with the power supply.

Could anyone link me up to some instructions for a complete electronics dunce?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12500
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby wongck » Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:16 pm

You just need to know the power pin out on the mobo.
It's in Chips n Chips But are all in German.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12500
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby wongck » Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:24 pm

Ok, I found it in Chip n Chips and chuck it into Google & here's the output:

Code: Select all

 The assignment of the power supply plug on 1040/MegaST

   1 5V DC (red)
   2 5V DC (red)
   3 Ground (black)
   4 Ground (black)
   5 Ground (black)
   6 12V DC (blue)


Yeah, it say 1040/MegaST but I went in via the STE section :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby d0us » Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:45 pm

ah cool.

So I just cop of the connector of the ATX psu and attach the relevent wires to the old st psu's adapter?

ok wish me luck!

cheers

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby ralcool » Sat Oct 30, 2010 1:38 pm

http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Comput ... wer-Supply

This link should help you figure out show to switch it on.

The connection of the 5 & 12v to the STx as shown by WongCk should see you out.

I use an ATX supply for my ST. Works fine.

Sean.
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 626
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby 1024MAK » Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:34 am

Just watch out for the different colour codes used.
On most Atari machines the blue wire is the +12V supply.
With most ATX power supplies the +12V supply uses yellow wires.

So connect as follows:-
ATX PSU --> Atari
Yellow -----> Blue (+12V)
Red --------> Red ( +5V)
Black ------> Black ( 0V Ground)

Green --------------> connect to one of the ATX PSU black wires (switches the PSU on)

See also
simbo's answer to a similar question - viewtopic.php?f=15&t=19289#p167253
modtown - article - Powering an ATX PSU Without a Motherboard - http://modtown.co.uk/mt/article2.php?id=psumod
GideonTech_com Case Modification - Power Up an ATX PSU without a Motherboard - http://www.gideontech.com/content/articles/196/1
PC Power Supply Failure Diagnostics - Computer ATX Power Supply Troubleshooting and Repair - http://www.fonerbooks.com/power.htm
How to Make an ATX Power Supply Work Without a Motherboard eHow_com - http://www.ehow.com/how_4928308_make-po ... board.html
How to Convert a Computer ATX Power Supply to a Lab Power eHow_com - http://www.ehow.com/how_2189437_convert ... upply.html
How to power up ATX PSU without MB - http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/179079-10-power
Using a Second Power Suppy-Adding a ATX Power Supply PSU (plus lots of info) - http://www.directron.com/2powersupplies.html
Guide to Computer Power Supplies (plus lots of info) - http://www.smps.us/computer-power-supply.html
PC Power Supply Connectors and Pinouts - http://www.smpspowersupply.com/connectors-pinouts.html

Of course if you have a multimeter you can test the supply wires before you make the final connections.
Remember that the supply line (wire) that has the highest current rating is the one that the PSU regulates (maintains within a close voltage range, normally 5% or less). Often some or all of the other supply lines (wires) are unregulated (like the +12V and the -12V). So until the PSU is supplying a load (like a computer) the other supply lines (wires) may be slightly lower or higher than you expect.

Good luck :D
Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's)

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby d0us » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:06 pm

Thanks!

acbc2k
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:46 am

Re: ATX power supply and STE

Postby acbc2k » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:26 am

The PSU for my 520SFTM is dead. It is an old Mitsumi SR98.

RIght now, I have some spare ATX PSU lying around. Seen others using picoATX to power up the ST but will it work with a regular 200W ATX PSU?

In the ATX pin diagram under https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATX, do I use the following pin assignments?

ATX ST
Pin 4 --> Pin 1 +5V
Pin 5 --> Pin 2 +5V
Pin 3 --> Pin 3 GND
Pin 5 --> Pin 4 GND
Pin 7 --> Pin 5 GND
Pin 10 --> Pin 6 +12V

Pin 16 short with Pin 15 to power on.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests