[photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

[photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby spiny » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:22 pm

Got this from ebay a few days ago, and once I'd replaced the terminator on the drive, it booted up a treat :)
I had one of these exact models years ago, but somehow, to my immense annoyance, have managed to lose it sometime in the last ten years :/ but anyway, I thought i'd take a few pics, a everyone loves pics :)

the board itself -looks- fairly simple, though I'm no expert :D it's in the garage right now, as thats the only worktop space i have access to at the moment, so any info / pic requests will have to wait 'till tomorrow :)

all the pics are here in larger format, and i also have the full fat ones from the camera if needed: http://www.spiny.org/atari/photos/atari ... re/protar/

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby Dal » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:24 pm

Maybe you just bought your own drive back?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby spiny » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:27 pm

Dal_1978 wrote:Maybe you just bought your own drive back?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:



:D if I have, then all my stuff is gone .. :/ just some cubase stuff on this one. I bought it for the adapter really, I have a load of 1-2 gig drives to test, and my gasteiner drive/adapter is apparently kippered and doesn't recognise devices properly.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby Dal » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:36 pm

Certainly looks in good shape. Catmando (on here sometimes) has one that looks like a similar form factor but is branded ICD. Layout inside looks very similar from what I remember.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby wongck » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:10 pm

Probably OEM.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
aacheron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby aacheron » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:55 pm

Hi all! I've similar protar, mine is protar profile 40, it has the same dma-scsi board than progate40 !

<a href="http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/TzJrW7_QxsBoHAZIY23jCw?feat=embedwebsite"><img src="http://lh3.ggpht.com/_tgo9LJWy2kI/TTg4QOuOO2I/AAAAAAAAAsI/1Tx9oKBxcBk/s400/DSC01708.JPG" height="300" width="400" /></a>

Image

Image

Image

scsi board it's branded by formac. but i have no more information...
Atari 520STE 1.62 UK Upgraded to 4MB - 2GB SatanDisk - Protar Profile 40 - Atari Monitor SC1224
2.05 Spanish TOS, NetUSBee and HxC SD rev.C I really need an external floppy drive
Family grows : Atari 1040STF, Atari 1040STFM, and Atari FALCON 030

fiveofive
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:07 pm

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby fiveofive » Wed Oct 09, 2019 6:59 pm

Hi spiny,

I have got a similar Protar model here, named Profile II 80. It looks the same but has an additional SCSI out on the back.

One thing I wonder, do you run it with a different driver than the Protar drivers? The device I have here boots up with a booting partition selector and without any visible driver on any partition (marketed as "autoboot" feature, probably a hidden file). According to the user manual, the software on the original disk seems to have all kind of management stuff required, but I don't have it and also would prefer to use more recent HD Driver.

My first tests show that HD driver finds the partitions, so I guess it's just fine to skip the Protar driver software. But I am not sure and don't want to touch the setup as long as I don't have the original Protar software. Did you make any experience with drivers?

PS: For romantic reasons:
Searching for information, I found an advert on page 16 in this issue of ST-Format mag
505 on demozoo

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby spiny » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:28 pm

fiveofive wrote:Hi spiny,

I have got a similar Protar model here, named Profile II 80. It looks the same but has an additional SCSI out on the back.

One thing I wonder, do you run it with a different driver than the Protar drivers? The device I have here boots up with a booting partition selector and without any visible driver on any partition (marketed as "autoboot" feature, probably a hidden file). According to the user manual, the software on the original disk seems to have all kind of management stuff required, but I don't have it and also would prefer to use more recent HD Driver.

My first tests show that HD driver finds the partitions, so I guess it's just fine to skip the Protar driver software. But I am not sure and don't want to touch the setup as long as I don't have the original Protar software. Did you make any experience with drivers?

PS: For romantic reasons:
Searching for information, I found an advert on page 16 in this issue of ST-Format mag


Funnily enough I was testing this a few months ago, it works fine with HDDriver 10, but I currently have it with ICD6 as I am probably going to sell it.

fiveofive
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:07 pm

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby fiveofive » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:35 pm

Good to hear. Thanks for coming back to this.

Selling... sounds like you wish to regret it yet another time ;)
505 on demozoo

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby spiny » Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:35 am

fiveofive wrote:Good to hear. Thanks for coming back to this.

Selling... sounds like you wish to regret it yet another time ;)


I'll dig it out again on Monday, I'll spin it up and decide whether to keep it or not :D

I have 'Monster' cards in my most often used Ataris, and a Unicorn and USB Parccp for the others, so a small capacity SCSI drive isn't really that useful.

fiveofive
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:07 pm

Re: [photos] Protar 40meg external hard drive

Postby fiveofive » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:46 pm

Yes, of course, newer solutions are much more practical. My device of choice is the Ultrasatan since many years. The Protar was collecting dust since when I got it for free about 15 years ago. It's more for nostalgic reasons to test it or use it as a monitor stand. What I like is, that it is far less noisy than the Megafile (then again, this is the case for almost every device except big planes;)

I think it's interesting to see the variety of solutions and devices 3rd parties came up with, back in the days.
505 on demozoo


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests