Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Indus
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:53 am
Location: Fresnes (near Paris) - France
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Indus » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:25 pm

Hi,

If it's not too late, I need two cables (one for a Mega STE and one for a STacy) ;)

Indus
Indus also known as Megadeth (Pendragons/Prism) or Hardosoft (X-Factor/MAD).
All my Atari ST graphics are available on DHS website

Back on Atari and working on a new Atari ST game

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:13 am

Indus wrote:Hi,

If it's not too late, I need two cables (one for a Mega STE and one for a STacy) ;)

Indus


Hey there. :)

Nope, still taking orders, as far as I know.

Did you want active or passive cables?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby rian_ata » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:44 pm

I would like to place an order for 1 passive and 1 active cable and I will decide later which one to put in Mega STE and which one in my Stacy :twisted:

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:41 pm

rian_ata wrote:I would like to place an order for 1 passive and 1 active cable and I will decide later which one to put in Mega STE and which one in my Stacy :twisted:


Added, and welcome. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Indus
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:53 am
Location: Fresnes (near Paris) - France
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Indus » Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:07 am

DarkLord wrote:
Indus wrote:Hi,

If it's not too late, I need two cables (one for a Mega STE and one for a STacy) ;)

Indus


Hey there. :)

Nope, still taking orders, as far as I know.

Did you want active or passive cables?

Thanks.


Ohh, I forgot to specify :roll: . I need *active* cables 8)
Indus also known as Megadeth (Pendragons/Prism) or Hardosoft (X-Factor/MAD).
All my Atari ST graphics are available on DHS website

Back on Atari and working on a new Atari ST game

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:43 pm

Indus, did you ever decide what kind of cables you wanted, active or passive?

Thanks! :)

EDIT: Nevermind, for some odd reason your reply above didn't show up here until
I submitted this question - I'll edit your entry.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Jookie » Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:28 am

Guys, I'm sorry but I'm unable to do anything for the next month or so.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby alanh » Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:02 am

I'll take 2 actives please !
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:39 am

Jookie wrote:Guys, I'm sorry but I'm unable to do anything for the next month or so.


Well, I can't speak for everyone else Jookie - but I can wait. :)

and thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:40 am

alanh wrote:I'll take 2 actives please !


Gotcha! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:42 am

Here is the current list:

Internal UltraSatan cable List:

DarkLord - 2 (1 active and 1 passive)

-------------------------------------------------

AtariAge:

Remowilliams - 1 (possibly 2, depending on price)

Klund - 1 passive

--------------------------------------------------

AtariForum:

wthorbjo - 1 passive

tpic - 1 passive

Chris Blaylok - 2 passive

AtariMega125 - 1 active

Fonz - 1 passive

Jake/Depression - 1 active

Indus - 2 active

rian_ata - 2 (1 active and 1 passive)

Alanh - 2 active

--------------------------------------------------

Total - 17 (approximately)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Jake/Depression » Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:56 pm

I can wait too.
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-

User avatar
Indus
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:53 am
Location: Fresnes (near Paris) - France
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Indus » Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:55 am

No news about internal cables ?
Indus also known as Megadeth (Pendragons/Prism) or Hardosoft (X-Factor/MAD).
All my Atari ST graphics are available on DHS website

Back on Atari and working on a new Atari ST game

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:31 am

Not at this time. Unfortunately, the last few e-mails/messages from Jookie
have indicated that he just doesn't have the time right now...

I'm hoping that will change soon.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Jookie » Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:20 pm

DarkLord wrote:Not at this time. Unfortunately, the last few e-mails/messages from Jookie
have indicated that he just doesn't have the time right now...

I'm hoping that will change soon.


Uhm, maybe in next few weeks or months... Just got married last sunday (25.9.), now leaving for honeymoon :) (congratulations via PMs only, please ;) )

User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby 1024MAK » Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:12 pm

One active cable for suitable for a Mega ST please.
I see that Jookie has other "distractions" :lol: at the moment, just as well that I too am not in a rush :mrgreen:
Falcon, Atari 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE, Mega, TT and more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's).
Visit the Atari-Forum Wiki. Lots of technical info at DrCoolZic Atari ST Site :D

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:59 pm

1024MAK wrote:One active cable for suitable for a Mega ST please.
I see that Jookie has other "distractions" :lol: at the moment, just as well that I too am not in a rush :mrgreen:


Hmm, not sure about the Mega ST...we started this thread in hopes for an internal
cable for the Mega STe and STacy, which share the same internal connector.

How different is the Mega STs from these? I'm thinking they are not the same.

Last PM I got from Jookie was that he had returned from his honeymoon, so maybe
after things get back to normal in his life, he can take a look at this stuff. I'm sure
once he sees this question he'll be able to tell us.

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12830
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wongck » Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:42 am

DarkLord wrote:Last PM I got from Jookie was that he had returned from his honeymoon, so maybe
after things get back to normal in his life, he can take a look at this stuff.

Life after marriage never gets back to the normal "normal" life for me 8)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:30 am

wongck wrote:Life after marriage never gets back to the normal "normal" life for me 8)


I heard that. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby SofiST » Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:02 am

Considering Mega STE - if want to add internal UltraSatan/Satan or some other ACSI adapter, and keeping internal, you need to solder cable on inernal board's connector. It is not hard.
If want without internal adapter, then need to add proper connector, and solder on.
More details here: http://atari.8bitchip.info/MegaSTEACSI.html

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:02 pm

Thanks for the information.

I'm pretty sure I don't have the technical skills (soldering) to do this, but
I'd say several people following this thread can.

If anyone successfully makes one, I'm sure the rest of us would be
interested in buying cables from them! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12830
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wongck » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:23 pm

Like I said before SofiST... I wish I am at least 1/4 as capable as you with the soldering iron.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby SofiST » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:36 pm

If it is for case that no internal adapter used, then may solve with connector and cable - need 30 pin 2 row connector.
I can do it for Satandisk/UltraSatan. Only need to add power somehow.
If internal adapter is needed, then must solder cable - there is no place for some intermediate pass-through connector.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:57 pm

In my particular case, I can't see any reason to keep the internal SCSI card. I'm
fighting for every inch of space inside my STacy that I can get. I'd dearly love to
get that card out of the way, and have a direct cable to my UltraSatan.

I've already planned on using the former hard drive bay for placement of the
UltraSatan. As far as power goes, the 12v lead that used to go to the hard
drive can power the UltraSatan. Of course, I'll have to cut that down to the
recommended 7.5-9v or so. I've already built a small circuit for that, using
diodes.

five_diodes.png


Although at the recommendation in another thread, I might switch to a:

BZX85C3V9 ZENER DIODE rated at 4.7V, 1W or 4.7, 1.3W...instead.

Zener diode 2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby alanh » Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:39 pm

I'm not sure the active part is "absolutely" required. Jookie mentions that connecting the data pins straight through may just work, and if you have a MegaSTE that came from the factory without an internal ACSI->SCSI card, then they actually jumper the data pins anyway.

I've designed the PCB now and got a power replacement for my MegaSTE. If people want to try this hybrid where it's active, but without the additional logic buffer IC, then I'm willing to make a run of parts as it seems Jookie is ultrabusy - no pun intended with the ultra word :-)
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests