Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Dal » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:10 pm

DarkLord wrote:Its *seems* like I remember someone saying that they got this to work, and the key
was in how the ID's were set for each device, the Ultrasatan, the internal SCSI board


That would be here
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wongck » Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:04 am

Please guys.
Next time anyone see something important like this... put it in to the wiki or use the FAQ in the wiki to point to the post/thread.
Takes out the guessing.
Thanks.

Sorry DL, not targeting you or anyone... :angel:
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10743
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Dal » Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:49 am

You are quite right, no excuses. Sorry - I'll consider myself reprimanded! :angel:
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:42 am

No problem. I'll join Dal and say point taken. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wongck » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:23 am

Ok. Added to the AF wiki FAQ. :wink:
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10743
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Solarricht » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:16 pm

Oops, did i start something?

Appologies here. I have been trawling through various threads and asking questions in hope of a solution all over the forum. I havent worked out how to post a link to another post in different thread yet. I have had contrasting opinions and information on this. I tried the upbove linked solution about changing the IDs as shown, but didnt work for me. I will however try this once more. After investigating an ultrasatan cable b as a solution, i got this post on another thread which maybe somes up why i cant get it to work (although others may have been lucky).



Re: Reverse engineering of some ICD Link adapter
by alexh » Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:14 pm
Think of it this way.

Atari ST(e) has ACSI bus.

ICD Link adapter is ACSI->SCSI host adapter.

UltraSatan is ACSI->SD adapter.

It is not possible to run two host adapters on one ACSI bus.

Sell your ultrasatan and buy one of these :

http://a4000t.com/store/index.php?main_ ... cts_id=184
Thalion Webshrine

I will try the USD ids again, but if Alanh is right USD is not compatable with scsi host adapters.

Thanks for the help and solutions.
Solarricht
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:27 pm

Sell my Ultrasatan? Not gonna happen...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:29 pm

Also, posted this in another thread but....here it is again...

Umm, I'm pretty sure you can set the card ID's on the Ultrasatan. Here's a quote from Jookie's FAQ page:

http://joo.kie.sk/ultrasatan/faq.html

Q: I got an internal SCSI hard drive and ICD ADSCI Micro Host adapter still fitted in my Atari Mega 4 (SCSI Unit ID: 0). Do I need to remove these first or will the UltraSatan handle being parallel connected albeit via the external hard drive port?
A: it would be best to configure the UltraSatan first to use some other IDs as 0 (i.e. set it to 1 to 7). It shouldn't break when connected to ST with other devices with the same IDs, but you couldn't configure it to new IDs either, because they would 'talk' one through the other (both will respond to the same requests) and the result will be that the ST won't 'understand' none of the devices. So the best would be to configure it on other computer (i.e. on other ST) and then connect it to the Mega ST 4.

There is a program in the downloads section to do this:

http://joo.kie.sk/ultrasatan/download/

Hope this helps.

(note I've not actually tried this myself, so YMMV).
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wongck » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:22 am

Seems like issue is actually the default SCSI-ID and no easy way to change the SCSI-ID if you only have 1 system.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10743
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby alanh » Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:12 am

Solarricht wrote:I will try the USD ids again, but if Alanh is right USD is not compatable with scsi host adapters.


I didn't say that to generalize SCSI adapters. Just the particular one you have.

I've had trouble with my MegaFile if it's in the chain after the UltraSatan, but before it works.

So there's undoubtedly trouble with the USD firmware, but YMMV with different SCSI host adapters.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
alanh
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby Solarricht » Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:55 pm

alanh wrote:
Solarricht wrote:I will try the USD ids again, but if Alanh is right USD is not compatable with scsi host adapters.


I didn't say that to generalize SCSI adapters. Just the particular one you have.

I've had trouble with my MegaFile if it's in the chain after the UltraSatan, but before it works.

So there's undoubtedly trouble with the USD firmware, but YMMV with different SCSI host adapters.

Yep understood thanks, i need to be clearer in my posts. What splitter do you use to put USdisc after megafile?
Am trying HDdriver instead of icd now but no luck so far... Will keep trying until i run out of options. There are people who have had success with this hardware combination so ill pursue it for bit longer.
Solarricht
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby alanh » Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:03 pm

Not sure what you mean by splitter.

But it goes like this for the configuration that works...

Atari ACSI -> MegaFile ACSI IN -> MegaFile ACSI Out -> USD (Type A cable)

Type A only has one ACSI connector.
Type B has two for IN/OUT.

If I do this...

Internal USD adapter -> Atari ACSI -> MegaFile ACSI IN

Then the USD shows up as "--------"

Alan.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
alanh
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby wood_jl » Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:58 am

Hi, I just ordered one. I hope it's still on!

I finally got the Mega STe. Then I moved, then summer visitors (houseguests), then summer school. I forgot about this!!!

Thanks!
User avatar
wood_jl
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:17 pm

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:26 am

wood_jl wrote:Hi, I just ordered one. I hope it's still on!

I finally got the Mega STe. Then I moved, then summer visitors (houseguests), then summer school. I forgot about this!!!

Thanks!


I can't really speak for Alan, but IIRC, he said he could make them on an "as needed" basis.

He'll answer you shortly, I'm sure.

PS If you can get one, they are awesome! :)

PSS Right, found it, 4th page, about halfway down:

alanh wrote:Ordering will stay open indefinitely.

Cheers.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:22 am

I hadn't seen anyone post any comments or pictures about what they had done with
their cable, so I thought I'd post a couple. :)

The first pictures shows Alan's excellent cable plugged into the internal ACSI port of
my STacy.

SAM_1532.JPG


The 2nd pictures shows my Ultrasatan, bolted into the drive cage of the STacy. I
used the rails from a 3.5" drive adaptor kit (one of those that lets you put some
thing like an EZ or Zip drive into a 5 1/4" bay) to mount the Ultrasatan with. It
seemed to work fine - very solid. The Ultrasatan now occupies the place that the
original 20meg hard drive was.

SAM_1533.JPG


The 3rd picture shows the drive cage, complete with floppy drive and Ultrasatan,
sitting in the drive bay, on the right hand side of my STacy.

SAM_1535.JPG


Finally, this pictures shows the original hard drive cover, complete with ventilation
holes. I'll need access to the UltraSatan though, so I've got some dremel work ahead
of me to make it fit snugly around the Ultrasatan.

SAM_1538.JPG


All in all, its turned out far better than I hoped it would. I'd love to see what everyone
else has done with theirs. :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby blip » Mon Aug 22, 2011 12:48 am

@ DarkLord

Can the Hard Drive cover still be attached to cover up the ultrasatan with SD card inserted?
blip
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:23 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:35 am

blip wrote:@ DarkLord

Can the Hard Drive cover still be attached to cover up the ultrasatan with SD card inserted?


Sure, you could mount the Ultrasatan a bit back from where I have it. Its much smaller than the
original 20meg hard drive that used to sit there.

I have to ask though - *why* would you want to do that? If you did cover the US up, you'd not be
able to swap out your SD cards without taking the machine apart, or see the activity lights.

Sorry if I'm missing the point of your question though...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby blip » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:58 am

didnt realise you had to dismantle the STacy to remove the HDD cover...;) another mod perhaps.
blip
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:23 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:17 am

blip wrote:didnt realise you had to dismantle the STacy to remove the HDD cover...;) another mod perhaps.


Oh, okay. Probably hard to tell from the picture, but all that flat piece of plastic does is slide into grooves on the right and
left hand side, then sits in a similiar groove on the bottom. Just a cover, that's all. :)

PS Here, you can see it installed:

PSS Thank you Spiny. :)

DSC_0159.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby blip » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:39 am

probably not worth it but i guess you could cut a hole in the cover large enough to access the SD cards and see the activity lights.
blip
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:23 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:03 pm

Okay, I engaged in hand-to-hand combat, armed only with a hacksaw blade, dremel,
a fairly sharp edged knife, and emerged semi-victorious.

This is the STacy's hard drive cover, modified to allow access to the lights and SDcard
slots of the internal Ultrasatan.

After looking it over, I think I'll probably try to acquire another HD cover and not remove
the strip at the top, only cutting out a slot just barely big enough to reveal the lights
and slots.

P9080002.JPG


Hope I'm not boring everyone with this, but I hadn't seen any posts from any other
STacy/Ultrasatan owners about what they are doing. If nothing else, my gaffs and mistakes
should help others decide on what they want or don't want to do.

To be continued... :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby blip » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:04 am

looks pretty clean as is!
blip
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:23 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby DarkLord » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:49 am

blip wrote:looks pretty clean as is!


Thanks!

Yeah, I got it pretty straight, even and all that, but I think I'd just
like the opening a wee bit smaller, so that there isn't any gap around
the Ultrasatan.

It'll do for now, until I get another cover to practic...er work on. :)

PS been thinking that just about any old piece of plastic, of the same
thickness (to still fit the slots) would do just as good. Could paint it
to match, and surely would be a lot cheaper.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby bid » Wed Sep 14, 2011 2:21 pm

DarkLord wrote:Hope I'm not boring everyone with this, but I hadn't seen any posts from any other
STacy/Ultrasatan owners about what they are doing. If nothing else, my gaffs and mistakes
should help others decide on what they want or don't want to do.

To be continued... :)


Not at all! This is very interesting. Great mod!!! :D
Atari 520STe (4MB) from new (",), Atari Mega ST4 (given by customer), Atari Mega STe broken motherboard (with chips missing) and Atari TT030 (2MB now partly working, + some bits I am going to add soon)
Also, see my new blog about my Atari TT Adventures http://atari-bid.blogspot.com/ my company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Postby spiny » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:23 pm

I'm reading with interest :)

I have the cable and my old SatanDisk ready to do something similar, just need to find the time :D
User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests