UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:25 am

clocky 3 also fix the issue. :mrgreen:
This is a great app.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:21 pm

Ok, I may be forgetting something here.

DrCoolZic wrote:Actually I found clock.cpx in English. I will try it without the y2k_fix program to see if also solve the problem.


I think clocky fix the issue. clock_e.cpx allows me to enter 4 digits year into the system time.
So you may still need that y2K_fix.

I realised that I have setup my systems to use clocky with tos. Mint without it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:27 pm

wongck wrote:I think clocky fix the issue. clock_e.cpx allows me to enter 4 digits year into the system time.
So you may still need that y2K_fix.


On Clocky's list of features says: System fixes (Y2K, MegaSTE, colors, sound), and a bit later: workaround for Y2K bug in older ST machines.

So clocky should fix the Y2K problem.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:38 pm

I dowloaded clocky 3.02 + 3.12 patch and made some tests : Now I am really confuse :oops:

config 1) Auto folder: clocky + us_getcl and clock_e.cpx in CPX
Date is set 89 (not 28!) ==> clock_e.cpx pops up ==> I Set date to 2009 ==> and now clocky display 09 ==> control panel display 09
rerun manually us_getcl.prg ==> date set back to 89 :(
Not really a fix instead of getting 28 you're getting 89 ???
and by the way when using setclock (or setclock 312) in settings->Time special the work around y2k is grayed :?:

config 2) Auto folder: y2k_fix + usgetcl and clock_e.cpx in cpx
Date is set correcly to 09 ==> clock_.cpx does not pop up ==> and control panel display 09 :)

config 3) Auto folder: clocky + y2k_fix + us_getcl and clock_e.cpx in cpx
Date is set to 09 ==> clock_e does not pops up ==> clocky display 09 ==> control panel display 09 :D

So looks like clocky did not solved the y2k problem. But I made some more tests with config 1: if I use clock_e and set time to 09 it is correctly displayed in clocky to 09 :o
Now it looks like clocky solve the y2k problem ???
By reading document on the problem it is explained that there are two clocks in Atari system and clocky must solve one but not the other ???
Apparently us_getcl from jookie must be using the other clock ???

The good news is that with configuration 3 it is possible to use clocky (nice to display time) and us_getcl work to set date correctly :D :o

However as I said at the beginning I am confuse
And by the way Jookie what tool do you use to display time as this tools also seems to fix the problem ???

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:24 am

Great that you found a solution.
I am also confuse somethime especially it was done last year :wink:

For Tos, clocky seems to work for me - the time on the control panel and files timestamp looks OK.
Not sure which clock it patches but they work.
On Mint, I do not use clocky and it seems to remain to work.
I am not sure if it the software (tos) or the hardware clock is the cause of this for TT/Falc.
I suppose Mint routines takes care of Y2K issues, and both TT & Falc hardware can support >2000 years.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:12 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:config 3) Auto folder: clocky + y2k_fix + us_getcl and clock_e.cpx in cpx
Date is set to 09 ==> clock_e does not pops up ==> clocky display 09 ==> control panel display 09 :D

Config 3 is the one that work for me too. So, looks like clocky didn't solve the Y2K issue.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:19 am

AtariSince1989 wrote:Config 3 is the one that work for me too. So, looks like clocky didn't solve the Y2K issue.

I have documented the work around that works for me in my USD partitioning & user's guide viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18027

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:14 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:Config 3 is the one that work for me too. So, looks like clocky didn't solve the Y2K issue.

I have documented the work around that works for me in my USD partitioning & user's guide viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18027


Shouldn't it be on the Wiki?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:41 pm

wongck wrote:Shouldn't it be on the Wiki?

I do not know how hard to convert from Word 2007 to wiki keeping the placement of graphics and links?

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:48 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:
wongck wrote:Shouldn't it be on the Wiki?

I do not know how hard to convert from Word 2007 to wiki keeping the placement of graphics and links?

I tried those kind of conversions a few times, and it's really painful. May I suggest you create the entry on teh wiki and put the links to my FTP Server? Thus people looking at the Wiki will find easily how to get the documents. Up to you!
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:38 pm

Oh is it that difficult? :?
I have not written anything on the wiki but building webpages from tools available seems OK.
Also Words as well as Open Office does produce documents in HTML format.
(Words puts alot of trash in it as well when it does that :mrgreen: ).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:48 pm

wongck wrote:Oh is it that difficult? :?
I have not written anything on the wiki but building webpages from tools available seems OK.
Also Words as well as Open Office does produce documents in HTML format.
(Words puts alot of trash in it as well when it does that :mrgreen: ).

No, writing on a Wiki isn't difficult. What I have found difficult is to convert a Word document into a Wiki page. Even, as you mentioned, Word and Open Office do export to HTML, the results aren't always what you think it should be, especially when you have lots of images and different fonts. I tried a couple of times, and it's a really mess. Maybe were my bad skills :lol:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:46 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote: Maybe were my bad skills :lol:

No it's not. The tools are really not the same quality/standard and makes the output sucks. [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_16.gif]
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:43 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote:
DrCoolZic wrote:
wongck wrote:Shouldn't it be on the Wiki?

I do not know how hard to convert from Word 2007 to wiki keeping the placement of graphics and links?

I tried those kind of conversions a few times, and it's really painful. May I suggest you create the entry on teh wiki and put the links to my FTP Server? Thus people looking at the Wiki will find easily how to get the documents. Up to you!

I think I have tried long time ago but I you say it is not easy and I gave up. I never realy look at the Atari wiki but your idea sound good.
I am also thinking of remaking a Web site :wink: but this is also a lot of work ... we will see what times permit

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby Jookie » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:19 pm

Here's the clock accessory I've used...

myclock.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:04 pm

Jookie wrote:Here's the clock accessory I've used...
myclock.zip

This is strange your clock accessory does not solve the y2k problem 8O
This was expected as ACC are loaded after execution of AUTO programs, therefore us_getcl gets executed before ACC
But even if us_getcl is executed it does not work :?: now the date displayed is 89 :o
This looks strange as apparently 1.x TOS has the problem. Any other program in the AUTO ?
Actually I have done all test on 1.04 (TOS Us) I need to test 1.62 but I can't understand why only some people seems to have the problem

Ok I did the test with 1.62 (TOS french) and I have the same bug

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:24 pm

I think it depends on which internal clock device it is gettting the time from.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:32 pm

wongck wrote:I think it depends on which internal clock device it is gettting the time from.

I was going to suggest something similar :D Maybe I'm going to say something very stupid... Does us_getcl get the time stored in the USD and myclock, clocky, etc. gets the time stored in the XBIOS?
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:59 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote:
wongck wrote:I think it depends on which internal clock device it is gettting the time from.

I was going to suggest something similar :D Maybe I'm going to say something very stupid... Does us_getcl get the time stored in the USD and myclock, clocky, etc. gets the time stored in the XBIOS?


I think it suppose to update the system clock.
On my old Supra SCSI adapter used on my STFM, a similar program reads the clcok on the SCSI adapter and updates the system.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
tresas
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Greece

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby tresas » Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:08 pm

Finally, I am confused! In a 1040STE with 4MB RAM and TOS 1.62, I haven't managed to set the UltraSatan so as to correctly show the date. The time is set correctly but it displays 25/03/28. Is there anything new that solves the problem? Does anybody else have the same problem?
Atari Jackintosh for ever!

User avatar
tresas
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Greece

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby tresas » Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:22 pm

Could TOS 2.06 solve the problem?
Atari Jackintosh for ever!

JohnPolka
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby JohnPolka » Thu May 02, 2019 12:21 pm

tresas wrote:Finally, I am confused! In a 1040STE with 4MB RAM and TOS 1.62, I haven't managed to set the UltraSatan so as to correctly show the date. The time is set correctly but it displays 25/03/28. Is there anything new that solves the problem? Does anybody else have the same problem?


Did you ever resolve your problem? I have a similar setup (1040STE, 4MB, TOS 1.62) and I cannot set the time and date on my UltraSatan. The date and time do appear to be working but can't be set. When I first ran the clock set program it said the date was was 2002-03-18. When I replaced the battery, it reset to 2001-01-01. It doesn't matter how I enter the time and date using the US setclock utility. The US never gets set. I also tried setting the US on a stock 520STFM, but it did not work either. So, the problem appears to be with the US and not the ST/STE.

I suspect this may be a hardware problem on the US. However, I wondered too if upgrading to TOS 2.06 helped. If you happen to read this, please let me know if you ever resolved your issue.

Thanks,

-JP

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby Bikerbob » Thu May 02, 2019 3:15 pm

Just as a test John, have you removed the battery and used it without it there? Does the clock reset each time you cycle on the machine?

Let the machine run for 30min.. turn it off and see does it go back to the same start time.. at least you then know the machine is getting the time from it.

James

JohnPolka
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby JohnPolka » Thu May 02, 2019 4:05 pm

Bikerbob wrote:Just as a test John, have you removed the battery and used it without it there? Does the clock reset each time you cycle on the machine?

Let the machine run for 30min.. turn it off and see does it go back to the same start time.. at least you then know the machine is getting the time from it.

James


I will try to set it without the battery present. I will also try your other suggestions with cycling the machine. Thanks!

JohnPolka
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby JohnPolka » Fri May 03, 2019 4:29 am

JohnPolka wrote:
Bikerbob wrote:Just as a test John, have you removed the battery and used it without it there? Does the clock reset each time you cycle on the machine?

Let the machine run for 30min.. turn it off and see does it go back to the same start time.. at least you then know the machine is getting the time from it.

James


I will try to set it without the battery present. I will also try your other suggestions with cycling the machine. Thanks!


I tried those experiments and had the same results (i.e., unable to set the time on the US).


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests