UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:39 pm

Hi, when I boot my UltraSatan I see one of the lines that says System Clock Set: n/a, and it remains me that I read somewhere that UltraSatan has a battery backed up RTC chip, which can be used as a replacement for a Forget-me-clock.

Now my question... how to do it? :D Thanks a lot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby Jookie » Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:23 pm

Go to the download section of UltraSatan web:
http://joo.kie.sk/ultrasatan/download/

...and download the 'UltraSatan clock tools', unzip, follow the instructions in 'howto.txt' ;)

Jookie

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:24 am

Jookie wrote:Go to the download section of UltraSatan web:
http://joo.kie.sk/ultrasatan/download/

...and download the 'UltraSatan clock tools', unzip, follow the instructions in 'howto.txt' ;)

Jookie

Ah, I didn't see that download section on your website. Thanks a lot :cheers:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby MiggyMog » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:55 pm

That has saved me asking, great stuff!
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:55 am

By the way, what are those messages for, on my screenshot above?

1) Attempt to read ASSIGN.SYS failed
2) ATARI GDOS RELEASE 1.1 not installed

Thanks a lot, and sorry for my ignorance :roll:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11402
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby Mug UK » Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:49 am

ASSIGN.SYS (from memory) was associated with GDOS (used to contain all your GDOS fonts, printer fonts etc.) and GDOS is well .. GDOS. Atari's attempt at allowing you (at the time) to use fancy fonts in your programs that used standard GEM fonts (i.e. Degas Elite and Timeworks DTP).
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:14 pm

Mug UK wrote:ASSIGN.SYS (from memory) was associated with GDOS (used to contain all your GDOS fonts, printer fonts etc.) and GDOS is well .. GDOS. Atari's attempt at allowing you (at the time) to use fancy fonts in your programs that used standard GEM fonts (i.e. Degas Elite and Timeworks DTP).


Thanks a lot :D

Why is asking me for GDOS? Maybe because I'm using Teradesk?
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:23 pm

Mug UK wrote:ASSIGN.SYS (from memory) was associated with GDOS (used to contain all your GDOS fonts, printer fonts etc.) and GDOS is well .. GDOS. Atari's attempt at allowing you (at the time) to use fancy fonts in your programs that used standard GEM fonts (i.e. Degas Elite and Timeworks DTP).

Yes, this is correct. It allows more fonts to be available on the system.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:24 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote:
Mug UK wrote:ASSIGN.SYS (from memory) was associated with GDOS (used to contain all your GDOS fonts, printer fonts etc.) and GDOS is well .. GDOS. Atari's attempt at allowing you (at the time) to use fancy fonts in your programs that used standard GEM fonts (i.e. Degas Elite and Timeworks DTP).


Thanks a lot :D

Why is asking me for GDOS? Maybe because I'm using Teradesk?


Check your AUTO folder, may be GDOS is trying to load up.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 1:14 pm

wongck wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:
Mug UK wrote:ASSIGN.SYS (from memory) was associated with GDOS (used to contain all your GDOS fonts, printer fonts etc.) and GDOS is well .. GDOS. Atari's attempt at allowing you (at the time) to use fancy fonts in your programs that used standard GEM fonts (i.e. Degas Elite and Timeworks DTP).


Thanks a lot :D

Why is asking me for GDOS? Maybe because I'm using Teradesk?


Check your AUTO folder, may be GDOS is trying to load up.

Indeed! There is the slick one :D

I copied AUTO from my Steem, and now I have seen that I forgot to copy ASSIGN.SYS and the whole PUBLISH folder :?

Thanks a lot :cheers:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:03 pm

Programs don't show up running for no reasons. :wink:
Unlike Wintel, Virus are almost non-existance on the Atari.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:10 pm

wongck wrote:Programs don't show up running for no reasons. :wink:


Aye, quoting HAL9000: It can only be attributable to human error. :angel:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby MiggyMog » Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:24 pm

There is an ST autofolder program which came on an ST format coverdisk which has HAL 9000 saying 'I am completly operational & all my circuits are functioning perfectly'.

I used to have my ST boot and say that all the time :-)
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DarkLord » Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:59 pm

MiggyMog wrote:There is an ST autofolder program which came on an ST format coverdisk which has HAL 9000 saying 'I am completly operational & all my circuits are functioning perfectly'.

I used to have my ST boot and say that all the time :-)


Still do with my STacy. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
StickHead
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:00 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby StickHead » Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:30 pm

DarkLord wrote:
MiggyMog wrote:There is an ST autofolder program which came on an ST format coverdisk which has HAL 9000 saying 'I am completly operational & all my circuits are functioning perfectly'.

I used to have my ST boot and say that all the time :-)


Still do with my STacy. :)


Wow. Seriously. You must share that program. Maybe I'll write my own that sings daisy when you try and turn it off. :D
The Joy of STicks - YouTube - Blog - Twitter - Facebook
New Developments and old inspirations in Atari ST gaming.

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:44 pm

StickHead wrote:
DarkLord wrote:
MiggyMog wrote:There is an ST autofolder program which came on an ST format coverdisk which has HAL 9000 saying 'I am completly operational & all my circuits are functioning perfectly'.

I used to have my ST boot and say that all the time :-)


Still do with my STacy. :)


Wow. Seriously. You must share that program. Maybe I'll write my own that sings daisy when you try and turn it off. :D

Yes, please please please, share it :angel:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DarkLord » Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:22 am

Okay, I'm gonna try to upload this - often seem to have trouble with Atari files I've
zipped under Linux.

It's AUTOPLAY.ZIP and there is a folder inside the archive called (amazingly enough)
"AUTOPLAY". Inside it you will find 4 files. All 4 of these files go into your AUTO folder.
I'd recommend using a blank floppy with just this in the AUTO folder to try it out, before
trying it from a hard drive or SatanDisk/UltraSatan. I seem to remember some software
not getting along with it. Also, depending on the speed of your machine, it might take a
moment to load up the sound and play it. Definitely longer from floppy - much better from
hard drive, SD, etc,.. Watch your memory too. IIRC, a lot of .SND files will work - doesn't
have to be just the one included. I think I had "Could it be Sataaaaaaaan" (church lady
- Saturday Night Live) once. :)

The 4 files are:

AUTOPLAY.PRG
BASCODE.EXE
.BAS
HAL.SND

<edit> Not sure about the order in the AUTO folder, but I don't remember that being
critical.

I'm pretty sure this is not the right place to upload this but I couldn't find a sound forum (lots
of music though) so if the admins want to put it in a more appropriate place, I'd be grateful.

Let me know if this works gang.

AUTOPLAY.ZIP
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:25 pm

DarkLord wrote:AUTOPLAY.ZIP


Thanks. I am going to use the SND on my work place Windows.
Now is to find a converter to WAVE format and add in "NOT" at the end. :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:31 pm

wongck wrote:
DarkLord wrote:AUTOPLAY.ZIP


Thanks. I am going to use the SND on my work place Windows.
Now is to find a converter to WAVE format and add in "NOT" at the end. :lol:

On the PC I have the one that says "Good evening Dave, everything is running smoothly" and then for critical errors "I'm sorry, Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that"... advantages of having Dave as my name :D
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:38 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote:On the PC I have the one that says "Good evening Dave, everything is running smoothly" and then for critical errors "I'm sorry, Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that"... advantages of having Dave as my name :D

Nice one Dave.
:cheers:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DarkLord » Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:11 pm

wongck wrote:
DarkLord wrote:AUTOPLAY.ZIP


Thanks. I am going to use the SND on my work place Windows.
Now is to find a converter to WAVE format and add in "NOT" at the end. :lol:


That's funny. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1964
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby Desty » Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:12 pm

MiggyMog wrote:There is an ST autofolder program which came on an ST format coverdisk which has HAL 9000 saying 'I am completly operational & all my circuits are functioning perfectly'.

I used to have my ST boot and say that all the time :-)

Me too! Actually I'd completely forgotten about that until you mentioned it, even though I heard it like 5 times a day for... many days :D
tá'n poc ar buile!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:35 pm

DarkLord wrote:
wongck wrote:
DarkLord wrote:AUTOPLAY.ZIP


Thanks. I am going to use the SND on my work place Windows.
Now is to find a converter to WAVE format and add in "NOT" at the end. :lol:


That's funny. :)


I am serious about it. Not a joke!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby DarkLord » Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:53 pm

I meant it was funny that you were doing it, and what its going to say now.

Not arguing with you that Windows works...NOT! :D

Why I use Linux when I'm not using my Atari's. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12769
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: UltraSatan - System Clock Set

Postby wongck » Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:39 am

wongck wrote:Thanks. I am going to use the SND on my work place Windows.
Now is to find a converter to WAVE format and add in "NOT" at the end. :lol:

Ok, not perfect yet. Can't find a "NOT" wave file.
But something like this.
May be I can add Simpson's "duh" :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests