anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby jd » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:03 am

Had to use a translator site but it looks very nice and compact good read, 'nicer' than the EhterNEC :wink:

Other than learn german has anyone in the UK got one of these?

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:39 pm

jd wrote:any news on the hydra's?


They are coming. I just have to work on the pre-orders before I can start here at af.com so please give me some days.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:45 am

djbase wrote:
jd wrote:any news on the hydra's?


They are coming. I just have to work on the pre-orders before I can start here at af.com so please give me some days.


Well done, finally. I will have to look at the pricing :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:34 am

Just an update...as the first batch is already sold out, I just have ordered another one...will take 2 weeks to get the PCBs here, so I think we can finally start in just a couple of days.

The friends at atari-home.de made some really nice pictures: http://www.atari-home.de/2010/03/die-hydra-ist-fertig/

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4369
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby DarkLord » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:15 am

Pardon me, I forgot - where is the order page for this? Is it in English?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:24 pm

Wow never knew there was a 1st batch......
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:34 pm

djbase wrote:The friends at atari-home.de made some really nice pictures: http://www.atari-home.de/2010/03/die-hydra-ist-fertig/


Djbase, looks very nice & professionally done. ;thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:09 pm

DarkLord wrote:Pardon me, I forgot - where is the order page for this? Is it in English?

Thanks.


Will follow when I have the final costs for the new batch.

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby jd » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:01 pm

djbase wrote:
Will follow when I have the final costs for the new batch.


Yes please, as i'll be ordering one.

cheers

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby Shredder11 » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:08 pm

Oh my goodness I have been gagging for this one for ages!!! :cheers: The Hydra looks pretty stunning visually too if you don't mind me saying! :cheers:

User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby krupkaj » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:11 pm

Indeed, it is very nice. I would like to have one or two :)

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5133
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:01 pm

krupkaj wrote:Indeed, it is very nice. I would like to have one or two :)


If you can't await the next batch, I can sell you one of my Hydras at Outline in a few weeks. Looking forward to meet you btw :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby ralcool » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:19 pm

You know, if you compare an ISA rtl8019 card.. the ethernec adapter, the onboard logics & how it communicates with the cartridge port.
This is one clever little hardware shrink! Just add one little clock generator, and presto. Now write the software......

Good Job on sourcing the realtec chips, and making this happen.

One HAS to ask. Can we do away with the cartridge port, and wire this thing internally without using ROM3/4. But find more unused address space and decoding for IO R/W.
Leaving the catridge port free?

The rom sockets are SOOO handy.... (If lacking a few address lines...)
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby alanh » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:38 pm

It can easily be wired directly on the 68000 CPU, but requires soldering skills.

A lot of people don't want to do that.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby alanh » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:40 pm

Oh, and there is an ACSI alternative which requires some slightly different logic attaching the RTL8019AS chip, but that requires external power and the ubiquitous DB19 shells.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby alanh » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:41 pm

And finally, there's still the Daynaport SCSI->ethernet route too which will free up your ROM port. They can still be had on ebay every now and then.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:03 pm

And if you really need more than one Rom Port you can try one of these splitters like the Midex...

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby ralcool » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:15 pm

I would LOVE to see a schematic for a cpu mounted version. And which driver would run it.
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby MiggyMog » Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:32 pm

Can you provide a link to the preorder Djbase?
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:54 am

There is no link...I am still waiting for the PCBs...not sure if theres a huge delay because of that vulcano-action over Europe right now. Seems every airport is closed here.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:57 am

your PCB coming from where?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:22 pm

wongck wrote:your PCB coming from where?


China...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12787
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:53 am

I read from the newspaper that over 17.000 flights are cancelled.
and it may last up to 6 months.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby djbase » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:32 pm

Finally, they arrived and the first boards are now available.

DSC00764.JPG


Price for a single board is: 25 Euro

Here are the rules to get one:

1. Send me one (1) PM with your quantity, name and address (needed to calculate the shipping costs)
2. You will get a reply once you are the next on the list (first in, first get service)
3. Payment can be done by PayPal
4. Please don't cookie me and ask me all the time whats going on (you will get your board!)
5. If it takes a bit longer play some tetris...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Postby Shredder11 » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:44 pm

PM Sent, thank you!


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests