STe - Bad DMA Chip

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STe - Bad DMA Chip

Postby exxos » Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:30 pm

oops, misread what you said , though all my tests were done between the DMA and ACSI port. I have not even gone back to the CPU. Though if you check alanh's thread, he had to place some capacitors on the CPU R/W lines due to noise problems ( I presume) so make of that what you will...

Repairs in notts ? Who was that then ? Seems to be a busy area around staffs of late with Atari activity... Though I been asleep for the past few years ;)

I suspect anyway, as parts go leaky over time, that its not helping the issues anyway. I think the ST was "borderline working" as it left the factory. Age and faster devices being connected are really showing up the design problems..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: STe - Bad DMA Chip

Postby SteveBagley » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:03 pm

exxos wrote:Repairs in notts ? Who was that then ? Seems to be a busy area around staffs of late with Atari activity... Though I been asleep for the past few years ;)


This was back in the 1990s, C&P Rossiter was the firm IIRC (run out of the guys front room). I've also just got back into the swing of things as my old machines died -- although I did pick up a Falcon and MEGA back in 2007 (and a MegaSTE earlier this year). I suspect all of them will be pressed into service in the next few weeks when I start teaching Computer Architecture :)

Steve

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STe - Bad DMA Chip

Postby exxos » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:19 pm

Sounds like a cool course, was Z80 in my day, and I am not *that* old :lol: 2K ram dev board to play with, nothing but a numeric screen and basic keyboard to enter machine code into ram and run it. was great stuff. Probably forgot most of it!

Always remember a task to count from 0000 to 1111 on a LED 8 bit output port.easy stuff.. kinda.. Then the tutor said now we have to get it to count on the upper 4 bits of the port, not the lower 4 bits... needless to say everyone over thought it and basically couldn't do it! I think one of my programs I actually ran out of ram! :lol: Tutor gave us a hint that we only needed 1 command to do it... "AH...oops" :lol: good days :cheers:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests