SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

marcelschoen
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:17 am

SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby marcelschoen » Tue May 17, 2016 7:02 pm

Hello,

I happened to find some old SPEKTRUM graphics card driver floppy disks from Wilhelm Mikroelektronik. Note: At first glance, it looks as if all 4 disks were exactly the same. At least they were all labeled exactly the same ("Color graphics card driver software, setup, control panel"). I guess they might differ in the configuration files on them - but anyone interested in this will have to find out for themselves.

See attachement for download.

Cheers,
Marcel
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by marcelschoen on Wed May 18, 2016 8:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby blaylok » Wed May 18, 2016 1:36 am

Thanks very much for posting those up, i have been looking for them for ages. :-)

marcelschoen
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:17 am

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby marcelschoen » Wed May 18, 2016 6:52 am

I remember the configuration not being easy, for me. If you want, I can also post an archive with a configuration that worked in my TT with some old VGA monitor (which unfortunately won't necessarily mean it will work with yours, but maybe it can give some pointers).

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby blaylok » Wed May 18, 2016 7:22 am

Yes, if you could post that it would be great. :-)

Thank you

blaylok

marcelschoen
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:17 am

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby marcelschoen » Wed May 18, 2016 7:42 am

I hope I didn't just promise something I can't keep; but I'm fairly certain I still have a backup of that config lying around. I'll have a look at it this evening whem I'm back home.

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby blaylok » Wed May 18, 2016 8:59 am

Thanks marcel

marcelschoen
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:17 am

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby marcelschoen » Wed May 18, 2016 8:53 pm

OK, I added a ZIP attachement to my first post, with a partial copy of my C drive of my old TT. Partial because on the one hand it was too large with everything (attachement size too big), and also some things are not relevant. I'm not even sure what is. I think it had a lot to do with the NVDI configuration. There is an "NVDIVGA.INF" file in the "AUTO" folder that is probably important.

If you ever get it to work, maybe you could add an attachement with your setup too.

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby blaylok » Wed May 18, 2016 9:51 pm

Hey thanks very much for that marcel :-)

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:08 am

So I just managed to get one of these, and I looked all over for the drivers, then found this!

Unfortunately I still can't manage to get it to work. So my thoughts are this;
A) my TT needs a recap (or other repairs) because it's been kind of flaky lately and been causing bombs randomly.
B) It's freaking out because of my memory expansions I bought the Thunder / Storm (though I haven't connected the IDE interface yet) and have 64mb of TT RAM and 4MB of ST RAM.
C) I'm using an Ultra Satan through ACSI in the back. I already know this was causing extendos to be disagreeable.

Any hints / suggestions? I should look into new PSU/Caps for the TT, I mean that very well could be it. It also would randomly not load off of the Ultra Satan as well, so....
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby mzry » Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:36 am

Perhaps you could describe the behaviour of your TT when trying the drivers.
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - SCSI2SD - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:06 am

Two bombs. A few times.
The card sort of works in the Mega STe. At least as far as displaying something. I'm in the process of trying to get an HDDriver setup on an SD card so I can see if it's happier on the TT, though I do need to test the newer ppdriver as well.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby edingacic » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:55 am

leech where did you get the Spektrum card from I am looking for this one - Spektrum I HR version - it can go up to 1600x1280 @ 16 - 130Mhz. I would love to use it with CuBase but I don't know if CuBase will work. Since you have the Spektrum card you are my only hope to test it with CuBase :)

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:00 am

I got it from Rustynutt, and I think it's the one lower than that, but it says in the docs that you can upgrade these, I'm assuming if I could find the correct ram chips.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby edingacic » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:09 am

are you using it now? I would love to see if CuBase runs well on it?

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:06 pm

If I get time tonight, I need to swap the 3.06 TOS chips back in, then I'll give it a shot. Any particular cubase version? I could even hook up my crappy MIDI keyboard!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:24 am

edingacic wrote:are you using it now? I would love to see if CuBase runs well on it?


The answer is yes! Granted I only loaded it up and loaded a .mid file and listened to my keyboard use it. But it sure seems to work. (tested with Cubase 3.01 in 1024x768@256)
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:34 am

edingacic wrote:leech where did you get the Spektrum card from I am looking for this one - Spektrum I HR version - it can go up to 1600x1280 @ 16 - 130Mhz. I would love to use it with CuBase but I don't know if CuBase will work. Since you have the Spektrum card you are my only hope to test it with CuBase :)


The user I purchased the TC card from has the HR version in his TT. That was about 3 years ago. Forget his board name, not sure if he hangs out here much, but we are always in contact on FB. Last said, he was pulling out his TT to use again.
But let me ask, is not Frank's adapter a better choice now price wise? Leech got a smoking deal from me, near 1/4 what I paid. I have an ATI MACH64 that I think k does 1024*768 easily, but tend to leave it on the Falcon NOVA. Also have an ATT MACH32, think is's called, I will try in the VME adapter. It's upgradeable, and have a expansion card from an Apple card. Pin to pin functional fit is there, until I know more won't power it up until positive. See, I'm getting smarter :)

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby edingacic » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:25 am

wow that is cool leech, could you please post some pictures or a video? @rustynutt, the problem is that I don't know if its working with Cubase I ask these questions all the time but I don't get real answers :) What is this user on FB can you share the contact? Would love to ask more about his Spektrum HR!

EDIT:

@leech - did you try dongle version of cubase or crack? Thanks! Can you please try CuBase Score 2.0 r7 I can provide full disks if you have a red dongle form Cubase 3 it works on Score also.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby Atarieterno » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:55 am

I do not have that card, but I'm also grateful that you share the software and help to preserve it.
Thank you very much, Marcel.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:17 pm

edingacic wrote:wow that is cool leech, could you please post some pictures or a video? @rustynutt, the problem is that I don't know if its working with Cubase I ask these questions all the time but I don't get real answers :) What is this user on FB can you share the contact? Would love to ask more about his Spektrum HR!

EDIT:

@leech - did you try dongle version of cubase or crack? Thanks! Can you please try CuBase Score 2.0 r7 I can provide full disks if you have a red dongle form Cubase 3 it works on Score also.


It was a cracked version. I did make a video of it. I don't own one of the dongles. Was looking on ebay for one last night. They are kind of pricey, aren't they?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby edingacic » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:36 pm

yeah a bit expensive they are getting more and more expensive that is why I have two for backup :)

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby edingacic » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:13 pm

@leech - can you share the video somewhere?

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SPEKTRUM V1.0 Graphics Card Driver Disks found!

Postby leech » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:19 pm

edingacic wrote:@leech - can you share the video somewhere?

I need to make one with everything running, and somehow I messed up my Ultra Satan. Last time I tried to boot from the SD Card, it would just ignore it was hooked up. Tried HD Driver as well, and it didn't see anything on the ACSI bus.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests