Blitz cable & Program

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Blitz cable & Program

Postby DrCoolZic » Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:06 pm

I just got a "blitz cable" but unfortunately I got it without software.
Does anybody know what are the programs associated with the blitz cable and where can I find them?

Thanks
Dr Cool Zic

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:56 pm

hi,

I have build this archive with 4 blitz app, 3 of them seems to use the blitz hardware
I can say if it's the good one (I don't have the blitz cable)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:30 pm

What is blitz? The only blitz I know is a kind of warefare from the mid 40's
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:06 am

Blitz Cable Disk Copier. Dual Drive
Copier.Requires 2 Drives to Duplicate
Copy Protected Disks. Plugs into ST's
Printer Port and both Floppy Drives
to Format/Read/Write simultaneously.

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby Total Eclipse » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:07 am

Power Computing also offered the blitz hardware in an external floppy drive (looks just like a normal external drive, but it has the copier hardware built insede). 8)
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:27 pm

Thanks for the archive. From information I have it seems that some if not all of the programs seems to be the right applications.
I do not have time to check the programs today but I will get back to U soon.

Thanks again

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Postby sh3-rg » Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:03 pm

The 'Slower by Jobil' version of the software was the one I had most luck with

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:57 pm

they have a DIY Blitz cable on the "atari hardware hacks" web page mirror :

"Build the Blitz Turbo cable, the super floppy copier!"
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:59 pm

For information I have run some test using the blitz cable and the provided software. Config Atari 1040STF + external drive connected with a blitz cable.
As a short summary I was not very successful!
In order to test the solution I have used a program from DrT (a syhthesizer editor) with a copy protection that resists to all "standard" copy programs.
I have decompressed the archive from [ProTos] and from the archive found @ "Build the Blitz Turbo cable, the super floppy copier!"
The copy process failed for all the programs with the exception of blitz2/b_turbo.prg and blitz3/faster2.prg, using the default parameters, which is obviously not a really good score!
But even worse I decided to retry the programs that succeeded the first time and this time they all failed!!! I then tested a third time and "faster2.prg" was the only one to work? I have also played with the parameters (speed, number of tracks, etc) without success!
This indicates that the blitz cable does not provide a reliable solution in my context? This is may be due to my drives (documentations mention that speed of drives must match closely?) or may be due to the protection mechanism used by DrT soft (I believe the protection is based on so called data "under the index hole") ... The copy protection is somewhat partially (and unfortunately marginaly) reproduced on the copy as instead of geting the "bombs" the program hangs in most of the cases.

To finish on a positive note I have heard from the vendor that he was successful in copying a lot of games (and he is also suppose to send me a diskette with the prog he was using)!!!

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Postby sh3-rg » Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:05 pm

It's not reliable, it never was for me on the whole. But with decent qualty disks & drives & a little determination it can be useful :D Much better then having to go over th the Amiga kids and ask them to X-Copy something for me ;)

User avatar
beeka
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby beeka » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:30 pm

I have the blitz cable, and I've got a version of the software that originally came with it. I noticed that the blitz.2 file in the archive from earlier in this thread also appears to be the official software (if the rsc file is to be believed). I don't know if the one I have attached is newer or older. Oh, and I haven't tried this is in ages tho (don't have PSU for the second drive).

Steve
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby Total Eclipse » Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:39 am

Am I talking about something different then? My "Blitz Turbo" was sold by Power Computing. The version I have is built into an external floppy drive, and just connects via the standard floppy port. Power Computing also sold a standalone version, but I assumed that it also connected just to the floppy port! :?
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests