LaTeX from RIEMANN II

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Moulinaie » Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:41 pm

Hi !

New at LaTeX, I am using RIEMANN that can output a TEX file.
There seem to be several TeX source formats , and I would like to use an Atari software to generate the images or to print.

here is an example of the source:

Code: Select all

\begin{equation}
            2     %
          H     %
          R     %
              \pi   +
            2     %
                  R       ^{        2       }    %
              \pi  =   \pi \end{equation}

\begin{equation}
      2   %
      R   %
      \pi   *
         \left (      R     +
          e      \right )
 =   \pi \end{equation}

\begin{eqnarray}
  R  & = &       -       \left (        e /        2        \right )
  +
      \frac{      \sqrt{                  8         +
                              4           %
                                              e             ^{              2             }      }    }{      4     } \\
  R  & = &       -       \left (        e /        2        \right )
  -
      \frac{      \sqrt{                  8         +
                              4           %
                                              e             ^{              2             }      }    }{      4     } 
\end{eqnarray}

\[
0.17293742082148336818702 \]


And here is what it should look like when processed:
riem_quicklatex.gif


Can anyone help?

Guillaume.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby AdamK » Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:16 pm

There are (probably vastly outdated) SpareMiNT LaTeX packages. But you'll need heavily accelerated machine (mostly because of RAM requirements) for it to be usable.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby ThorstenOtto » Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:24 pm

There used to be also some Atari specific ports of TeX in the old days, StrunkTeX etc. Don't know if they are still good enough to process output of that program.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Moulinaie » Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi,

I have installed CS-TeX 4.0 that looks really complete.
It's a very fast TeX compiler. If I want to compile the TeX from RIEMANN, I have to modify some little things in the source code.
But, I would like to know what format is the CODE I showed you to be able to compile directly the RIEMANN files without any change.

Guillaume.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby czietz » Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:20 pm

Moulinaie wrote:But, I would like to know what format is the CODE I showed you to be able to compile directly the RIEMANN files without any change.


What you mean by "format"? What you posted is regular LaTeX. It is not a complete LaTeX document, though, because it misses things like \documentclass and \begin{document} [...] \end{document}. If RIEMANN only outputs what you have posted, you'll always need to insert it into some sort of template.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Moulinaie » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:09 pm

czietz wrote:
Moulinaie wrote:But, I would like to know what format is the CODE I showed you to be able to compile directly the RIEMANN files without any change.


What you mean by "format"? What you posted is regular LaTeX. It is not a complete LaTeX document, though, because it misses things like \documentclass and \begin{document} [...] \end{document}. If RIEMANN only outputs what you have posted, you'll always need to insert it into some sort of template.


Many thanks !
That was it, no header in the file. I added the three lines and it works.
There is another problem: I read that using \begin{equation} and \[ at the same time is not correct.
In fact, when I remove the \[ and \], the document is correctly generated.
So the RIEMANN package has to be modified a bit...

Guillaume.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby czietz » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:22 pm

\[ \] is perfectly valid syntax for displaymath, i.e. when you don't want an equation number. Although in "modern" LaTeX one would probably rather load the amsmath package and use the equation* environment for that, i.e. \begin{equation*} [...] \end{equation*}. So don't modify RIEMANN until you understand why your TeX distribution didn't like \[ \].

Paste the following document ...

Code: Select all

\documentclass{article}
\usepackage[latin1]{inputenc}


\begin{document}

\begin{equation}
            2     %
          H     %
          R     %
              \pi   +
            2     %
                  R       ^{        2       }    %
              \pi  =   \pi \end{equation}

\begin{equation}
      2   %
      R   %
      \pi   *
         \left (      R     +
          e      \right )
 =   \pi \end{equation}

\begin{eqnarray}
  R  & = &       -       \left (        e /        2        \right )
  +
      \frac{      \sqrt{                  8         +
                              4           %
                                              e             ^{              2             }      }    }{      4     } \\
  R  & = &       -       \left (        e /        2        \right )
  -
      \frac{      \sqrt{                  8         +
                              4           %
                                              e             ^{              2             }      }    }{      4     }
\end{eqnarray}

\[
0.17293742082148336818702 \]

\end{document}

... into e.g. https://latexbase.com/ and you'll see that it works with \[ and \].

As for why RIEMANN doesn't generate a full document (incl. header etc.): I assume the intended usage is that you write let's say your scientific paper in LaTeX in a text editor and just include the code snippets generated by RIEMANN, e.g. by means on an \input command.

arf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby arf » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:27 pm

Moulinaie wrote:That was it, no header in the file. I added the three lines and it works.
There is another problem: I read that using \begin{equation} and \[ at the same time is not correct.
In fact, when I remove the \[ and \], the document is correctly generated.
So the RIEMANN package has to be modified a bit...

Guillaume.


There’s nothing wrong with \[ and \], it “just” starts a math environment, without equation numbering, and \begin{equation} does have one (and may be easier to read, notation-wise). You just shouldn’t nest these, but that hasn’t been the case here.

Please note that a plain Atari CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX is stone age old: LaTeX 2.09. Maybe consider updating to LaTeX 2e within CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX. I didn’t ever do so, because I used MultiTeX back then on the ST/Falcon/MagiCMac.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Moulinaie » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:37 pm

arf wrote:Please note that a plain Atari CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX is stone age old: LaTeX 2.09. Maybe consider updating to LaTeX 2e within CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX. I didn’t ever do so, because I used MultiTeX back then on the ST/Falcon/MagiCMac.


Where can I find this " LaTeX 2e within CS-/Strunk-/Lindner" ?
I mostly work under plain TOS, is it ok?

Guillaume.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1805
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:12 pm

AdamK wrote:There are (probably vastly outdated) SpareMiNT LaTeX packages. But you'll need heavily accelerated machine (mostly because of RAM requirements) for it to be usable.


I used TeX/LaTeX (command line versions) on 4MB ST in early 90's. What's a "Rieman II" version of LaTeX?

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby Moulinaie » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:26 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote: What's a "Rieman II" version of LaTeX?


RIEMANN is a math program that has a package to output TeX source files.
Sorry if what I said was not clear ! I learned english at school...

Guillaume.

arf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LaTeX from RIEMANN II

Postby arf » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:36 pm

Moulinaie wrote:
arf wrote:Please note that a plain Atari CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX is stone age old: LaTeX 2.09. Maybe consider updating to LaTeX 2e within CS-/Strunk-/Lindner-TeX. I didn’t ever do so, because I used MultiTeX back then on the ST/Falcon/MagiCMac.


Where can I find this " LaTeX 2e within CS-/Strunk-/Lindner" ?
I mostly work under plain TOS, is it ok?


LaTeX 2e is a "newer" LaTeX implementation (from 1994!) that’s installable as a replacement of the ancient 2.09 version that came with CS-TeX/Strunk-TeX/Lindner-TeX. It is not Atari- or TOS-specific, as it is plain TeX, I guess you should still be able to source it on CTAN mirrors.


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests