Diamond Edge now GPL

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

anodyne
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby anodyne » Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:21 am

I've released Diamond Edge (source, manual, executables) as open source. You can download it from here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/diamon ... ses/v2.57/
You'll need Lattice C v5.60 to compile it.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby Rustynutt » Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:13 am

Cool Roger!

marss
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:29 pm

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby marss » Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:46 am

big thanks

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2509
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby spiny » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:08 am

Thanks :)

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby Cyprian » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:35 am

cool,
someone could correct trash partition bug :)
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby AdamK » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:57 am

Thanks Roger. Diamond Edge is rumored to have some data-destroying bugs. I've seen you already did some changes to the code. do you know about that bugs, have you tried to track them?
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

anodyne
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby anodyne » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:47 pm

There were several serious bugs in Diamond Edge v2.04 (the source version I received). To my knowledge, they are all now fixed, and have been for a long while. If you read the CHANGES.TXT file (or the comments at the start of each module), you should see them referenced.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1803
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:57 am

anodyne wrote:There were several serious bugs in Diamond Edge v2.04 (the source version I received). To my knowledge, they are all now fixed, and have been for a long while. If you read the CHANGES.TXT file (or the comments at the start of each module), you should see them referenced.


I don't see CHANGES.TXT either in the source repo at SF, in the binary install package, and the install process doesn't create one either?

Btw. Why Diamond Edge tries to access non-existing file named "X" from the root of given drive?

anodyne
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby anodyne » Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:40 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:
anodyne wrote:There were several serious bugs in Diamond Edge v2.04 (the source version I received). To my knowledge, they are all now fixed, and have been for a long while. If you read the CHANGES.TXT file (or the comments at the start of each module), you should see them referenced.


I don't see CHANGES.TXT either in the source repo at SF, in the binary install package, and the install process doesn't create one either?

Btw. Why Diamond Edge tries to access non-existing file named "X" from the root of given drive?

Sorry about CHANGES.TXT. I'll try to remember to update the repo. If I haven't done it within a week, Eero, please remind me via regular email (you know my address :-)). Actually, the comments at the start of each module are probably the best guide to what's fixed.

IIRC, the 'X' thing is standard for forcing media change, see the TOS 1.04 Release Notes from Atari.

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby viking272 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:56 pm

Great news Roger, thanks for doing this. :cheers:

User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby Fujiyama » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:21 am

Thank you Roger! :D
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Diamond Edge now GPL

Postby Marakatti » Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:01 pm

Many thanks :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests