Page 4 of 9

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:01 pm
by trecool
OK, mystery solved.
Just don't run StinG while using this tool. I didn't know that nor was it mentioned anywhere. Nothing to do with hostname (depending on router settings).
This thing is very fast! Thank you so much!

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:32 pm
by sqward
@mghodge: Sorry for late answer. I've used gcc from Vincent's website. It seems to use the same chipset so it should be dead easy.

@trecool: hostname line will only show if your DHCP server provides a host name. It happens that mine does, but this is not required for operation. I need more information on your system to tell what the problem is.

@trecool: just to be clear, the fact that Sting is not required is stated in the first post of this thread.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:41 pm
by simonsunnyboy
The tool could check for STIK etc cookies and exit gracefully, informing the user that it is meant to be run standalone.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:46 pm
by sqward
yes, I will implement MINT and STIK checks. Thanks for suggestion.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:36 am
by LaceySnr
I've had no issues with this on my Falcon and find it to be a great tool, however with my STE it doesn't seem to do anything. Tried both of the available binaries with the same result from both. Is there a minimum TOS version, or is my STE maybe not detecting the NetUSBee properly?

I don't know what TOS is in this machine atm, I've only just got it out of storage recently.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:39 am
by sqward
I didn't test it myself with TOS lower then 2.06, but I can't see why it wouldn't work. What do you mean that it doesn't do anything? No DHCP? Maybe your ROM port fuse is fried. Can it even detect NetUSBee?

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:59 pm
by LaceySnr
The program doesn't even start... the I see the GEM window Maximise animation (I think) and a white screen for a split second, then I'm just back at the desktop!

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:31 am
by sqward
Not enough memory then.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:17 pm
by LaceySnr
Not enough memory then.


Ah nuts. This is a 1MB machine. For some reason I figured that was a go! Time to source an upgrade methinks!

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:25 pm
by dhester
Has anyone got this working with Mist?

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:25 pm
by Atari030
LaceySnr wrote:
Not enough memory then.


Ah nuts. This is a 1MB machine. For some reason I figured that was a go! Time to source an upgrade methinks!


LMK if you need RAM, I have boxes full of 1mb simms somewhere.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:41 am
by LaceySnr
Atari030 wrote:
LaceySnr wrote:
Not enough memory then.


Ah nuts. This is a 1MB machine. For some reason I figured that was a go! Time to source an upgrade methinks!


LMK if you need RAM, I have boxes full of 1mb simms somewhere.


That'd be great if you do have them! Can drive/ride to pick them up. How much would you want for some?

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:09 pm
by Atari030
I'm in NZ atm, I'll be back tomorrow and will dig the box out on the weekend. All yours mate.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:03 am
by mikro
Perhaps not needed in this case but I got mine from eBay for about $20, some guy is selling 4 MB "kits" all the time, Australia based.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:54 am
by simonsunnyboy
Simple question, is it possible to download complete directories from the Atari with uip-tool? It seems I was unable to find out sofar...

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:16 am
by stormy
simonsunnyboy wrote:Simple question, is it possible to download complete directories from the Atari with uip-tool? It seems I was unable to find out sofar...


I think that would not work very well as being browser based it would download each fine individually. For that kind of purpose I think an FTP connection would be better.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:19 am
by simonsunnyboy
simonsunnyboy wrote:Another report: dropping directories works but the transfer almost always stalls in the 2nd or 3rd file depending on the amount of data copied. So far it only really works reliable for me with dropping files one by one. I'm using Chrome in an "anonymous window" to make, sure nothing is blocked.

My Falcon is directly connected to the same switch as my PC in this case.


Quoting for reference, as I tried today again. Somehow all worked ok with Firefox. No stalls and FF even did pickup a stall when uip was stopped accidentally by keypress. I restarted uip-tool and due to my router assinging the IP by MAC address, Firefox did even resume.

So all in all, there is an issue with Chrome Browser still lurking.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:20 am
by simonsunnyboy
mzry wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote:Simple question, is it possible to download complete directories from the Atari with uip-tool? It seems I was unable to find out sofar...


I think that would not work very well as being browser based it would download each fine individually. For that kind of purpose I think an FTP connection would be better.


In this case, uip outputting an URL list would be fine for me as I could use wget then to download the directory and contents.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Sun May 21, 2017 9:22 pm
by calimero
I get impressed whenever I use this tool!

Thankx sqward! It is a life-changing :)

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 8:39 pm
by calimero
I just notice that "New Folder" does not work! I try it from FireFox and Chrome on Mac OS X.
Nither "Delete" or "Download" work!

I also try both version (and why there is two version?): uipV43.tos and uip.tos

and uipV43.tos looks little bit off: I do not see download button and only half of path bar>

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:01 pm
by sqward
Hi calimero, yes, most functions are only place-holders which I didn't implement in the end. I was hoping that someone with more HTML5 knowledge could pick this up as the project is open-source. But I think barrier to entry is too high.

Perhaps if HTML files were external to the application that would help?

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:03 am
by calimero
I am not sure how your uip tool work :)
I can help you with html gui...

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:31 pm
by simonsunnyboy
From looking at the sources, maybe you can implement a sort of resource compiler?
Keep HTML and Javascript files external for easier development and testing. These files are just linked into the Atari executable as a final step, a sort of compiled-in RSC file.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:30 pm
by sqward
Yes, I think I'll do it like that. I'm working on FTP mode in the meantime so not sure what will come through first.

Re: uip-tool

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:10 am
by Paradroyd
I'm seeing the program start up and immediately die off..I'm guessing my problem is also RAM. It's a 1MB 520ST running on TOS 1.04. No way to make it run on lower memory machines?