Hooking up Atari to PC, best program ?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
fox78
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby fox78 » Tue May 10, 2005 3:43 pm

Can i use same nullmodemcabels to atari that i use to amiga? :)

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Tue May 10, 2005 3:59 pm

there is only one bit in the back of the atari that the cable will fit in, put it in there, the amiga cable should work
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

windows xp

Postby christos » Tue May 10, 2005 6:56 pm

Hi again,
would it be possible to use steem and link the pc to the falcon, or maybe use mint to create a serial network (I saw this option on the xp)?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

windows xp

Postby christos » Tue May 10, 2005 6:57 pm

Hi again,
would it be possible to use steem and link the pc to the falcon, or maybe use mint to create a serial network (I saw this option on the xp)?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Tue May 10, 2005 9:50 pm

well done, double posting:lol: :lol:
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Tue May 17, 2005 2:45 pm

In the following link there is a solution to the problem with xp and msdos applications such as ghostlink.
[url=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767#kb3kb3]http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767#kb3kb3
[/url]
The speed @115200 is about 8-10Kb/sec so it takes about 10min for an mp3 song to download.
Have fun
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Tue May 17, 2005 2:47 pm

I' ll never master the buttons of the forum :oops: :D
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:24 am

I just want to let you know about my experience with PARCP.
The most difficult part is to build the cable. You must build it by yourself (unless you by it from http://joy.sophics.cz/parcp/parcpdoc.htm#Resources3) as none of the cable on the market works: parallel laplink (for laplink) or parallel null cable (for windows parallel network connection) are both diferent from what you need. Therefore you need to find a dataswitch cable that have the 25 pins connected straight and you just have to invert two wires and cut a bunch of others and therefore if you know how to solder it should not be too difficult. However there are a few things to know: first you need to know that the diagram in http://joy.sophics.cz/parcp/parcpdoc.ht ... dHardware1 shows the connectors from the solder side (in other words not looking from the pin side)! I got it wrong the first time! The second things to know is that when you power up both computers the parallel ports are both on output mode and this is not good for the output ports. Therefore you need to load programs (best on both side) at startup that set the ports in input mode as this is explained in parcp page. However if you are adventurous and want to avoid this problem you can insert 10K resistors on the data wires (pins 2 to 9) using a 8x10K resistors pack. This is more work but you get a 100% safe solution.
Once you have the cable done, parcp works like a charm and is extremely fast.
Note that on the PC side I used an old machine with Win98 to avoid the problem of accessing LTP ports on WinXP. Note that I also had some problem when I first tried it because I did not set the parallel port correctly on the windows machine (you have to do it in the BIOS).
I have not tried HDD_DMN which is supposed to use the same cable but I will try and let you know.
By the way the latest version of parcp is 3.9 which has a nice interface.

User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

Terminal Emulator better than vt52...

Postby Lando_C » Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:34 am

Hi!

Since i dusted off my ataris a month ago (after installing Xsteem on my linux pc, and getting the "flow"), i have been using vt52emulator and XYZ.PRG to log into the PC on a serial port and zmodeming over files between the pc and the atari - and that is all well.

One of the reasons i decide to set up the ST was to have a QUIET computer in the livingroom, for mailreading and stuff, i'e using the atari as a dumb terminal. Unfortunately, this wasnt as easy as I had imagined!

vt52emulator from the language disc is rock solid as emulating a VT52. BUT, for emacs, pine, and most other unix:ish programs I need atleast a vt100 compatible emulator. Many atari comm programs CLAIM to be vt100 compatible, but all i have tried so far are limited in one way or the other:

TeddyTERM 2.14 lacks the ability to scroll downwards and back up ( "less", "emacs" and "vi" get garbled screens..)
STORM has the same problem, and also seems to have problems with rts/cts flow control despite i have "turbocts" in the autofolder on the megafile.
FLASH2 doesnt do vt100 at all, looks like only Glass TTY plus character translation..
CONN95 was ademo version that looked promising, but was limited to 30 hours usage time.. and horridly expensive to register.

What terminal program should I be looking for, and where? I need a *good* vt100 or better emulation, with 8-bit support (latin1) and preferrably auto-transfer zmodem, or auto-call XYZ.TTP capability. Dialers and such are irrelevant as this is on a nullmodem cable. ON a DOS PC i would use MS-Kermit, but the kermit's iäve found for atari only does the transfer protocol and dont include the otherwise excellent terminal emulator..
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, external powerbrick, molex connector on the back (hard disk style)
SE Mega 2
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in open case w AT psu
Megafile 30
Meagfile 60
SM125, finlux 19 inch TV RGBscart
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:15 pm

Repeating to an old post from Christos, but i've never tried it before.
Hello,
Will ghostlink work with windows xp and how?

It works fine here. I've connected my Mega STE (TOS 2.05) with my PC (Win XP Home SP2) two days ago with a null modem cable. Configured STMASTER and PCSLAVE with 38400 baud. Transfer fails, if i copy more than 4 files and the whole thing is really slow, but a very cheap solution.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

HELP with HDD DMN

Postby DrCoolZic » Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:51 pm

I have a working parcp cable that works fine with parcp program and that should normally work with HDD DMN.
I am using the V3 of HDD that I got from this thread but I could not make it work. Seems like the ST and PC side are somewhat communicating but connection does not succeed.
If someone has a working HDD connection I woul appreciate any information/help/idea on how to make it work.

Thanks

Symoon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:48 pm

Postby Symoon » Sat Aug 05, 2006 7:47 am

Could anyone give me more information about PCTrans and STTrans ?
I've read that they support parallel transfer (with the PARCP cable it seems), is that right ? That would be very interesting if it works like Ghostlink.

I've tried to download them but so far I only found STTrans (even on the archives claiming they hold PCTrans).

Well, if anyone has any information about these programs... Or trhe programs themselves... I'd love to test them between my ST and PC, as I have the PARCP cable. Seems it was on the ST-Book disks...

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 10:01 am

Symoon wrote:Could anyone give me more information about PCTrans and STTrans ?

I meet you here : http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki, section Transferring file, maybe the informations are interesting ? If you have some fresh informations about that, don't hesitate to update !
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
Bnicke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 10:05 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby Bnicke » Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:46 pm

I made a disk-img and an instruction to a forum-friend some time ago.
here: http://www.bergstrom.se/ghostlnk/
Unfortunate, the readme I wrote, is in Swedish... but basicly it say:

Connect a null moden cable between the Atari and the PC...
Put stmaster.prg, all files from control.zip and msa_2_32.prg on a 720K disk.
put xcontrol.acc in the rootdir and boot the ST with the disk
Open Desk->"control panel" point att the cpx dir, save and reboot
Open control panel again, choose Modem Setup.
Set Baudrate 19200 Bits/char 8 bit, 1 stopbit, no parity, no flowcontrol. I use xcontrol to set the bouderate.. otherwise it will be 9200 I think.
Start stmaster.prg in medium or high res (in low, only half of the GUI vill be visable)
Change (remove/add) the partitions if you want different disk setup, I have z: ALL 1
Save, Install.
Mark a drive (ex a:), options > install diskdrive.. In earlier TOS versions you heve to specify z: (or whatever you choosed in the previous step) and give it a name, in later it just shows up.
Do not open Z: just yet...
Start pcslave.exe on the PC and press F7 to change the bitrate to 19200 and set the appropriate com port.
Now you can browse the PC:s HD(s) on z:.

If you want to read/write a MSA-file from/to the PC, fire up the MSA-II on the Atari and choose MSA-File (Ex. z:\c\atari_st\cuddly.msa) and run File->Disk or Disk->File.

I also made a disk image (GHOSTLNK.MSA) of the disk (720k) which is writable on a MSA-app on PC...
/Niklas

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:06 pm

I update the PARCP utility by version 3.80.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:12 pm

Zorro 2 wrote:I update the PARCP utility by version 3.80.


Note that this is not the latest version. Latest is V3.90 that can be found at http://joy.sophics.cz/parcp/download.htm

Jean

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:13 am

DrCoolZic wrote:
Zorro 2 wrote:I update the PARCP utility by version 3.80.


Note that this is not the latest version. Latest is V3.90 that can be found at http://joy.sophics.cz/parcp/download.htm

Jean

Well Jean, I don't notice is the last version :roll:
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:35 am

Not sure I understand ?

You just posted the parcp380.zip file (about 1MB) here and the link I provided points to the parcp390.zip file (about 60 KB).

I do not know what are the differences between these two versions, but I am using the V3.90 which works fine (and fast) for me.
Jean

amigaistheshit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 12:30 pm

Postby amigaistheshit » Fri May 25, 2007 6:03 pm

will a Belkin Null-Modem Serial Cable DB9/25 (Model F3X171-10)

along with GhostLink work on a 1040st?

is this the most recent version of GhostLink?

st dragon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:01 pm

Postby st dragon » Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:10 am

Bnicke wrote:I made a disk-img and an instruction to a forum-friend some time ago.
here: http://www.bergstrom.se/ghostlnk/
Unfortunate, the readme I wrote, is in Swedish... but basicly it say:

Connect a null moden cable between the Atari and the PC...
Put stmaster.prg, all files from control.zip and msa_2_32.prg on a 720K disk.
put xcontrol.acc in the rootdir and boot the ST with the disk
Open Desk->"control panel" point att the cpx dir, save and reboot
Open control panel again, choose Modem Setup.
Set Baudrate 19200 Bits/char 8 bit, 1 stopbit, no parity, no flowcontrol. I use xcontrol to set the bouderate.. otherwise it will be 9200 I think.
Start stmaster.prg in medium or high res (in low, only half of the GUI vill be visable)
Change (remove/add) the partitions if you want different disk setup, I have z: ALL 1
Save, Install.
Mark a drive (ex a:), options > install diskdrive.. In earlier TOS versions you heve to specify z: (or whatever you choosed in the previous step) and give it a name, in later it just shows up.
Do not open Z: just yet...
Start pcslave.exe on the PC and press F7 to change the bitrate to 19200 and set the appropriate com port.
Now you can browse the PC:s HD(s) on z:.

If you want to read/write a MSA-file from/to the PC, fire up the MSA-II on the Atari and choose MSA-File (Ex. z:\c\atari_st\cuddly.msa) and run File->Disk or Disk->File.

I also made a disk image (GHOSTLNK.MSA) of the disk (720k) which is writable on a MSA-app on PC...



your post & MSA file were very helpful!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

musashi5150
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: UK

Postby musashi5150 » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:01 am

Hi guys, I want to link my STe over null-serial to my Amiga. So I'm looking for a simple program that can send & receive files using X/Y/Z modem.

I've found something called STalker, but it's not free. I have heard of a program called XYZ.TTP but I can't see to find it anywhere. Could someone point me in the right direction please? :)

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Postby alexh » Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:45 pm

Can you not just use TwinXpress on the Amiga? I think that supports Z-modem etc.

To be honest it's much faster to use 720kbyte Floppy disks, Disksplit and CrossDos on the Amiga.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:50 pm

Why don't you use STING to set up a tcp/ip connection to the Amiga. That way you can use ftp or whatever else.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Postby alexh » Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:56 pm

christos wrote:Why don't you use STING to set up a tcp/ip connection to the Amiga. That way you can use ftp or whatever else.

That would be very slow on a 68000 ST would it not?

Shame there is not an Amiga port of ParCP. I wonder how different ParNET is?

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2315
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:03 pm

No not really. 38400 should be easily attainable with hsmodem.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests