Page 2 of 4

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:10 pm
by bandit
sorry windows update rebooted the maschine... so the hfs service did not start.... :( bad luck

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:29 pm
by wongck
bandit wrote:sorry windows update rebooted the maschine... so the hfs service did not start.... :( bad luck


Right, windoze, what's new. :lol: :lol:

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:47 am
by joska
wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.


You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:07 pm
by wongck
joska wrote:You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.


Since Mint v1.16, it stops working. probably because they migrated the TOS filesystem to their own code (is faster now).
It's just annoying since I remembered that I can get long filenames on Joliet CD but now I cannot since the only way is to run under TOS.
Moving back to Mint 1.15 is not really an option - makes my Mint setup real messy.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:01 pm
by joska
wongck wrote:
joska wrote:You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.


Since Mint v1.16, it stops working. probably because they migrated the TOS filesystem to their own code (is faster now).


That happened in 1.15. I'm quite sure that Spin! works with the current kernel. You need spin.xfs in the mint-folder and *NO* DOS-driver installed. Try MetaXBS instead of MetaDOS.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:45 pm
by wongck
Thanks I will try.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:57 pm
by jens
You'll need Spin as xfs and not metados but metaxbs in your auto folder to work together with the xfs.
Just read the Spin documentation.
This works for MiNT and MagiC as well.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:52 pm
by wongck
I am using it with betados, as it says it can be used with spin.xfs.
But something funny happens - the path seems to be gone... all the ACC cannot find it's own RSC files :?:
weird...

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:25 pm
by joska
wongck wrote:I am using it with betados, as it says it can be used with spin.xfs.
But something funny happens - the path seems to be gone... all the ACC cannot find it's own RSC files :?:
weird...


Can you post the config files?

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:01 am
by wongck
In my CBCONFIG.SYS
Ok, all items commented except:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
;*DOS, c:\auto\unidrive.dos, X:A
*DOS, c:\auto\bd_9660f.dos, H:A

In my CONFIG.SYS:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
*DOS, c:\auto\ISO9660F.dos, H:A

I think it's betados.prg renamed as Metaxbs.prg that is causing this... or rather metados after Mint is causing it.
It is repatching some vectors or something like that.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:15 am
by joska
wongck wrote:In my CBCONFIG.SYS
Ok, all items commented except:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
;*DOS, c:\auto\unidrive.dos, X:A
*DOS, c:\auto\bd_9660f.dos, H:A

In my CONFIG.SYS:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
*DOS, c:\auto\ISO9660F.dos, H:A


Comment out the DOS drivers. Only install BOS (hardware) drivers.

wongck wrote:I think it's betados.prg renamed as Metaxbs.prg that is causing this... or rather metados after Mint is causing it.
It is repatching some vectors or something like that.


Renaming BetaDOS doesn't affect anything. Try the genuine MetaXBS, it should be included in the Spin! archive.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:51 am
by wongck
joska wrote:Renaming BetaDOS doesn't affect anything. Try the genuine MetaXBS, it should be included in the Spin! archive.

Ok using the original MetaXBS removes the issue of ACC not finding it's RSC.
It does work but same as per TOS. There is no long filenames when I view the CD. :(
Well, at least the ACC now don't complaint

Anyway, the purpose was to be able to transfer files with long filenames from PC to Atari.
The only way around for me is either by floppy or by FTP. :mrgreen:

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:01 pm
by wongck
I have also tried enabling FS_VFAT for my CD drive id.
It makes no difference, but of course, it is not TOS nor FAT32.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:34 pm
by mikro
wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

extendos.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:41 pm
by wongck
mikro wrote:
wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

extendos.

Does it means that no freeware that's works?

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:46 pm
by firyembers
Here is a link to NVDI 5
Its my free Rapid share,so neither should you have a problem downloading it.

http://rapidshare.com/files/249928566/NVDI5.zip

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:12 pm
by wongck
firyembers wrote:Its my free Rapid share,so neither should you have a problem downloading it.

Keeps on getting IP already in use error.... when ever I try it.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:48 am
by jens
wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

mikro wrote:extendos.

wongck wrote:Does it means that no freeware that's works?

Spin is working fine for me with TOS, MiNT and MagiC.
With the last two I have long filenames on many CDs, but there are some that can just be dealed with using 8.3 filenames it seems.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:15 pm
by wongck
jens wrote:Spin is working fine for me with TOS, MiNT and MagiC.
With the last two I have long filenames on many CDs, but there are some that can just be dealed with using 8.3 filenames it seems.

I followed the instructions for SPIN and also for BetaDOS for the Mint setup.
It does work but only for 8.3.
IIRC with my Mint 1.15 it was able to do long filenames but not so for Mint 1.16/1.17. :(

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:01 pm
by blinddarm
AVE !

question about NVDI 5.....

is it really usefull to me?

i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

My Hardware Configuration is:

1040 STe
4 MB RAM
Tos 1.06 (TOS 2.06 by loading in RAM)
second Disk Drive 720 k
SatanDisk by Jookie (512 MB MMC Card)
Neodesk

Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

Ok, i saw the difference when NVDI is running on the desktop (faster refresh) wich is a really nice Add on.
But dont really need the Picture viwer and the Rest of the dirvers and fonts.

So, can i delete some specific files and folders fom NVDI 5?
What Progams /drivers are really necessary for me from this Version?

or shall i use an older version?

Thanks,
Norman

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:54 pm
by dexterslab
for your needs, i'm sure it'll be simpler for you to run an older version, i still use nvdi3

In fact gembench showed nvdi3 to be faster on average than nvdi5 on my TT

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:18 pm
by wongck
blinddarm wrote:i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

May not work for games, demos nor your slideshow.... slideshow not sure.
Graphical output that uses the blitter will be faster, but games & demo may draw direct to screen whereby NVDI will be skipped.
Also it sounds like you do not need the extra fonts. :mrgreen:

blinddarm wrote:Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

You have plenty of space with your Satandisk so the extra stuff may not be burden. :P

Re: NVDI 5 and HD Floppy Drive

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:25 am
by Decky
Thanks for the NVDI 5 download. I was hoping to experiment with my STe and install it on my system, but when I create disk images from the files in the folders the floppy image size is greater than the standard 720Kb double density disk capacity. That means I cannot put them onto standard floppie, and cannot install NVDI on my system.

Here's my question. I have a switchable TOS 1.62/2.06 Atari STe, and I have read that by soldering two points on the Atari Motherboard I can upgrade to a High Density Floppy Drive. Can anyone give me more information on this? Like where would I get a HD Floppy Drive, and is there any other changes or wires I need to solder to the Atari in order to get the HD floppy drive going? :D

Re: NVDI 5 and HD Floppy Drive

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:44 am
by wongck
Decky wrote:Here's my question. I have a switchable TOS 1.62/2.06 Atari STe, and I have read that by soldering two points on the Atari Motherboard I can upgrade to a High Density Floppy Drive. Can anyone give me more information on this? Like where would I get a HD Floppy Drive, and is there any other changes or wires I need to solder to the Atari in order to get the HD floppy drive going? :D


There are lots of doc on installing HD FDD on ST. :mrgreen:
144_ctrl is just one of them.

Re: NVDI 5

Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:16 am
by blinddarm
wongck wrote:
blinddarm wrote:i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

May not work for games, demos nor your slideshow.... slideshow not sure.
Graphical output that uses the blitter will be faster, but games & demo may draw direct to screen whereby NVDI will be skipped.
Also it sounds like you do not need the extra fonts. :mrgreen:

blinddarm wrote:Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

You have plenty of space with your Satandisk so the extra stuff may not be burden. :P


ok thanks, i will try