Display sync issue

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Ricdeau
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:46 pm

Display sync issue

Postby Ricdeau » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:48 am

I just picked up a DE10 Nano to start building a MiSTer, but I'm running into a sync issue that's likely fairly unique to my setup. I'm hoping someone might have some input.

I have the MiSTer configured to output 1080p, but my display has a much lower latency (drops from around 2 frames to just below 1 frame) when accepting a native 4k source. So what I do is run my 1080p systems through an HDFury scaler to scale the 1080 signal to 4k. The MiSTer seems to work fine at native 1080p when not running through the scaler, but when when behind the scaler I get no sync. I've not run into this issue with any other device. I have my Switch, Super Nt, and Mega Sg that all work great via this method, but the MiSTer doesn't seem to like it at all and refuses to sync when I have my scaler set to upscale. The default DE10 Nano image does work fine with the scaler though so I at least know it's not the DE10 Nano itself that's the issue.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
Last edited by Ricdeau on Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

onaryc29
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: Display sync issue

Postby onaryc29 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:36 am

could you post your ini file, in order to see your config (in particular the vsync_adjust value)

Ricdeau
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Display sync issue

Postby Ricdeau » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:02 pm

Thanks for the reply. Please see ini output below. I can say that I have seen that my display can be particular with refresh rate and when I would run my consolized MVS system I had to run the MVS to an OSSC to a DVDO VP50 to normalize the output and then to my 1080>4k scaler. I have tried vsync 0, 1, and 2 with no success.

[MiSTer]
key_menu_as_rgui=0 ; set to 1 to make the MENU key map to RGUI in Minimig (e.g. for Right Amiga)
forced_scandoubler=0 ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).
ypbpr=0 ; set to 1 for YPbPr on VGA output.
composite_sync=0 ; set to 1 for composite sync on HSync signal of VGA output.
vga_scaler=0 ; set to 1 to connect VGA to scaler output.
hdmi_audio_96k=0 ; set to 1 for 96khz/16bit HDMI audio (48khz/16bit otherwise)
keyrah_mode=0x18d80002 ; VIDPID of keyrah for special code translation (0x23418037 for Arduino Micro)
volumectl=0 ; enable audio volume control by multimedia keys
vscale_mode=1 ; 0 - scale to fit the screen height.
; 1 - use integer scale only.
; 2 - use 0.5 steps of scale.
; 3 - use 0.25 steps of scale.
vscale_border=0 ; set vertical border for TVs cutting the upper/bottom parts of screen (1-99)
;bootscreen=0 ; uncomment to disable boot screen of some cores like Minimig.
;mouse_throttle=10 ; 1-100 mouse speed divider. Useful for very sensitive mice
rbf_hide_datecode=0 ; 1 - hides datecodes from rbf file names. Press F2 for quick temporary toggle
menu_pal=0 ; 1 - PAL mode for menu core
hdmi_limited=0 ; 1 - use limited (16..235) color range over HDMI
fb_size=0 ; 0 - automatic, 1 - full size, 2 - 1/2 of resolution, 4 - 1/4 of resolution.
fb_terminal=1 ; 1 - enabled (default), 0 - disabled
osd_timeout=30 ; 5-3600 timeout (in seconds) for OSD to disappear in Menu core. 30 seconds if not set.
; Background picture will get darker after double timout

; lastcore - Autoboot the last loaded core (corename autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first found on the SD/USB
; lastexactcore - Autoboot the last loaded exact core (corename_yyyymmdd.rbf autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first found on the SD/USB
; corename - Autoboot first corename_*.rbf found on the SD/USB
; corename_yyyymmdd.rbf - Autoboot first corename_yyyymmdd.rbf found on the SD/USB
;bootcore=lastcore ; uncomment to autoboot a core, as the last loaded core.
bootcore_timeout=10 ; 10-30 timeout before autoboot, comment for autoboot without timeout.

; Option to load the custom font. Format is plain bitmap 8x8.
; Supported sizes of font:
; 768 bytes - chars 32-127 (only alpha + numeric)
; 1024 bytes - chars 0-127
; 1136 bytes - chars 0-141
; up to 2048 - only chars 0-141 will be used.
; if first 32 chars are empty (for sizes 1024 bytes and more) then they are skipped.
font=font/myfont.pf

; USER button emulation by keybaord. Usually it's reset button.
; 0 - lctrl+lalt+ralt (lctrl+lgui+rgui on keyrah)
; 1 - lctrl+lgui+rgui
; 2 - lctrl+lalt+del
; 3 - same as 0 (lctrl+lalt+ralt on keyrah)
reset_combo=0

dvi_mode=0 ; set to 1 for DVI mode. Audio won't be transmitted through HDMI in DVI mode.

; 0 - 1280x720@60
; 1 - 1024x768@60
; 2 - 720x480@60
; 3 - 720x576@50
; 4 - 1280x1024@60
; 5 - 800x600@60
; 6 - 640x480@60
; 7 - 1280x720@50
; 8 - 1920x1080@60
; 9 - 1920x1080@50
;10 - 1366x768@60
;11 - 1024x600@60
;
; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
; video_mode=1280,110,40,220,720,5,5,20,74250
video_mode=8

; set to 1-10 (seconds) to display video info on startup/change
video_info=0

; Set to 1 for automatic HDMI VSync rate adjust to match original VSync.
; Set to 2 for low latency mode (single buffer).
; This option makes video butter smooth like on original emulated system.
; Adjusting is done by changing pixel clock. Not every display supports variable pixel clock.
; For proper adjusting and to reduce possible out of range pixel clock, use 60Hz HDMI video
; modes as a base even for 50Hz systems.
vsync_adjust=0

; These parameters have the same format as video_mode.
; You need to supply both PAL and NTSC modes if you want vsync_adjust to switch between
; predefined modes as a base. This will reduce the range of pixel clock.
;video_mode_ntsc=0
;video_mode_pal=7

onaryc29
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: Display sync issue

Postby onaryc29 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:25 pm

Sorry for the late reply (lot of work at work :( ).

If you already have try the vsync values, perhaps you can try a 720p mode or even a custom video mode (but i m far from a specialist for these questions)

You can go to this site : https://ini.misterkun.io/ to generate different inis

Ricdeau
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Display sync issue

Postby Ricdeau » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:33 pm

No worries. I have been working a ton this week too so I completely understand. I had already tested a custom resolution after my initial post with no success. My 4k scaler will only accept a 1080p input to upscale to 4k. Anything outside of that it just passes through with no scaling.

I was able to get a slight workaround to get what I'm after with the end result being about 1.5 frames of display latency which I can live with. It is running through one of my 4k scalers in passthrough to my DVDO VP50 which is normalizing the signal in some way that one of my other 4k scalers will sync when being upscaled. I might be able to just do the DVDO VP50 to a 4k scaler, but I don't think it worked when I tried before.

Ultimately the end result was I got it working with just half a frame more latency than what I normally have with a 4k image going into my projector. I can live with that. I just really wanted to get rid of two of the older 4k HDFury scalers since the new one has a 4 port HDMI switch built-in so I could run the same number of devices that I could with the other HDFury parts. I also wanted to try to sell the DVDO VP50 and my OSSC. I guess I can still sell half of the gear, but overall the chain of devices and complexity didn't change much. I've accepted this is just the life of having a home theater and projector though. My setup definitely causes complications next to most. It is fun playing some Neo Geo on a huge screen though. Once my 128Mb RAM chip comes in I won't have to worry about getting out the giant MVS carts anymore when I play in the theater room.

Thanks for that link. That will be useful, and maybe I'll be able to make an ini that will let me simplify the chain of scalers. I was thinking about either building a new cabinet or maybe building another MiSTer to put into my existing Neo Geo cabinet for some more authentic play.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sorgelig and 10 guests