SDRAM vs DDR technical differences?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

peepsalot
Atari User
Atari User

SDRAM vs DDR technical differences?

Postby peepsalot » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:16 pm

Hello, I'm new to the MiSTer scene and just curious about technical reasons why the separate SDRAM module is needed by many cores. I apologize in advance if its been discussed before, but I couldn't find a detailed description in my searching.
I've already ordered some SDRAM, so I'm not trying to be cheap or whatever, just wondering why the onboard RAM is not viable in so many situations.

I admit I don't understand the fundamental differences in signals/interface between SDRAM vs DDR, but I'm interested in learning. Is it just something like external SDRAM clock can be controlled more precisely/directly? Does the onboard DDR access have to go through ARM cores or something?

alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Re: SDRAM vs DDR technical differences?

Postby alexh » Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:52 am

It's all about clock speed and latency. As DRAM evolved to give higher bandwidth the latency (time between request and returned data) got longer due to many factors. But the original systems sometimes rely on exact RAM timing. This can be mimicked using later DRAM by running it many times faster than the underlying core. As the systems being turned into cores become more modern their clock rates get too fast to do this. So the FPGA developers first added caches within the FPGA to reduce calls to DRAM and reduce overall latency but cache misses can't always be hidden and caches reduce the amount of internal FPGA RAM available for cores and eventually someone added an SDRAM module. The ultimate would be an SRAM module but they are very expensive for large capacities. SDR SDRAM is the best compromise between latency, clock rate, bandwidth and price.

peepsalot
Atari User
Atari User