Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4730
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:09 am

Here we can discuss about various aspects of using Terminal or Framebuffer mode on MiSTer's video output.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4730
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:12 am

gpm (mouse support) is there in rudimentary form.
To run it in terminal:

Code: Select all

gpm -m /dev/input/mice -t imps2

it works only for selection and copy/paste. If someone know how to make it work with Midnight Commander - let me know.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4730
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:29 am

Finally found the way to fix MC subshell behavior. So next release will include this fix and MC will behave like on desktop PC.
Just don't know how to make mouse working in MC.

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby slingshot » Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:10 am

Sorgelig wrote:Finally found the way to fix MC subshell behavior. So next release will include this fix and MC will behave like on desktop PC.
Just don't know how to make mouse working in MC.

You can check if mc was compiled with gpm support:

Code: Select all

ldd `which mc`
.
.
libgpm.so.2 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgpm.so.2 (0x00007fadea6c3000)
.
.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4730
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:52 pm

mc is compiled with gpm support.
I found that mc works with gpm only when TERM=linux. When TERM=xterm the MC uses xterm internal mouse support. It seems agetty which is used as a terminal is not fully xterm besides just ability to set the TERM variable to xterm.
So, need further study about xterm capability.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby kolla » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:31 pm

Could it be possible to swtch between linux framebuffer and "core" framebuffer? For example, switch between minimig and linux?

(Btw - are you aware of the A314 project? Would be awesome if some of the concepts and software could work on MiSTer - https://github.com/niklasekstrom/a314)
-- kolla

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4730
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Linux terminal (HPS framebuffer)

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:15 am

MiSTer is FPGA platform primarily. So it's not targeted as simultaneous use of Linux and FPGA.
When Menu core is executing, basically nothing happening on FPGA side and HPS doesn't have to monitor the FPGA events. That's why switching to HPS/Linux while in Menu core is harmless and doesn't affect neither HPS nor FPGA parts.
When other cores are executing, HPS is busy by monitoring the FPGA events to supply required data timely. One of CPU cores is busy at 100%, another is always ready to provide the data from the kernel. So, other HPS/Linux tasks will distract the CPU and you may have different kind of problems like unresponsive keyboard/gamepad, lost FDD/HDD data or other problems.
So, there is no plans to provide dual HPS+FPGA functionality to the user except some cases specifically developed and tested for such use.

kolla wrote:(Btw - are you aware of the A314 project? Would be awesome if some of the concepts and software could work on MiSTer - https://github.com/niklasekstrom/a314)

From the whole project the only function is interesting is how they forward networking through specific driver. So it may lead to a faster networking for Minimig. Otherwise the functionality is unrelated to Amiga.
If you want to listen MP3 on MiSTer, you don't need to use Minimig. Use Menu core and switch to Linux and then listen MP3 there.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BBond007 and 3 guests